Results 1,021 to 1,040 of 1452

Thread: Roy Keane

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    When it should've to tell him to stick it.

I wasn't trying to make it specifically about either English or Scottish born players tbh, same criteria (if there was to be one) should apply to both.

There is a criteria - the Stutts' gut test.
    Last edited by geysir; 17/05/2011 at 11:44 AM.

446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Pennant is the obvious current example, but it was sickening to see Ireland supporters fawning over Kevin Nolan a couple of years ago too (as he came without the pennant style baggage, it didn't seem to be a problem). You know your nationality and/or the importance of your heritage at least before you're 20. No one could doubt the likes of Kilbane, but they suffer both in terms of getting in the team, as well as by association, with the acceptance of careerist players who decide late to declare for "the republic".
    Except if they're eligible why not pick them? They can always say 'No', which in the vast majority of cases turns out to be 'more fool, them'.

2,284 Posts
    Roy Keane doing punditry for ITV's Champions League final coverage this evening. Is this his first job as pundit?

366 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DannyInvincible View Post
    Roy Keane doing punditry for ITV's Champions League final coverage this evening. Is this his first job as pundit?
    RTE commentary and ITV punditry it is for me then 'cos this...I have to see.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    First I can recall anyway.

Be interesting to see what he has to say, some controversial shyte no doubt

161 Posts
    Any interesting comments from Roy on the Barcelona romp?

366 Posts
    Fairly good-humored and insightful tonight is Roy, I can see a future for him in this punditry lark. He can reach some pitch on that Cork accent at times, fair play to him. We county lads can only aspire to those heights.

Doesn't seem to have fallen out with anyone else in the studio either but I s'pose 2 hours or so is a meager enough incubation period for simmering tensions..

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Any interesting comments from Roy on the Barcelona romp?
    He said Barca were a load of shyte who didn't know how to kick a football

1,813 Posts
    I watched the whole lot on RTÉ. Bawlls! I clearly missed out. And sterilized Souness was over on Sky... one day we'll have the dream dream team...

2,284 Posts
    He didn't really say anything contentious, but what could any pundit do other than admire the executors of such a one-sided masterclass? He did pass a comment about how it shocked him that the Barca players even seemed to like their manager, probably a subtle reference to the often-tense relationships he's shared with his managers and later players down through the years, but I took it to be mostly in jest.

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sullivinho View Post
    Fairly good-humored and insightful tonight is Roy, I can see a future for him in this punditry lark. He can reach some pitch on that Cork accent at times, fair play to him. We county lads can only aspire to those heights.

Doesn't seem to have fallen out with anyone else in the studio either but I s'pose 2 hours or so is a meager enough incubation period for simmering tensions..
    Dyed hair, clean shaven and uttering banalities on ITV???? Must have been an imposter, anyone see Mario Rosenstock anywhere???

2,693 Posts

2,284 Posts
    Delaney trying to shirk responsibility here. In fairness, players turning up late for training isn't on, just as turning up late for any job isn't on. If Delaney had wanted to make it to training in time and spare himself the inevitable wrath of Roy Keane, couldn't he have made it his business to leave a little earlier? You can't blame your boss for you being late in the first place.

192 Posts
    Delaney trying to shirk responsibility here. In fairness, players turning up late for training isn't on, just as turning up late for any job isn't on. If Delaney had wanted to make it to training in time and spare himself the inevitable wrath of Roy Keane, couldn't he have made it his business to leave a little earlier? You can't blame your boss for you being late in the first place.
    Ordinarily I think I'd agree with you but, ordinarily, being late for work would just result in a bollicking from your boss or a nasty comment in your annual review. Delaney's concern seemed to be that he would be fined 2-weeks wages if he was late. I think that sort of action by your boss would be deemed unreasonable by most people.
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

282 Posts
    Thousands of pounds for doing 44 in a 30 mph zone? **** what would I get for doing 90 in a 45 mph zone (Lake Shore Drive)
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

19. Thanks From:

3,311 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    Thousands of pounds for doing 44 in a 30 mph zone? **** what would I get for doing 90 in a 45 mph zone (Lake Shore Drive)
    the chair

1,912 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EastTerracer View Post
    Ordinarily I think I'd agree with you but, ordinarily, being late for work would just result in a bollicking from your boss or a nasty comment in your annual review. Delaney's concern seemed to be that he would be fined 2-weeks wages if he was late. I think that sort of action by your boss would be deemed unreasonable by most people.
    I think Stutts was referring to the chances of the defense excuse for speeding, finding a sympathetic ear from a football knowledgeable magistrate.
    Does fear of a dressing down from Roy Keane not qualify as "special circumstance" to the same extent as Beckham's fear for life when he claimed that he was being followed by a man with a camera.
    I think Roy will be disappointed at the lack of legal consideration given to the fear of his withering stare, that it does not carry the same legal weight of "special circumstance" as a paparazzi on the prowl.
    Roy should appeal.

2,629 Posts
    nothing better than cruising down Lake Shore Drive on a summers day driving a car with a Saskatchewan reg.

24. Thanks From:

20 Posts
    $90 fine and probation for two years. Another offense within this time and your fine is doubled. A third and your license is taken away.

They typically wait just after Belmont going south and before North and LaSalle going north.

Stunning day in Chicago today (weather has been amazing for two weeks now). Took the boat out and then crusied LSD on the way home. No better place than Chicago in the summer.
    There is no such thing as a miracle cure, a free lunch or a humble opinion.

26. Thanks From:

1,912 Posts
    Don't do drugs son.

Page 52 of 73 FirstFirst ... 242505152535462 ... LastLast