Graham Cummins 24, 47, 55, 88
    Willie John Kiely 59
    Paul McCarthy 75

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Bray also had a few good passing moves. Admittedly, the second half did have a lot of hoof-ball.
    I don't think you give Bray enough credit superfrank.

Whatever Gormley said/the introduction of Kavanagh made a massive difference and they were by far the better side in the second half. You have a hungry side who battle the way and can put together quality moves when required.

As for irishultra, were you already in the bowling alley and missed the last five minutes? Derry have three absolute gilt edged chances.....
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by joey4ireland View Post
    Why would they kick off so early? Surely they would have gotten a bigger crowd if they kicked off tonight.
    To avoid people watching the cup semi final.
    Awful crowd again anyway. two or three hundred i think.
    Last edited by blue til i die; 18/04/2009 at 5:00 PM.
    I知 not pedantic...I知 merely overly concerned with minute details.

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    To avoid people watching the cup semi final.
    Awful crowd again anyway. two or three hundred i think.
    Moved a home game because of a rugby match, moved a home game because of the English FA Cup Semi Final...and STILL have brutal crowds. Clowns of the highest order running that club. Unreal.

Why don't ye just play your home game behind closed doors and have a live feed to the local boozers so that every barstooling gobdaw can just watch it on the telly with a beer in their hand. Sham.

No matter when the match is on, Waterford people don't care. They'll give out either way.

1,104 Posts
    Longford leading 1-0 against Mervue. McGrath o.g after 5 mins.

Quote Originally Posted by joey4ireland View Post
    If they didn't move the games in an attempt to raise crowds people would be giving out, they do move games and people are giving out. At least they're trying something. It's the people of Waterford I'd be more inclined to call clowns as oppossed to the club
    Not true. It is every LOI club's duty to respect, first and foremost, their loyal fans; those who help to keep the club afloat. NOT those who would be more inclined to stay in the pub and watch an English club play or another sport entirely for that matter.

Think about it. Shuffling fixtures around televisual sporting "events" (within reason obviously; ie: Ireland in the WC) is a two fingers to the fans who actually give a fiddlers'. And as has been seen, relying on bandwagon stool-jockeys is a naive waste of time.

Until the club and the league have a bit of self-respect on matters such as these, we're all ****ing in the wind hoping for people to take the league seriously.

any links for good updates of the athlone v harps game? probably not!
    It's just a job. Grass grows, birds fly, waves pound the sand. I beat people up.
    Muhammad Ali

It's just a job. Grass grows, birds fly, waves pound the sand. I beat people up.
    Muhammad Ali

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the-blue-harp View Post
    Excellent stuff - well done athlone town
    "I'm just a chilled out entertainer"

Blog

Quote Originally Posted by Maynard View Post
    Not true. It is every LOI club's duty to respect, first and foremost, their loyal fans; those who help to keep the club afloat. NOT those who would be more inclined to stay in the pub and watch an English club play or another sport entirely for that matter.

Think about it. Shuffling fixtures around televisual sporting "events" (within reason obviously; ie: Ireland in the WC) is a two fingers to the fans who actually give a fiddlers'. And as has been seen, relying on bandwagon stool-jockeys is a naive waste of time.

Until the club and the league have a bit of self-respect on matters such as these, we're all ****ing in the wind hoping for people to take the league seriously.
    I take your points, fair enough. However, last home match we had, we were competing against Munster/Leinster and the Liverpool match, so a poor crowd shows. So I dont see the point in not trying to switch it to avoid the same happening. Another poor crowd, so fair enough we havent gained anything, but isnt it worth a try to try get people in? The same die hards were there today, and still go when the times are switched. It suits some people, doesnt suit other. Waterford people don't give a toss about the club!!

Mervue United 0-1 Longford Town (McGrath og 5')
    I'm a 23yr old right-handed heterosexual who drinks milk and likes democracy. - dcfcsteve knows me well

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    UCD's average age tonight- 18
    Wexford's average age tonight- 26
    yeah the new signings of Breen and Holden bring up our average age a bit and gives us a good mix of age and experience plus the majority of the team even the younger players have know been playing LOI for three seasons now which we should be starting to see the benefit of this season.
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    I take your points, fair enough. However, last home match we had, we were competing against Munster/Leinster and the Liverpool match, so a poor crowd shows. So I dont see the point in not trying to switch it to avoid the same happening. Another poor crowd, so fair enough we havent gained anything, but isnt it worth a try to try get people in? The same die hards were there today, and still go when the times are switched. It suits some people, doesnt suit other. Waterford people don't give a toss about the club!!
    I know what you're saying here pal. But traveling away fans (ye I know it was Monaghan) also have to be considered here. Earlier this season, Shels fans were told that their game against you was switched less than a week in advance due to a feckin rugby game...Lads take half days from work, switch shifts, work overtime etc in order to free up time to go to these scheduled games...Changing the dates and times of these games because people from the town would rather watch Ashley Cole and a bunch of goonbags?

As Liam Brady would say; I'm not having it Bill.

65 Posts
    1-0 athlone onwebiko

Blog

athlone 1-0 harps
    Muhammad Ali

half time rovers 0 0 bohs

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the-blue-harp View Post
    This has stopped working for me - anyone else having trouble ?

Blog

its off for half time. should come back on for second half.
    Muhammad Ali

i thought i was gonna have to watch the game on aertel. thank feck for that.
    Muhammad Ali

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast