Thread: €50,000

€50,000

have spoken to members of the trust and thet are in agreement this is the way forward 2 euro lads thats all we need from 500 people, it can be more if ye want lads. we need the support lads no bickering, name calling lads full support is needed here. Lets follow the example of red arrow, alan kerins, members of the trust and get this off the ground. Fundraisers are taking place in the next week and also a fans forum is taking place on thursday "to be clarified" in the southern.

218 Posts
    If your looking for E50000 and its E2 from 500 people than thats only E10000???? Have ye already got E40000 in the kitty????

Its 60k actually that is needed to keep Cookie, not impossible as there seems to be a lot of good will out there.

462 Posts
    That would make it €6 from 10000 fans

Come on lads,lets get behind this! I know a lot of people will be thinking "not this again" but it's important that we hold onto cookie.

Quote Originally Posted by Rovers fan View Post
    Come on lads,lets get behind this! I know a lot of people will be thinking "not this again" but it's important that we hold onto cookie.
    I really like Cookie, and obviously I'll be donating to get us towards the 60k, but at the same time again, as a club, I think we're looking amateurish beyond belief...

Quote Originally Posted by Red&White Rover View Post
    I really like Cookie, and obviously I'll be donating to get us towards the 60k, but at the same time again, as a club, I think we're looking amateurish beyond belief...
    Agreed........

Quote Originally Posted by RGMY View Post
    have spoken to members of the trust and thet are in agreement this is the way forward 2 euro lads thats all we need from 500 people, it can be more if ye want lads. we need the support lads no bickering, name calling lads full support is needed here. Lets follow the example of red arrow, alan kerins, members of the trust and get this off the ground. Fundraisers are taking place in the next week and also a fans forum is taking place on thursday "to be clarified" in the southern.
    Fair enough but would be better if the club came out with something more than "no further comment"!
    Would be unbelievable to pull this off.

Quote Originally Posted by TheBoss View Post
    That would make it €6 from 10000 fans
    The plan is €2 a week from 500 fans for the year.

http://www.extratime.ie/newsdesk/articles/1207/

Don't mean to knock it but where the hell are they gonna get 60k from in two weeks? Seems far fetched. The only way is the 2euro iniative however to get 500 hundred names in two weeks would be some achievement i can't see developing. But I will do my best and try to get as many signed as i can however some people i have talked to have been holding back as they think its just another drain from their weekly income which is dwindling ever more these days. Just a little feedback. However i'll give it my full backing.

We have 500 hardcore supporters, if the trust could get the names and addresses of season ticket holders it could be a big help

If we can get 30 businesses (pubs, shops, nightclubs, whatever) to commit 20 euro a week, that would cover half of it. And I'm sure there are some of us who would go for 3 or 4 euro instead of two.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    If we can get 30 businesses (pubs, shops, nightclubs, whatever) to commit 20 euro a week
    While this is a good idea, who is gonna approach these businesses cos they aren't gonna volunteer imo?

Committee members? Trust members? Cook himself? Billy Sinclair, in the mid-70s when Sligo was hardly rolling in cash, went around the businesses in town and coaxed and cajoled them into opening their wallets.

I don't have a guaranteed solution, but it's a suggestion.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/...igorovers.html
    So basically its up to us according to this. And it has already been launched according to RTE. Bit baffling because as far as i see nothing has changed regarding this fundraiser. Its been out 3 months and all we have is 50people. So we are saying we can now get 450 in 2 weeks?

Quote Originally Posted by Inside Man View Post
    http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2009/...igorovers.html
    So basically its up to us according to this. And it has already been launched according to RTE. Bit baffling because as far as i see nothing has changed regarding this fundraiser. Its been out 3 months and all we have is 50people. So we are saying we can now get 450 in 2 weeks?
    That article is misleading. We need €60,000 in bank, ringfenced before Valentine's Day.

There´s something very suspect about this whole thing imo. But if it means Cookie will stay for another season then I´m happy.

My thoughts exactly. Think theres more to it than meets the eye.

Think this is possible but a lot of hard work, time and effort will have to be put in to it. Gonna do my bit and try and get a few mates and family to donate.

Formerly: wild rover
    http://www.sligorovers.com/content/view/688/1/

That should clear anything up, not that there is any doubt............

Havn't heard whats going on now, but is cookie gone or what? Also we need 60,000 to strenghten the team, Did we not sell a player recently for a lot of money?