Page 9 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast

Thread: Irish Cricket 2009

214 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    Assume you work here (local council offices???).

Was at Trent Bridge yesterday on way home from Sofia. Not a cricket fan but a great day out. We were sitting right opposite that building in the New Stand and we were remarking that there was little work going on when you could see all the faces at the window.

One thing that pi**ed me off yesterday was that we are the only country in the 20/20 that does not have our national flag flying, and do not have the national anthem played. Like the rugby we had Ireland's Call (I really hate that song) but no anthem. After the game started they put up some flag which someone told me was the flag of the Irish Cricket Union.
    That's the beauty! The interior is even worse but we have had new windows put in which explains why everybody can see in now. The previous set of windows had so much dirt and mud that it was impossible for anybody to see in!

I'm not a big fan of cricket but will always watch the Irish games & a bit of the Ashes. I missed the last Ashes test at Trent Bridge because I was on holiday but I can imagine our building shutting down on the Thurdsay, Friday and Monday of that particular Test.

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Superhoops View Post
    One thing that pi**ed me off yesterday was that we are the only country in the 20/20 that does not have our national flag flying, and do not have the national anthem played. Like the rugby we had Ireland's Call (I really hate that song) but no anthem. After the game started they put up some flag which someone told me was the flag of the Irish Cricket Union
    The team represents more than one country (and isn't alone in that- so does the West Indies team).

446 Posts
    So what would be wrong using The Four Provinces flag & 'A Nation Once Again', then??

Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    So what would be wrong using The Four Provinces flag & 'A Nation Once Again', then??
    Agreed, a much more sensible and representative option.
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    The team represents more than one country (and isn't alone in that- so does the West Indies team).
    And England, who are actually England & Wales.

Personally I'd be happy enough with Irelands Call & the Cricket Union flag or the 4 provinces flag, the team is Irish & that's good enough for me

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    Personally I'd be happy enough with Irelands Call & the Cricket Union flag or the 4 provinces flag, the team is Irish & that's good enough for me
    Indeed. If Ardee Bhoy and Super Hoops don't like it, they can always lobby for a breakaway, silimar to the FAI in the 1920s.

It'd be two nations once again.

Quote Originally Posted by endabob1 View Post
    And England, who are actually England & Wales.

England isn't the best example there is it? Seeing as they use the English flag...

101 Posts
    Terrible start. Ireland 17-3 after 4 overs. The match is reduced to 18 overs a side. It's a joke that Ireland are the first game tomorrow anyway so the sooner it's over the better.
    www.dundalkfc.com

Colin Scanlon - hero!

Only seen it from about the 9th inning onwards.

Has Bray played himself out of the team?
    Really unprofessional run out by West.
    White out in a solid stint & looked comfortable with a few boundaries just before caught out. Could he start tomorrow?

Last few overs good to put a respectable look to it.

112-8 18 over finished.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Only seen it from about the 9th inning onwards.
    Really? Are you sure you want to use the phrase 9th inning when talking about 20-20 cricket? Christ test cricket only has 2 innings!

Ireland need an early wicket...as for tomorrow, expect the team that beat Bangladesh to be put out. White and Wilson will more than likely drop out with Johnston and Niall O'Brien returning.
    Last edited by rambler14; 10/06/2009 at 7:09 PM.
    LESS OF THE BULL NOW!

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Good recovery towards the end of the innings but presumably that's the way T20 goes. India should reach that comfortably enough.

24 Posts
    not to bad a result in the end for Ireland India 113-2 (15.3 overs) bt Ireland 112-8 (18 overs) by eight wickets against India could have been a lot worse.

Time to move on tomorrow now and New Zealand
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    Really? Are you sure you want to use the phrase 9th inning when talking about 20-20 cricket? Christ test cricket only has 2 innings!.
    I was going to say half way through the innings but changed mid sentence

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    A bit like those who say the same in the rugby, why don't you join a cricket club and suggest it to the union rep?

I think you'll find the ICU members are happy enough with what they have at the minute.

And after all, it's their sport.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by jbyrne View Post
    i can understand why Irish players would want to declare for england for the test status etc that we dont have but surely when Ireland are in the same competition as england these lads should play for their original country or at least be allowed to?
    I don't know if they are allowed to or not if so that would be stupid. Players would be switching allegience the whole time.

462 Posts
    It was a solid game by the Irish today, I feel that they did not give it everything as they may have concentrated on the New Zealand game the next day. They put up a useful enough total but did not ever test the Indian bowlers. India were always going to be hard to bowl against, they cruised to the win, they could have punished the bowling a bit heavier if they really needed to.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    Ireland 5/2 to win today? What ye guys think?
    I just backed South Africa to beat England

38 Posts
    There's a chance, because NZ are missing a few top players. Vettori, the top Twenty20 bowler in the world against whom Ireland are particularly clueless, may miss out.
    A leading authority on League of Ireland football since 2003. You're probably wrong.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by rambler14 View Post
    Christ test cricket only has 2 innings!
    test cricket usually has 4 innings, 2 by each side, time allowing.
    "Must you tell me all your secrets when it's hard enough to love you knowing nothing."

http://worddok.blogspot.com

Quote Originally Posted by razor View Post
    test cricket usually has 4 innings, 2 by each side, time allowing.
    Well spotted. I feel better now.

Page 9 of 17 FirstFirst ... 7891011 ... LastLast