Page 6 of 14 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Thread: Squad for Poland game

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Trying to be Devils Advocate on the squad choice - I'd imagine Trapp's response would be that he is employed to achieve qualification for 2010 and not to overly experiment and "build for the future" on a continuous basis.

Trapp is dealing with the here and now and this dictates that he uses the majority of his favoured team at every given opportunity. This fosters a familiarity with formations and a team spirit.

He may well not be using this game to experiment - but as match practice for the established players.

This squad suggests that the friendly will be used to maintain the momentum that this specific group of players have contributed to since the campaign began.

I'd like to have seen the likes of McCarthy, Delap, St Ledger etc etc but I think the wholesale changes could be introduced at a more staggered pace to what we are used to.
    hmm sounds very familiar that one...has Brian Kerr been drafted into the backroom staff on the sly?

oh, and another point - what the hell has Tardelli been doing with his time if he hasn't been watching Championship matches???
    "Well I think they'll be a little disappointed with that" - Matt Holland on TV3 after 5-2 drubbing by Cyprus

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    been left out for what reason?!
    With Reid and O'Brien making intimations in various outlets that they don't want to be part of the Ireland squad if not getting gametime, maybe Trapattonis feels other players are more worthy of a place in the squad.
    Pure speculation on my part and now that I've written it down, I don't really
    believe it either.

There was talk of a provisional squad last week which had players like Delap/Rowlands/McCarthy in line for a call up. Is this usual? Do players know before a weekend round of fixtures whether they are in line for a call up or not? They're probably be a few withdrawals.

282 Posts
    Bloody ****ing hell Long in there over Hunt? No McCarthy (I'm not a big fan, but at least to tie him up)? No Delap?
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dr_peepee View Post
    Dude, he has a settled side. I think you'll find very few people questioning Trapps first 11. It's the fact that he clearly thinks Miller and Bruce are the next best options. The fact he didn't know who Delap was on the radio a few weeks ago. The last 10 minutes against Cyprus with no subs... Eh... And all the other stuff typed by people too... He's not as committed to this Job as I'd like, and as his pay would warrant, in my opinion.
    There is one key area where we dont have a settled team and that's centre mid. S.Reid is out injured and Whelan, Gibson, Miller have all looked unimpressive playing there. It's also the area where we have a crop of young players who are showing outstanding form in the Championship. I simply cannot understand the argument that says "No let's not bother looking at these guys we're fine, if we need another option there's always Keith Andrews. He's not playing regular first team football either so hell be fresh and up for it." Its bloody obvious what's happening with our selection - If you weren't in the squad when Trap took over and your not at a premiership club then you are totally off the radar!

On the Delap front there's no way he was going to get picked, because it would have made it obvious that Trap, Tardelli and Brady didn't even know he was Irish. By leaving him out now they can get away with arguing that he's been considered, but wasn't good enough.

joe: but where has reid said anything about not starting?

Very happy with the defenders but Gibson, Miller, Stokes, Folan and Long is taking the p*ss. What more does Noel Hunt have to do?
    We'll never die, we'll never die

Quote Originally Posted by theworm2345 View Post
    Bloody ****ing hell Long in there over Hunt? No McCarthy (I'm not a big fan, but at least to tie him up)? No Delap?
    He's no David Connolly, that's for sure!

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    joe: but where has reid said anything about not starting?
    He hasn't, not publically anyway, but I imagined this is what the supposed bustup in Germany was about. Again speculation. An article on Setanta sports suggests the ommission is merely Trap flexing his managerial muscle and that hopefully the lads will be back in the next squad. Hopefully Trapattoni will explain his selections.

ya id reckon that reid will be in the next one actually, he knows what reid can do already.

85 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    Hence the need to play 2 holding midfielders. We don't have one player that is "strong" enough to effectively protect the back four on his own. Personally I like us to have one holding midfielder and one attacking midfielder but playing that way leaves us exposed with the players we have at our disposal.

I don't see any inconsistency here at all.
    I have to ask you... Do you consider Miller, Andrews and Gibson "Holding Midfeilders"??

I like Steven Hunt but in no way is he an advocate for patience and ball retention. That's were at least one of Trapps inconsistency lies.
    I pity the fool!.... But suggest ways that he might improve himself.

www.thefastleague.com

2,796 Posts
    I've no problem with Folan's inclusion. Long over Hunt is bizarre alright. Here you are absolutely comparing like with like. They play for the same club in the same position. One gets picked and scores regularly. The other doesn't. Guess which one gets picked for Ireland?

I'm glad Andrews is picked as CM is where we need to be looking at our options. I hope he impresses.

I'll be charitable and say that maybe it's still too early for Garvan and O'Toole though I'd love to see them involved. I don't know McCann's game as well. They have as much justification for inclusion as Gibson - at least they're playing.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 10/11/2008 at 3:01 PM.

1,928 Posts
    Maybe one *unt is enough.

20 Posts
    A tame & utterly unimaginative squad. "Whatever gets us to South Africa" is fine by me, but I would have expected some fringe players to come along during the friendlies.

Is there a touch of the Eddie O'Sullivan going on here? IE, Trap picking a "super-squad" come what may & persisting with it without any plan 'B'? It's probably too early to tell.

161 Posts
    Is Brady just a water carrier? I can understand Trap not listening to anything Givens tells him. But Brady seems to have no infleunce whatsover. As for Stapo and Mick Martin. What are their roles other than watching matches for free. How much respect does Trap have for his "assistants"? I am guessing very little in a football sense. This could spell the end of Andy Reid's Ireland career and that to me is very wrong. Reid is not world class. He can't run. But he is the best passer of the ball we have. He wants to play for Ireland. And he should have been allowed to show his talents in this upcoming friendly.

446 Posts
    A.Reid, Ireland, McCarthy(James) & Delap should all have been called up and played!

And put Naughton in the squad, as a statement of intent.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by boovidge View Post
    He's no David Connolly, that's for sure!
    I'm glad I'm not the only one who sees the light
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

26 Posts
    F*ck knows what is going on with this squad. There are a good few players that should be in there. The one glaring issue I have is Shane Long over Noel Hunt. Why? Surely some journo has to bring this to the attention of the masses who perhaps aren't aware that we have two strikers at one club. One banging them in and keeping the other out the side. It might have even been the time to look at Doyle and Noel Hunt leading the line for Ireland. If Keane got injured who do we fall back to? Long? Stokes? Folan? None of whom play regularly for their clubs. I really do not get it; I wish someone would explain it to me!

20 Posts
    He's not picking on form, that much is certain.

215 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by amaccann View Post
    He's not picking on form, that much is certain.
    Nor ability, nor potential, nor any other rational criteria.

634 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Is Brady just a water carrier? I can understand Trap not listening to anything Givens tells him. But Brady seems to have no infleunce whatsover. As for Stapo and Mick Martin. What are their roles other than watching matches for free. How much respect does Trap have for his "assistants"? I am guessing very little in a football sense. This could spell the end of Andy Reid's Ireland career and that to me is very wrong. Reid is not world class. He can't run. But he is the best passer of the ball we have. He wants to play for Ireland. And he should have been allowed to show his talents in this upcoming friendly.

Hard to second guess a lot of whats going on Noely.

Lads, when stevie reid got injured, and given he started Gibson against Cyprus, could yis not see Trapper starting with the same two again to build up some sort of partnership? I certainly expect him to start with Whelan and Gibson. if he's going to persist with them, they need game time to find a rappor. He did it with Reid and Whelan, so he probably will do it again. I wouldn't mind seeing him experiment with the full backs - I'd like to see Delaney given more time, we know Killer is first choice and we know he's going to start.
    I'm not saying I believe its right, I just feel its what he's going to do.

Also would it be an idea to hold a B International this week. I'm sure an alternative 22 could be picked fairly handy.
    Here they come! It’s the charge of the “Thanks” Brigade!

Page 6 of 14 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast