Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Waterford Athlone Situation

Speaking for numerous Shels fans, we hate yous, Dodge, as much as you hate us so I dont see what the problem is. I personally couldnt care less if you, or anyone else, dont want to see us going up.
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Quote Originally Posted by Joey Killester View Post
    Speaking for numerous Shels fans, we hate yous, Dodge, as much as you hate us so I dont see what the problem is. I personally couldnt care less if you, or anyone else, dont want to see us going up.
    "Speaking for numerous Shels fans"?? What??? Do ya not trust your own opinion enough?

Im not sure what you mean there, Higgo. I suppose I was just saying in a round about way that we all hate Pats.
    "Give franchise football the red card."
    Briogáid Dearg, FTA

Quote Originally Posted by Higgo View Post
    I'm sorry, that's just mindless garbage.
    I can assure, it certainly isn't mindless. Whether you dispute it or not, I've thought long and hard about it, and decided I still hate.

If you disagree with me - fine, if you don't care about my thoughts - fine but don't dismiss it as a nonsense.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I can assure, it certainly isn't mindless. Whether you dispute it or not, I've thought long and hard about it, and decided I still hate.

If you disagree with me - fine, if you don't care about my thoughts - fine but don't dismiss it as a nonsense.
    I just think you're being irrational to be honest. Anyway, we'll never agree so not much point in talkin' any more about it.

1,554 Posts
    Lads, lads, lads, let's not bicker and argue over who hates who.

Let's all just agree that both Shels and Pats are a shower of c**ts and move on eh?

Quote Originally Posted by Duffman View Post
    "Sure lets see how the game tomorrow pans out first lads" I can imagine that committee saying. Even less respect now for the whole scene. Can't get anything right.
    As Stan stated in another thread "new information has come to light" which puts a different slant on things. I happen to know 2 pieces of information that could make a difference to things and know that they would be considering these!

Hang tight people.

123 Posts
    I think the main problem with this new rule is that it is open to abuse. What is to stop a team fielding an ill eligible player on purpose, maybe unlikely but don't say it couldn't happen. If team A needs a win and team B is indifferent, what is to stop them coming to an agreement where team B plays an ill eligible player. Both teams can then play like they want to win and if Team B wins or it's a draw then Team A will get the 3 points anyway through this rule.

Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    I think the main problem with this new rule is that it is open to abuse. What is to stop a team fielding an ill eligible player on purpose, maybe unlikely but don't say it couldn't happen. If team A needs a win and team B is indifferent, what is to stop them coming to an agreement where team B plays an ill eligible player. Both teams can then play like they want to win and if Team B wins or it's a draw then Team A will get the 3 points anyway through this rule.
    put a huge fine in place and they would think twice

I thini match fixing is frowned upon in general. Plus there's no rule stopping a sick registered player from playing. Once you're eligible it doesn't matter if you're ill.
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

115 Posts
    Well the new info didn't make any odds in the end.

Just been officially communicated to the WUFC office that Athlone Town have forfeited the match 3-0 and been fined €2,500 for fielding an ineligible player.

Ouch on that fine, but it is the one stipulated in the rules apparently. Hard not to feel bad for Athlone though.

On a side note, our manager has some choice words for Mr Keely over his article in the Sun today too, which I didn't hear earlier but will be avidly listening out for at 12.
    Last edited by stann; 24/10/2008 at 10:36 AM.
    more bass

82 Posts
    Whats to stop anyone fixing a match in more simple ways (eg doing a Grobelaar)?

The existing rules is the answer btw......

If someone wants to fix a game they will.

What the rules now stops is opposing teams from spoiling the game. If, for example, tonights game between Dundalk and Waterford was the last game of the season, under the old rules Dundalk could've played 11 unregistered/suspended players to ensure the won the game. They'd have been docked 3 points but it'd mean that Waterford didn't gain anything on them

The new rule stops that

38 Posts
    Confirmed just now on a Press Release from FAI.

What the rules now stops is opposing teams from spoiling the game. If, for example, tonights game between Dundalk and Waterford was the last game of the season, under the old rules Dundalk could've played 11 unregistered/suspended players to ensure the won the game. They'd have been docked 3 points but it'd mean that Waterford didn't gain anything on them

The new rule stops that
    There is an anomaly there, but that's totally the wrong way to address it. If the FAI wants to address that particular point then they could dock the points from the offending club and order a reply if it is found that the offending club has gained an advantage.

This rule means clubs are awarded points off the field of play and that should never never happen in a league situation when there is a real possibility of other clubs being disadvantaged. This is a rule that we'll be coming back to again, and again and again over the years unless its changed.

Looks like John Delaney and Milo looking after their old club again .

Quote Originally Posted by SMorgan View Post
    There is an anomaly there, but that's totally the wrong way to address it. If the FAI...
    Again, this is the rule that every other country in the world uses.

Its just our idiot clubs that have the problem, our idiot refs that don't realise the mistakes, and our idiot administrators that take a month to do anythign about it

There's nothing wrong with the rule at all

1,554 Posts
    Dundalk fans are complaining about their club being disadvantaged, yet if Athlone gained a result by fielding an unregistered it would be Waterford that would be suffering through no fault of their own.

Athlone fecked up so forfeited the game- simple.

462 Posts
    I think to blame Athlone for this is wrong, It is up to the FAI to inform them a list of players that are eligible to play, then in that case, Athlone can be blamed.

The new rule stops that
    Do you know what the previous rule was ?

I think you'll find what you've just said is wrong.
    The rule that was there two years ago would have allowed the FAI to do many things, a fine and awarding the other team a 3-0 victory were well within the rules. Also the option of the replay was allowed too.

These rules appear much more restricted in what you can do.
    John Delaney!! GET OUT!!!
    www.ssdg.ie

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast