Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast

Thread: Another Nordie thread

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingdomkerry View Post
    What line in the anthem do you think is militaristic?
    'Soldiers' song' is something of a giveaway, like.

As D9 69 suggests, anthems tend to be thus. Close to home Britain/ England's and Scotland's explicitly mention battles against each other. I'm no fan of any of them, but you can't have it both ways. As I've said before on related threads, we could do worse than choose a more contemporary punk rant like Alternative Ulster or Gloria (Them not U2).

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie
    The threads featuring the OWC lads always start out as entertaining until we all plummet down the sink hole of the finer details of FIFA's current eligibility rules or the sub-clauses of the Good Friday Agreement
    Sorry if it doesn't entertain you as far as page three. And to be so po-faced, but you should realise it ****es us off from post one. Just like every other thread/ play/ other medium that effectively says 'you're all bigots/ useless at football, why not give up your team and support ours instead'?

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie
    Once they crop up it only serves to remind me that what we need is an actual match between Ireland V N.Ireland. No messin. Winner takes all - including bragging rights. Roll on Spring 2011
    That's better. Just don't forget the notional possibility of a(nother) night in November (2009), or in South Africa itself?
    Last edited by Gather round; 03/10/2008 at 1:54 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    The threads featuring the OWC lads always start out as entertaining until we all plummet down the sink hole of the finer details of FIFA's current eligibility rules or the sub-clauses of the Good Friday Agreement.

Once they crop up it only serves to remind me that what we need is an actual match between Ireland V N.Ireland. No messin. Winner takes all - including bragging rights. Roll on Spring 2011.
    Wolfie did you mean this when you said takes all?

Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    'Soldiers' song' is something of a giveaway, like.
    Sorry if it doesn't entertain you as far as page three. And to be so po-faced, but you should realise it ****es us off from post one. Just like every other thread/ play/ other medium that effectively says 'you're all bigots/ useless at football, why not give up your team and support ours instead'?

That's better. Just don't forget the notional possibility of a(nother) night in November (2009), or in South Africa itself?
    Apology accepted.

We've no fixture planned against NI in 2009. Do you mean the notional possibility of meeting in November 2010 in the Euro Qualifiers?

That's a nice gesture for NI fans to travel to South Africa to cheer us on. Fair play.

Paul - that was just a turn of phrase. No deeper meaning or anything.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

130 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    Apology accepted.

We've no fixture planned against NI in 2009. Do you mean the notional possibility of meeting in November 2010 in the Euro Qualifiers?

That's a nice gesture for NI fans to travel to South Africa to cheer us on. Fair play.

Paul - that was just a turn of phrase. No deeper meaning or anything.
    Possible World Cup play off obviously.

Back of the class facing the wall Wolfie! (Unless of course you were deliberately discounting any chance of them making it to garner a response!)
    Last edited by Drumcondra 69er; 03/10/2008 at 2:47 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Drumcondra 69er View Post
    Possible World Cup play off obviously.

Back of the class facing the wall Wolfie! (Unless of course you were deliberately discounting any chance of them making it to garner a response!)
    Have to be honest - never considered the possibility of a World Cup Play Off!!

Jaysus - it would be some craic on here if that transpired.

170 Posts
    I'd say we have a 25% chance of finishing in the top two, then say 35% of winning a play off. So roughly 9% overall or 10/1 as the bookies say. You can only dream...

Group 3 top two :

Czechia 70% likely
    Poland 55%
    Slovakia 30%
    NI 25%
    Slovenia 20%
    San Marino tending to 0%
    Last edited by Gather round; 03/10/2008 at 3:08 PM.

I would put that at more like 11.4% to be honest, however I am no actuary!

170 Posts
    Paul- 25% x 35% is 8.75%. Trust me (I'm not an actuary either, although I did apply for a job as one when at TCD).

I'd say we have a 25% chance of finishing in the top two, then say 35% of winning a play off. So roughly 9% overall or 10/1 as the bookies say. You can only dream...

Group 3 top two :

Czechia 70% likely
    Poland 55%
    Slovakia 30%
    NI 25%
    Slovenia 20%
    San Marino tending to 0%
    Now, of course if both Irelands were to hypothetically joins forces if you will..................

Easy Tiger!! - Just messin about

170 Posts
    On that bombshell, this tiger is slinking back into the undergrowth. Leaving you as king of the jungle, Wolfie

GR, we went to different schools, but I am pretty sure thats not how probability works:

25/100* 35/100 = e11.4%

as the chance goes down you multiply.
    Last edited by paul_oshea; 03/10/2008 at 3:43 PM. Reason: doh!

sorry indeed that answer that you gave is about right GR, i was being a thick with the calulator and multiplying 1/35 being a thick.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    780 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    If you are referring to Billy Bingham, then you couldn't be more wrong.
    http://www.nationmaster.com/encyclopedia/Billy-Bingham

Bingham caused controversy by allegedly conducting the crowd in renditions of Loyalist songs 'Billy Boys' and 'The Sash' when the Republic of Ireland travelled to Windsor Park for a World Cup qualifier in 1993. Bingham claimed at the time that his only intention was to get the crowd behind the team, not to provoke sectarian hatred. The Republic's manager Jack Charlton (who, ironically, later detailed singing IRA songs with the team in his autobiography), refused to shake hands with Bingham after the match.
    -------------------------------------

To be honest, I just remember him egging on the crowd to sing "There's only one team in Ireland" (that's the part the tv showed as I was watching it in the comfort of my front room) and I didn't see the other alleged incitements mentioned above. I do remember being really p++++ed with him, possibly because we were losing, but he was enjoying it just too much. He is in no doubt a hero to most NI fans just as Charlton is to most of our fans but that alas is my lasting memory of William Laurence "Billy" Bingham.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

my last memory is "billy bingham budapest"

Wasn't it Jock Stein who said that?

Dinnae play friendlies, I mean.
    I thought it was Roy Keane.

282 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    my last memory is "billy bingham budapest"
    ...man of magic Georgie Best
    My Guarantee
    Am looking for old Irish matches on VHS, PM me if you have some and I'll upload them here

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    http://www.nationmaster.com/encyclopedia/Billy-Bingham

Bingham caused controversy by allegedly conducting the crowd in renditions of Loyalist songs 'Billy Boys' and 'The Sash' when the Republic of Ireland travelled to Windsor Park for a World Cup qualifier in 1993. Bingham claimed at the time that his only intention was to get the crowd behind the team, not to provoke sectarian hatred. The Republic's manager Jack Charlton (who, ironically, later detailed singing IRA songs with the team in his autobiography), refused to shake hands with Bingham after the match.
    -------------------------------------

To be honest, I just remember him egging on the crowd to sing "There's only one team in Ireland" (that's the part the tv showed as I was watching it in the comfort of my front room) and I didn't see the other alleged incitements mentioned above. I do remember being really p++++ed with him, possibly because we were losing, but he was enjoying it just too much. He is in no doubt a hero to most NI fans just as Charlton is to most of our fans but that alas is my lasting memory of William Laurence "Billy" Bingham.
    If you only remember him egging the crowd on to sing OTII, why did you call him "Billy Bigot"?

What evidence do you actually have for such a scandalous (and undoubtedly actionable) claim, other than a sub-Wikipedia statistical website from Australia, which even itself has the grace to to use the term "allegedly".
    You obviously must have Googled this; was this really the best you came up with?

And have you forgotten what I posted about Bingham's actual record of playing with and managing Catholic players, all of whom seemed to 'go the extra yard' for this so-called bigot? Or his choice of Best Man? I might have mentioned that his first international manager, whom he has frequently lauded, was a certain Peter "The Great" Doherty - a Catholic from Magherafelt.

I ask again, how do you reconcile all that with allegations of bigotry?

The simple fact is, you can't, and if you have any honour, you will accept that you have been misled by Chinese Whispers and withdraw your original claim.

57 Posts
    I don't think it is fair or accurate to protray Billy Bingham as a bigot.

I think his record as NI manager speaks for itself and his relationship with former players regardless of their religion. I also have spoken with people who dealt with him when he brought teams to Waterford and donegal and they could have spoken. I also spoke with somebody who clearly hated him a few months before that night in November and recounted some negative stuff about Billy (nothing illegal or even immoral) which I haven't heard from anybody else before or since. Significantly he never claimed that he was in anyway bigoted.

The one team in Ireland chant hurt like hell at the time and was cruel and horrible, However we also deserved it given it was sang a few months earlier at Lansdowne when we were 3 up.

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post

The one team in Ireland chant hurt like hell
    Then you won't have liked the variation sung a couple of times last campaign, when Lawrie's Boys were laying waste to all round them and Stan's Boys were just, well, wasted:

"There's only Two Teams in Ireland,
    Only Two Teams in Ireland,
    The other one's sh1te,
    But we're doing all right,
    Walking in a Windsor Wonderland"

P.S. I know it's childish, but I can't resist. Besides, who knows how long it'll be before we get another chance to sing it?

When the loyalists team have three players who could make the Ireland team, then they can call us "sh1te" all they want in Ibro........I mean Windsor.

Page 3 of 17 FirstFirst 1234513 ... LastLast