Page 19 of 25 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast

Thread: Elvery's Super League 2008

Double header in milebush great idea!! should be a good day for mayo soccer..

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    your right, s&f there playin some great stuff, id like to see them get through to the final, after the season there having, they have some nice players down there. ballina tho are a good footballing side, but cup games can go either way. it'll be a chance for them to see how next season might go for them.
    Ballina V Snugboro i'd say. S & F haven't came up against quality opposition yet and Ballina play quality opposition every week. That will be the difference...

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    Ballina V Snugboro i'd say. S & F haven't came up against quality opposition yet and Ballina play quality opposition every week. That will be the difference...
    ya that could be the deciding factor there. playing high quality teams every week would stand to ballina.

yes, it could be the difference but s&f have quality players and can play football.it could go to pens!!!

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post

Did Ballina not just scrape by Fahy in this cup, needing extra time. And with S & F been streets ahead of Fahy i can see an upset in this Semi.

ya good point no.7 but it was a thursday nite and i think ballina were missing a few players.

Quote Originally Posted by pool 7 View Post
    ya good point no.7 but it was a thursday nite and i think ballina were missing a few players.
    fahy were missin about 7 that night too!!

Quote Originally Posted by r.rover View Post
    fahy were missin about 7 that night too!!
    r.rover, seen as ye have played both teams there, how do you think it'll go, ye've play s&f 3 times now and ballina once. who do u rate both teams?, how do the rest or ye fahy lads rate both teams?

Quote Originally Posted by No. 7 View Post
    Did Ballina not just scrape by Fahy in this cup, needing extra time. And with S & F been streets ahead of Fahy i can see an upset in this Semi.
    We were missing 7 players that night from the first 11 and probably 9 or 10 from the normal 16 squad so dont think you can draw any conclusions there.

I think Ballina have more quality than S & F, their also more physical and have as much if not more fire power. S & F still have alot to prove though so should be a good one!!

I think the semis of the Mayo cup dont have the four best teams in the county but thats cup football for ya Fair play to Achill and S & F for managing to get there!

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    r.rover, seen as ye have played both teams there, how do you think it'll go, ye've play s&f 3 times now and ballina once. who do u rate both teams?, how do the rest or ye fahy lads rate both teams?
    s+f have a good strong team , good all over the place, the night we played ballina we hadnt a great team out we worked really hard to keep it to 1all, but if they had a bit more luck they would have scored a few more, plus our keeper was very good, overall i would still expect ballina to win this one but they will need to play very well as s+f are on a roll.

Disgraceful

Is it fair to every other team in the super league and to the mayo league that you have a team like claremorris unable to field a team.It is totally unfair on the teams up at the top of the league,westport get three points,ok its not their fault but what about the chasing pack....surely ballina,celtic or snugboro would love 3 points for doin nothin.They should be hit hard both financially and also give them a deduction effective from next season,as they are already more or less relagated from the super laegue

Quote Originally Posted by 1924 View Post
    Is it fair to every other team in the super league and to the mayo league that you have a team like claremorris unable to field a team.It is totally unfair on the teams up at the top of the league,westport get three points,ok its not their fault but what about the chasing pack....surely ballina,celtic or snugboro would love 3 points for doin nothin.They should be hit hard both financially and also give them a deduction effective from next season,as they are already more or less relagated from the super laegue
    What happened????

Basically,They just never fielded a team.Bad form!

celtic young guns!!

another great result last night for celtic against a lot older and more experienced ballina team. they could and probably should have won by more. stand in keeper that has been banging in the goals instead of stopping them for celtic for the last while!! some of thr young lads going to eircom league teams for the u-20 league, it's a shame celtic weren't allowed enter the league this year after a succesful year last year and would have the team that won the youth cup 2 years ago along with a few more quality players to add to the squad, including tom king!!!
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

646 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    another great result last night for celtic against a lot older and more experienced ballina team. they could and probably should have won by more. stand in keeper that has been banging in the goals instead of stopping them for celtic for the last while!! some of thr young lads going to eircom league teams for the u-20 league, it's a shame celtic weren't allowed enter the league this year after a succesful year last year and would have the team that won the youth cup 2 years ago along with a few more quality players to add to the squad, including tom king!!!
    Will you get back in the team 352? The bench isn't too bad. Enjoying it myself most of the season.

Wink ??

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Will you get back in the team 352? The bench isn't too bad. Enjoying it myself most of the season.
    at my age i'm not too sure!! haven't played in years!!!
    Last edited by threefivetwo; 23/08/2008 at 12:21 PM.
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

646 Posts
    Westport won 12-1 tonight. Nearly guaranteeing them the league. Only Celtic can catch them now to force a playoff but thats a 1000000/1 shot.
    Celtic lost 4-2 to Erris.

In Truth you are right They are hit with a fine of €150 warned of there conduct should they fail the next time they face being expelled and there players suspended, and €300 fine .
    However that's little consequences to the other teams chasing Westport.
    Thou I do think they should be hit with a three point deduction for every game they failed to play in there next season.

Thats a load of Bull....,The Mayo league did nothing to Joey Mr Renovater and you know that 100%,so dont try to blame them for Joey leaving.Can you explain to me as to why he signed for you first and then decided to join Athlone.Ill let you tell the 100% Truth to everyone here.Please dont be blaming someone for your own misgivings.
    Don't no where you are coming from? M.l Suspended him for 3 matches for failing to play for Mayo, He thought this was harsh not me. Secondly I didn't sign him in the first place. So at leased get ur facts right, before you come shouting the odds

Sat 23rd Aug -Bangor 1 Westport 12...looks like they didn't have to work too hard here either...and both celtic and ballina dropped points earlier in season in Bangor......is it difficult for teams struggling to get lads back after the summer break????

Page 19 of 25 FirstFirst ... 91718192021 ... LastLast