Page 67 of 91 FirstFirst ... 1757656667686977 ... LastLast
Results 1,321 to 1,340 of 1816

Thread: Westport United FC

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post

On the Stevie Ryan fiasco that it is at this stage, Stevie's not a dirty player. One of the Snugboro players went in for a 50/50 with the Westport keeper the week before. These things happen, if the balls there you have to go for it. Your more likely to get injured if you pull out. Give Stevie a break.

Spot on Joe, the game is for men, if the ball is there to be won, you go and win it otherwise you could come out worse off. Either that or you join the other girls at ballet dancing.
    A lot of the comments Joe with regards the challenge are obviously from people who never played soccer at a competitive level, otherwise they would understand the situation of when a 50/50 ball is there, you will go for it.

The situation is over, get over it. Otherwise send Stevie a valentine card if you fancy him that much , because some of us are beginning to wonder.

Talking Castlebar Celtic 1-4 Westport United....The Glorious Humilliation

The 10th of July 2008 will be forever remembered in the annals of footballing history when the Red and Black pummelled Celtic into a humilliating submission in front of speechless home supporters. Celtic were destroyed in the first thirty minutes as Cam scored the opener, as Westport should have been 3-0 up at that point. Cam did clear one off the line near the break. Vinny got the second with a cross shot from the left to send the Tribe into ecstacy. Celtic pulled one back........with a penalty, the first of the four penalties they got that actually was a stonewall penalty. Westport were denied a stonewall penalty as Lee Keegan got fouled but got booked instead for "simulation". Cam got a lovely third goal as he rounded the keeper and made sure at the end with a clinical finish as the Westport supporters cheered every pass. Westport are now on a position to take advantage. Celtic, on the other hand, have suffered a huge psychological blow that it may take some time to recover, with the seeds of doubt creeping into their game, the self belief has certainly wilted, the confidence is shattered. Celtic are a broken team after tonight. Westport can only go from strength to strength after their first league double over Celtic in +20 years and the most humiliating defeat inflicted on their rivals on the hallowed turf of Celtic Park. As for the invasion, we came, we saw and we conquered. It was through the intercession of Our Lord, Jesus Christ, Our Lady of Knock, Our Lady of Lourdes, St. Patrick, St. Bridgid, Padre Pio, the Sacred Heart, Pope John Paul II and to God, the Almighty Father that made tonight possible. They all wanted Westport United to win. Good football triumphed tonight. Celtic were destroyed technically, physically, mentally and tactically. Snugboro must be worried too. Hail Glorious Cam, Slayer of Celtic, Prince of Football and Lion of Westport. Let all Coveys give thanks to God to a glorious night compatible to historical battles that ensued great, legendary victories. The people of Westport sacrificed their bodies for the goal of victory, and this victory is sweet and glorious with the triumph of pomp and ceremony. Ooh to...Ooh to be......Ooh to be a......Covey!!!!! Together we are standing tall, shoulder to shoulder, we answer Westport's call!!!!!
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

well done!!!

looks like the league is ye'rs. no more s**t lads westport won and i wont make any excuses or bad mouth westport, fair play!!!! delighted to see john joe gannon at the game, he is actually a first cousin of stevie ryans mother!!!!! i know stevie as ye know and he has been to see him a few times n the home!!!!! lovely fella, so lads no hassle anymore well done and all the best ya??? it was cool to see alll the westport players go out to him after the game, i'd say it made his day, even week. no more hassle lads, it's a game of football. well done!!!!! lets just leave da sh** out anymore no point fallin out over a game of football. best of luck n da league as much as it hurts to say but no point n fallin out lads!!!! it's all a bit of craic but we do go 2 far sometimes!!!! i'll actually say well done lads and no more **** ya???? no point!!!!
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

Quote Originally Posted by threefivetwo View Post
    looks like the league is ye'rs. no more s**t lads westport won and i wont make any excuses or bad mouth westport, fair play!!!! delighted to see john joe gannon at the game, he is actually a first cousin of stevie ryans mother!!!!! i know stevie as ye know and he has been to see him a few times n the home!!!!! lovely fella, so lads no hassle anymore well done and all the best ya??? it was cool to see alll the westport players go out to him after the game, i'd say it made his day, even week. no more hassle lads, it's a game of football. well done!!!!! lets just leave da sh** out anymore no point fallin out over a game of football. best of luck n da league as much as it hurts to say but no point n fallin out lads!!!! it's all a bit of craic but we do go 2 far sometimes!!!! i'll actually say well done lads and no more **** ya???? no point!!!!
    Fair play 3 5 2, it took alot to say that.
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

Well done the port,Im not gonna go on singing yere praises.Well done

I would not say its all over though!!!

Ballina are still in the hunt and Snugboro are still there and I didnt think they would sustain thier challenge this long

Cool Lil overboard????

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    The 10th of July 2008 will be forever remembered in the annals of footballing history when the Red and Black pummelled Celtic into a humilliating submission in front of speechless home supporters. Celtic were destroyed in the first thirty minutes as Cam scored the opener, as Westport should have been 3-0 up at that point. Cam did clear one off the line near the break. Vinny got the second with a cross shot from the left to send the Tribe into ecstacy. Celtic pulled one back........with a penalty, the first of the four penalties they got that actually was a stonewall penalty. Westport were denied a stonewall penalty as Lee Keegan got fouled but got booked instead for "simulation". Cam got a lovely third goal as he rounded the keeper and made sure at the end with a clinical finish as the Westport supporters cheered every pass. Westport are now on a position to take advantage. Celtic, on the other hand, have suffered a huge psychological blow that it may take some time to recover, with the seeds of doubt creeping into their game, the self belief has certainly wilted, the confidence is shattered. Celtic are a broken team after tonight. Westport can only go from strength to strength after their first league double over Celtic in +20 years and the most humiliating defeat inflicted on their rivals on the hallowed turf of Celtic Park. As for the invasion, we came, we saw and we conquered. It was through the intercession of Our Lord, Jesus Christ, Our Lady of Knock, Our Lady of Lourdes, St. Patrick, St. Bridgid, Padre Pio, the Sacred Heart, Pope John Paul II and to God, the Almighty Father that made tonight possible. They all wanted Westport United to win. Good football triumphed tonight. Celtic were destroyed technically, physically, mentally and tactically. Snugboro must be worried too. Hail Glorious Cam, Slayer of Celtic, Prince of Football and Lion of Westport. Let all Coveys give thanks to God to a glorious night compatible to historical battles that ensued great, legendary victories. The people of Westport sacrificed their bodies for the goal of victory, and this victory is sweet and glorious with the triumph of pomp and ceremony. Ooh to...Ooh to be......Ooh to be a......Covey!!!!! Together we are standing tall, shoulder to shoulder, we answer Westport's call!!!!!

Wel done Westport on what was a gr8 result. However, I think this post was a lil overboard. If Seany Mchale had found the net instead of blazin over the bar it could have a been a different game. Westport did play well, but I have seen dem play alot too. It's not all that long ago since Ballina thumped Westport by a similiar and more devastating scorline. You don't know whats around the corner.

!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Leveller View Post
    Fair play 3 5 2, it took alot to say that.
    believe me it did hurt!!!! fair is fair though!!!
    Reporter to Gordon Strachan: gordon, what's your impression of jermaine pennant? Reply: I don't do impressions!!

just have to say one thing about the match last nite lads, some of the abuse given by the celtic fans to the westport players was pretty sad. i think these people should be banned from attending games by there clubs, i think this should be a rule for every club. calling players "fat" and shouting "nail him" is sad and these people should have more cop on.

you silly boy

bit over the top! but a sign of ones delight and pride in your club, and well done!
    Question: where was your glorious report for the last few weeks when your club couldnt buy a result against celtic??

Bit too much drink there steve!!

no excuses this week then??!

steve????

Quote Originally Posted by hardcore View Post
    Bit too much drink there steve!!

what are ya on about? steve?????? bit 2 much drink alrite though it was early in the morning when that was posted!!!
    Last edited by threefivetwo; 12/07/2008 at 11:28 AM.

abuse!!!

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    just have to say one thing about the match last nite lads, some of the abuse given by the celtic fans to the westport players was pretty sad. i think these people should be banned from attending games by there clubs, i think this should be a rule for every club. calling players "fat" and shouting "nail him" is sad and these people should have more cop on.
    did you not hear the abuse the celtic players were getting either?? in that case most of ye'r fans should be banned from games if thats the way you think it should go!!! it's been going on for years and years, it's all part of the game!!

Oh dear

It was all going so well! Back to the moaning and b!tching.

Thursday night was a good result for us (Westport). It was a good game, handled well by DMcG IMO. 4-1 was a bitt flattering, yes Celtic missed a few, yes there was abuse as usaul.

The funniest was calling Dessie Fatboy, only for Celtic to bring on, well, Im not saying it but if Dessies fat then fatter boy came on for Celtic!

Goals by Vinny and Lee Keegan ensured another three points away to Iorras Aontaithe in our 2-0 win. Gareth Cunningham made his debut in goal. Could have pumped six past them.

Talking For Techno!!

Happy birthday to you, happy birthday to you. Happy birthday dear Techno. Happy birthday to you!!! The bold Techno AKA The Crow has come of age at the ripe old age of 50!!! There was a party in Blousers last night for the Gentle Giant!!!

Leg Waxing Tonight

Tonight is the night in JJ O'Grady's as some of the boys; Gerry, Flawless and Lovejoy gets their legs waxed for Childline. Promises to be a great night with loud screams. DJ Ron Rosco to provide the music.

Quote Originally Posted by Cloggs View Post
    no excuses this week then??!

There is never an excuse for winning!!

After the Manulla game tomorrow night, we would like to welcome Bourkey back to his spiritual home on Saturday evening, where he will get a great reception from the United supporters and a chance to honour his great relationship with the club that is very true to his heart.

Page 67 of 91 FirstFirst ... 1757656667686977 ... LastLast