Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

Thread: League Cup 2008 games

2,771 Posts
    delighted for Derry. Well done lads.

getting serious now, thanks to the Derry fans for providing the radio commentary.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by Burny89 View Post
    Ofcourse your not bothered about it
    Actually we're not. Fenlon said it himself after the Finn Harps match. We have 3 league fixtures already postponed because we're in Europe. Drogheda will be using Dalymount for one or two European midweek games so we cant play them then so we're gonna have a hell of a backlog.

Win win situation - we're out of that minnow competition and can focus on the bigger fish we have to fry, and yous take a step towards winning your favourite competition in the world.

Quote Originally Posted by NavanBohs View Post
    we're out of that minnow competition.
    I seem to remember youse making a bit of a deal over it last year

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    Glen Crowe is fat and ****e. And Pat Fenlon was ripped into.
    I'm sure their league and FAI Cup medals are a comfort to them.
    Enjoy your run of Tuesday night football in the Brandywell cause that's the best you can hope for his season.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants View Post
    I seem to remember youse making a bit of a deal over it last year
    if you happen to get to a final cos no one is good enough to beat you along the way, you might as well want to win it. But Derry won it and that was nice to see.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gypsy1890 View Post
    I'm sure their league and FAI Cup medals are a comfort to them.
    Enjoy your run of Tuesday night football in the Brandywell cause that's the best you can hope for his season.
    Just you keep telling yourself thatDont get too cosy up there, i'm sure Fenlon knows that himself from past times

Are the semis played over 2 legs?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Footsoldier View Post
    Are the semis played over 2 legs?
    No.

Ah ****! Really wanted an away trip. Might have to play at home now. Life's so not fair!!!!!!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by NavanBohs View Post
    Actually we're not. Fenlon said it himself after the Finn Harps match. We have 3 league fixtures already postponed because we're in Europe. Drogheda will be using Dalymount for one or two European midweek games so we cant play them then so we're gonna have a hell of a backlog.

Win win situation - we're out of that minnow competition and can focus on the bigger fish we have to fry, and yous take a step towards winning your favourite competition in the world.
    God listen to the bohs excuses, 2 years ago we won both cup competitons, lost the league on the final day of the season played 6 matches in europe and we didnt complain. The league doesnt revolve around bohs and fenlon. your squad is bigger than ours was then so get a grip, and listen to skstu who has taken defeat like a man.

33 Posts
    Very disappointed.......Wexfords Youths played in their black home jerseys.

Still, well done, good luck in the next round.
    " I'll go right up to here,
    it can't possibly hurt.
    All they will find is my
    beer and my shirt."

two quick questions,

when is the draw for the semis? and, when are the matches pencilled in for?

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Terry View Post
    when are the matches pencilled in for?
    First Monday/Tuesday in August.

well done derry- bohs cant be choosy about what silverware they win - surely their fans know this by now.

57 Posts
    to be fair the only silverware Sligo have any chance of seeing in the next 20 years is the cutlery laid out for the Sunday lunch
    Kom Igen, FCK...

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants View Post
    Beamer for steve

Derry now 2 up, Sammon.
    I'm delighted my tempting of fate worked......

I'm also loving the 'sure we don't care' bullsh!t coming from Bohs fans. Surprising that that sort of attitude was absent last year....

Also - anyone who thinks Fenlon wouldn't be snapping to win a cup quarter-final against Derry is living in a dream. He still has a point to prove up there.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HarpoJoyce View Post
    Very disappointed.......Wexfords Youths played in their black home jerseys.

Still, well done, good luck in the next round.
    Thought that too! Reckon we should have played in our away jerseys just to see a bit of pink.

Game was OK for a League Cup tie. Two horrendous mistakes (one from Billy, one from Evan or Shorty, not sure which) gave Youths a 2-0 lead against our reserve team (can't see any of the starting against Drogheda on Friday, with the possible exception of Timmy, and maybe Shorty if McFaul's international clearance doesn't come through) before we woke up and dominated the remaining half hour. Our keeper missed a penalty, Evan scored a bullet header, we had a few scambles off the line, but overall, well done to Wexford - they held on and went through. I think their fans were a little bit too excited at the final whistle (and on here), but what can you do.

Oh, and that person on PA was coolness personified; the best performance of the night.

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Réiteoir View Post
    to be fair the only silverware Sligo have any chance of seeing in the next 20 years is the cutlery laid out for the Sunday lunch
    And not even then as they use plastic cutlery (and yes, I know, United fans aren't exactly in a position to sneer at other clubs regarding finances, but that was too good an opportunity to miss)
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

24 Posts
    Thought that too! Reckon we should have played in our away jerseys just to see a bit of pink.

I think their fans were a little bit too excited at the final whistle (and on here), but what can you do.
    Some of us wore the pink jerseies just for ye

As for the over excited fans yes we where second year in league and into a cup semi final. know it second cup but it still a cup semi and only first division side left in competition. also league form not been very good lately (understatement I know) so to see a win is great.

Never been to UCD before and once found the pitch it was nice ground. Expect for no shop could not even get a bottle of water and the steward who asked us to sit down as we were blocking the view of the wall.

What was official attendance last night reckon Wexford had about 75-85 fans there.
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

24 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Footsoldier View Post
    Ah ****! Really wanted an away trip. Might have to play at home now. Life's so not fair!!!!!!!!!!

We have four away games on the trot would not mind a home game
    And Miles To Go Before We Sleep

Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast