Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick: European Capital of Murder 2008

Limerick: European Capital of Murder 2008

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/?...yeyql&rss=rss2

According to the latest CSO data, Limerick has a ratio of more than seven homicides per 100,000 population.

Glasgow in Scotland, which previously had the highest homicide rate in Western Europe, recorded just over 5 killings per 100,000 people.

Firearms are a major problem here, with gardaí seizing over 500 guns a year - that is 10 times more than they recovered from republicans during the Troubles.
    What can be done? This is not exactly an association Ireland wants. If it really is just a few families 'feuding', could the other people not exact some kind of pressure? No-one wants people to have to take the law into their own hands but there are surely ways of forcing people out which dont involve midnight knee-cappings.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

230 Posts
    Call this guy.
    Did you ever notice that in every painting of Adam & Eve, they have belly buttons. Think about that...take as long as you want.

Allthough Limerick is a dump infested with scumbags the results there are a bit off putting 7 deaths to every 100,000 people there is about 100,000 people in limerick so thats a total of 7 deaths id say there is at least a million in Glasgow prob more so that means there was at least 50 deaths there.

Im not overly worried about the "gang war" id prefere if something was done, anything!!! at all about the amount of dirt balls in the city it seems that we have an extra large % of them in the city.

Still it could be worse it could be like Dublin christ i feel sorry for people living there.
    Last edited by anto1208; 21/04/2008 at 8:49 AM.

I doubt this makes the news outside Ireland.

I am surprised the Gardai are unable to find a solution as I presume this restricted to a relatively small number of criminals. Do the local communities support these people?

Quote Originally Posted by strangeirish View Post
    Call this guy.
    I prefer this guys approach
    LTID

Quote Originally Posted by anto1208 View Post
    Allthough Limerick is a dump infested with scumbags the results there are a bit off putting 7 deaths to every 100,000 people there is about 100,000 people in limerick so thats a total of 7 deaths id say there is at least a million in Glasgow prob more so that means there was at least 50 deaths there.

Im not overly worried about the "gang war" id prefere if something was done, anything!!! at all about the amount of dirt balls in the city it seems that we have an extra large % of them in the city.

Still it could be worse it could be like Dublin christ i feel sorry for people living there.
    both cities are fine, i am from limerick and i find the city grand, never feel unsafe on a night out or anything really and the same goes for Dublin

obviously if you go into the wrong part of town its a different story but every city in the world is like that

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post

What can be done? This is not exactly an association Ireland wants. If it really is just a few families 'feuding', could the other people not exact some kind of pressure? No-one wants people to have to take the law into their own hands but there are surely ways of forcing people out which dont involve midnight knee-cappings.

And Dublin is much better?
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post

Your thread title is wrong for a start as this refers to Western Europe where that starts and ends who knows. Limerick definitely has a problem but Bogata it aint.
    Who are the people doing the "branding", here as the article says. Were the S independent just keeping an eye on these figures and when the two latest murders happened in Limerick they had the headline that they wanted. I wouldnt be surprised with that rag.
    Last edited by Ceirtlis; 21/04/2008 at 8:49 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by L37Ultra View Post
    And Dublin is much better?
    No Dublin is not much better when it comes to Gangland murders. and that's the thing these Murders are basically professional hits carried out it has to be said "expertly" so I don't think that normal law abiding people have that much to fear from these scumbags picking each other off. I can only think of one case where they shot an innocent bloke in "a case of mistaken Identity". I'm not in anyway defending these animals just pointing out that the way some people go on about the current wave of violent murders you'd think these fella's were walking around randomly shooting people. If you live by the Gun you'd better be prepared to die by it but if you're a decent human being who's not involved in organised crime you've very little to fear from these bathstuds

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    these Murders are basically professional hits carried out it has to be said "expertly" so I don't think that normal law abiding people have that much to fear from these scumbags picking each other off. I can only think of one case where they shot an innocent bloke in "a case of mistaken Identity". I'm not in anyway defending these animals just pointing out that the way some people go on about the current wave of violent murders you'd think these fella's were walking around randomly shooting people. If you live by the Gun you'd better be prepared to die by it but if you're a decent human being who's not involved in organised crime you've very little to fear from these bathstuds
    Wasn't there a guy murdered because he was doing a plumbing job in some gangland guy's house when someone came to kill him and didn't want to be recognised?

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Do the local communities support these people?
    Of course we do. Every one of us.

It has never impacted on my life. Not even once. I live alone in what used to be my grandmother's house. It's technically on the edge of one of the 'war zones'. It's the quietest place I've ever lived. Some scumbags sporadically kill each other. It's not ideal or something to be proud of but it has as much affect on everyday life in Limerick as the fued related stabbing in Galway at the weekend that the media all but ignored.

Quote Originally Posted by Ceirtlis View Post
    Limerick definitely has a problem but Bogata it aint.
    New slogan for tourism campaign?

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    It has never impacted on my life. Not even once.
    Not sure if this makes it right. Surely half the problem is that ganglands only affecting a minority of people so is under the radar?

Quote Originally Posted by Block G Raptor View Post
    No Dublin is not much better when it comes to Gangland murders. and that's the thing these Murders are basically professional hits carried out it has to be said "expertly" so I don't think that normal law abiding people have that much to fear from these scumbags picking each other off. I can only think of one case where they shot an innocent bloke in "a case of mistaken Identity". I'm not in anyway defending these animals just pointing out that the way some people go on about the current wave of violent murders you'd think these fella's were walking around randomly shooting people. If you live by the Gun you'd better be prepared to die by it but if you're a decent human being who's not involved in organised crime you've very little to fear from these bathstuds
    What about the bouncer in limerick they murdered or the 16 year old plumber in dublin the girl that was shot when some scumbag opened fire on there house. Never mind the families that live near them that are threathened the reported 15 plus rapes committed by one family in southhill. The barman shot in limerick because he wouldnt serve the 14 year old sister of one of these guys.the elderly publican kicked to death by two members of one family while robbing him.

Do you think these guys sit at home not breaking any laws not hurting or robbing anyone then they go out shoot each other and off home for some tea again after !

To say its only them killing each other let them off isnt quite true. And to say they get experts to carry out these murders is also far from true the 2 deaths in Limerick last week one was carried out by an 18 year old hardly an expert since he himself wound up in garda custody and his buddy in a shallow grave that night shot by his own gang because they thought he might talk to the cops. Thats what your dealing with.

Now there is a good chance you wont get shot by these guys but you will prob get robbed by some herion addict that needs money to pay his deaths to them as happened when my house was broken into.

The problem is the families are so big, one family never mentioned on the TV radio and prob the worst have 40 member living in 5 house and caravans outside the house next to each other. Now unless you take everyone of them off the streets and everyone they know if you plan to go to court to give evidence against them your in trouble.

Both cities are being ruined by a lot of scum i wish people would stop saying its only a small few its only in certain parts etc etc . both cities are infested with filthballs untill thats addressed neither will have a good name.

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    Not sure if this makes it right. Surely half the problem is that ganglands only affecting a minority of people so is under the radar?
    It doesn't as it's presented no. But to be frank it almost always only affects those involved. Obviously it should be stopped and I'm not bristling at that suggestion, just the one that suggests that there are 80,000 people in Limerick cowering in terror under rocks and behind closed doors. I know you weren't making that argument either but people need to put the 'widespread violence' in perspective a little. As the Bohs fan pointed out people are not being randomly accosted, robbed, raped, pillaged and murdered to any widespread extent and there's a definite media angle that makes an utterly incorrect presentation on life in Limerick in particular.

I keep getting called an extremist for pushing my plan of us regular citizens turning our backs to army squads carrying out our very own night of the long knives with these gangs. Seriously though legalised murder is the answer

you will prob get robbed by some herion addict that needs money to pay his deaths to them as happened when my house was broken into.

both cities are infested with filthballs
    I'll probably get robbed? Infested? Crass, sensationalist nonsense my man.

PS) Jebus is right in terms of a solution.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    Wasn't there a guy murdered because he was doing a plumbing job in some gangland guy's house when someone came to kill him and didn't want to be recognised?
    Those cases, while obviously unfortunate, appear to be in a large minority, which was BGR's point.

What about the bouncer in limerick they murdered or the 16 year old plumber in dublin the girl that was shot when some scumbag opened fire on there house. Never mind the families that live near them that are threathened the reported 15 plus rapes committed by one family in southhill. The barman shot in limerick because he wouldnt serve the 14 year old sister of one of these guys.the elderly publican kicked to death by two members of one family while robbing him.

Do you think these guys sit at home not breaking any laws not hurting or robbing anyone then they go out shoot each other and off home for some tea again after !

To say its only them killing each other let them off isnt quite true. And to say they get experts to carry out these murders is also far from true the 2 deaths in Limerick last week one was carried out by an 18 year old hardly an expert since he himself wound up in garda custody and his buddy in a shallow grave that night shot by his own gang because they thought he might talk to the cops. Thats what your dealing with.

Now there is a good chance you wont get shot by these guys but you will prob get robbed by some herion addict that needs money to pay his deaths to them as happened when my house was broken into.

The problem is the families are so big, one family never mentioned on the TV radio and prob the worst have 40 member living in 5 house and caravans outside the house next to each other. Now unless you take everyone of them off the streets and everyone they know if you plan to go to court to give evidence against them your in trouble.

Both cities are being ruined by a lot of scum i wish people would stop saying its only a small few its only in certain parts etc etc . both cities are infested with filthballs untill thats addressed neither will have a good name.
    I agree with what you're saying in most of that post. I didn't say that these murders were being carried out by experts just that the are done in a professional manner ie in most cases they approach their target and do the job from close range as opposed to just firing indiscriminately from distance in the general direction of the target.

On the question of the Plumber who was killed as he was witness to the intended targets murder. I had forgotten about that but I think my point is still valid that if you are not involved with these thugs or their activities then there is very little chance of being killed accidentally by them.
    as for the Publican and bouncers that were killed these are a separate issue to what I was commenting on as their murders were not "Gangland" killings as such

Also I wasn't saying "Ah sure let them kill each other and let them off" what I was trying to get across was more if you have no dealings with these people(I use the term Lightly) then you have little to fear from them.

Is membership of a gang a criminal offense in Ireland similar to membership of the Provos? If we used such a law could intern the gangs which I see as completely different to the north.

I think the problem with Limerick is that so many murders in such a small area which in Dublin terms would be a small suburb.

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid View Post
    I'll probably get robbed? Infested? Crass, sensationalist nonsense my man.

PS) Jebus is right in terms of a solution.
    I did get robbed by a herion addict so thats hardly nonsense

How many times in Rathbane did we have dirtballs throwing rocks over the wall. Last week i had my own game cancelled because dirt balls where throwing rocks at the players. You cant have anything in the city that isnt a filthball magnet the kick the ball through the hole thing on thomas street on friday for the club was swarming with little dirt balls.

Now i find it hard to believe you have lived in Limerick for what 30+ years and have never been the victim of crime? Or have failed to notice the scoabs around the city.

Ive had 1 mate beaten to death with a car jack
    1 aquantence shot dead for doing his job
    my house broken into once parents 4 times
    ive been held up working in an offy once and got stuff robbed & took a few digs on countless times.
    ive been attacked once in the street after aclub and once inside a club.
    to name but a hand full

I wasn't saying that if you visit Limerick you will get definetly get robbed/shot/stabbed. My point was to BGR that even if you have nothing to do with these guys and that they dont shoot you the knock on effect they have on the community prob will at some stage touch you. Ie some heroin addict that needs money to pay his bill with these gangs goes out and robs a house.

When people say its no worse than dublin etc i dont really care what happens in dublin i dont live there i dont think its acceptable for any of these scumbags to be doing this just because its going on in dublin.

But ill agree on Jebus's solution. I just wouldnt stop at the small few fueding families .
    Last edited by anto1208; 22/04/2008 at 5:02 PM.

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast