Thread: 88 v England or 94 v Italy

England '88.

I was almost 9 years old and I was lucky enough to be there with my Dad and 2 of my brothers. I realise how extremely lucky I was to be at that game at such a young age. The unreal experience undoubtedly shaped a large part of the rest of my life and personally it can never be beaten.....even if we actually ever managed to win the Euros/World Cup. Sounds crazy, but I honestly believe the impact that England game had on me as a kid could never be eclipsed.

England '88

I was 13 for the '88 finals and was fanatical about the team having avidly followed the qualifying campaign and attended all of the qualifying games with my Da for the first time and dared to dream we just might qualify.

All of this culminated in our first finals game, against the auld enemy and noone gave us an earthly.

The anticipation and tension before the game was unbearable. Don Givens and John Giles (with black hair!!!) were on the RTE panel. Some footage of Mick Byrne roaring to the supporters "We'll do dem for yis today!!!" and a roar back from the crowd.

The sheer elation of Houghton's goal - even on the players faces - I will never forget. Time appeared to stand still for a few seconds as the ball hit the net.

We rode our luck on occasion - that's undeniable - but we had a few opportunities to score again, during the seige, that our often overlooked - after some great link up play in the middle, Houghton was put through late in the first half but fluffed the square ball out for a corner and Whelan hit the bar with a volley in the 2nd half.

Finally, the nail biting, tortuous wait for the ref's whistle for time up and the release when the victory was sealed.

To celebrate, all of the kids in the area ran through the estate with a tricolour bursting with pride until we reached the green. We played our own match then with various re-enactions of the winning goal we had just witnessed.

Off in the distance we could see older lads with Flagons on top of the Ballymun flats - leaping around like lunatics.

There was a T-shirt doing the rounds with a Team Group photo taken just before kick -off - "On the 12th June 1988 - These men made history" - and I don't think that's a major overstatement.

One of the happiest days of my life.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

57 Posts
    We were totally written off for Euro88. It was also an adventure and the first major finals.

By USA94 we were ranked 6th in the world and frankly losing to Holland was a disappointment and a bit of a shock. OK the Italy team we beat was well ahead of England from 1988 but expectations were a lot higher. We had lost 1 competitive game in 4 years when we beat Italy so it was hardly a major shock.

Stuttgart will always be that little bit extra special as Jimmy Hill et al ate ther words.

Folks.. I think we have the rose tinted on.. 94 was a great day... a great preformance but looking at the team is was on the way out... The rest of the World Cup Ireland were very poor. We had one game in us and it was a great one... but v Norway and Holland well lets just say we were not great. I would argue that we played better in Japan/Koera

In 88 in a real tough comp we were 8 mins from the semi... the 88 Euros saw us win a game we should have lost draw a game we should have won and lose a game we should have drawn .

Sheedy in centre midfield for McGrath v Russia was one of the best performances in a green jersey

The homecoming was geniune.. the players were brillant... I still have the image off Jack putting his arm around Ronnie Whelan and Ronnie shaking his head... and the relief on rinus michaels the founder of Total Football at the end of that game

Having lived thro all the glory years.. I was 18 in 88.... I still think there is something magical about Robbie Keanes goal v Germany....

I was only 5 when Euro 88 came around so cant really remember it.

But from reading the posts here of people old enough to remember it there is some great stories in here.

This for me is one of the best threads on foot.ie I wish more were like this.

Hopefully something will come up in our lifetime that will surpass this.

Maybe beating England in a World Cup Final would be nice. )

186 Posts
    if i had to pick the best goal: vs England Euro 88 (too young to really remember it but i still get the shiver when I see it)
    I would pick the Italy match for performance, Paul Mc Grath just unbeeeelivable
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

60 Posts
    For a neutral who knows nothing about history, etc, the Italy game would win this poll easily. Great performance, a strong command on the game, and good football; a cracking goal, one of our better organised line-ups, some quality players.

However, football is all about history...

That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

131 Posts
    Easy one this. England of course.

I remember how funny it was when the pundits on bbc had written us off as no hopers before a ball had even been kicked as a highly fancied England (at least highly fancied within their own media) were second favourites to win the competition while we as first time qualifiers were rank outsiders at 25/1 (there were only 8 teams in it then).

Even at half time they still didn't give us much of a hope. Flicking back over to BBC at full time and looking at their faces is a memory that shall forever stay with me.

Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Easy one this. England of course.

I remember how funny it was when the pundits on bbc had written us off as no hopers before a ball had even been kicked as a highly fancied England (at least highly fancied within their own media) were second favourites to win the competition while we as first time qualifiers were rank outsiders at 25/1 (there were only 8 teams in it then).

Even at half time they still didn't give us much of a hope. Flicking back over to BBC at full time and looking at their faces is a memory that shall forever stay with me.
    What price would they have been too win the game around 5/1?

Quote Originally Posted by Shedender81 View Post
    In 88 in a real tough comp we were 8 mins from the semi...
    Funny that. Was doing some sorting out at the weekend and found the letter that the FAI were handing out before the Holland game telling us where to go to get tickets for the semis if the result went our way! Yes, hard to believe now but we were that close.
    Together with all our hearts.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian View Post
    ...This for me is one of the best threads on foot.ie I wish more were like this...
    You don't want to listen to us old dogs' stories, do you?
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

I've a distant memory (almost 20 years ago) of Brian Clough being on the BBC panel and making some rather disparaging remarks about the Irish team at half time.

Liam Brady was providing an "outside broadcast" interview from Germany and brought Clough to task for his comments live on air.

Bob Wilson wrapped it up by curtly stating "Enjoy the second half, Liam".

Brady's reply - "Don't worry - I will."
    Quoting years at random since 1975

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Hibernian View Post
    What price would they have been too win the game around 5/1?
    I wouldn't remember but my guess is more. I think England were 7/2 second favourites to win the tournament after Germany who were 5/2.

Nobody gave Ireland a hope except from my recollections Johann Cryuff who was at that time manager of Barcelona. When asked for his opinions on the tournament he correctly singled us out as having good players and stated that we would surprise a few of the big teams.

130 Posts
    I wouldn't remember but my guess is more. I think England were 7/2 second favourites to win the tournament after Germany who were 5/2.

Nobody gave Ireland a hope except from my recollections Johann Cryuff who was at that time manager of Barcelona. When asked for his opinions on the tournament he correctly singled us out as having good players and stated that we would surprise a few of the big teams.
    Think we were 8's beforehand with the English bookies.

England wins for me as it was our first game in a major championships, the old enemy etc as everyon else has been saying. However, I wasn't there for that having just completed first year of college and being flat broke! And me Da went off with my uncle and their mates to it and wouldn't take me, the swines!! The fact that I was in Giants stadium makes it special although Robbie's equaliser agaiunst Germany in Japan has to be the greatest moment, never lost it like that at a game in my life!

57 Posts
    I would also put Genoa 90 as runner up to Stuttgart. OK it was an awful game and Romania were no Italy (albeit a decent side) but it put us in the quarter finals of the world cup. The tension was incredible and the scenes after THAT penalty were unbelievable. It was also 6 days before the suits and rugby jerseys appeared at our away games.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Got to be Euro 88. If someone had have told me in 84/85 that in 1988 we would be beating England 1-0 at the European championships in the opening game I would have had them committed. I loved the Italy game as well but for me Euro 88 had everything.
    If somone had told me in late October 87 that we would even have qualified I would have had them committed, having now atended probably over 200 Irish games this still has to be the no 1, only to be surpassed by winning a World Cup. (And yes i'm an ol fogey)
    Fair Play died Nov 18th 2009, Stade Francais.

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    I've a distant memory (almost 20 years ago) of Brian Clough being on the BBC panel and making some rather disparaging remarks about the Irish team at half time.

Liam Brady was providing an "outside broadcast" interview from Germany and brought Clough to task for his comments live on air.

Bob Wilson wrapped it up by curtly stating "Enjoy the second half, Liam".

Brady's reply - "Don't worry - I will."
    remember that well...Cloughie and there panel slated our centre Halves..brady came back and said he knew wiht pairing he would prefer to have

I remember the BBC showing the teams arriving in the stadium before the game...there were thousands of irish there to gree them....Mick byrne looked up at the fans and shouted "we'll do em for yez today Lads" fans went mental....great moment caught by the bbc and they hadn't a clue what he said.
    Bring back the plank

Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    I would also put Genoa 90 as runner up to Stuttgart. OK it was an awful game and Romania were no Italy (albeit a decent side) but it put us in the quarter finals of the world cup. The tension was incredible and the scenes after THAT penalty were unbelievable. It was also 6 days before the suits and rugby jerseys appeared at our away games.
    Fully agree ... I don't actually remember too much about the 120 minutes of football in that game (I watched it all on my Gran's black and white TV!) I just remember going wild when Bonner saved and then again when O'Leary scored. It was quite poignant listening to O'Leary commentate during the game against Spain in the 2002 World Cup - just before the penalties started he very briefly said something along the lines of I've lived off that moment for years now - its someone else's turn now. It was a truly magical moment and probably comes a close runner-up to Stuttgart. And the boys of 2002 made sure O'Leary will continue to live off that penalty for a good few years yet!!

Definitely England for me!

I remember Alan Parry (now of Sky Sports) visited the Irish camp before the England game to report for ITV. On the voiceover he referred to the the Irish team as "misfits" and generally patronised them to within an inch of their lives. The tone of the report really, really annoyed me. That made the victory even sweeter!!
    Last edited by Sunny Jim; 07/05/2008 at 11:24 AM.

Far and away England... to beat "them" in our first Major Tournament outing... unbelieveable!
    "A silent mouth is sweet to hear"