Page 12 of 50 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Premier League 2008

646 Posts
    Agreed, standard from top of Division 1 to bottom of Super League is very similiar, anyone can win on any day. Teams can get stuck in the premier league for years, never making serious promotion challenges or getting into relegation difficulty. Snugboro were lucky to only spend one season in there. Although I enjoyed playing in the Premier League, it was a tough game every week. Thats all you need in Junior football.

Quote Originally Posted by joe_denilson View Post
    Agreed, standard from top of Division 1 to bottom of Super League is very similiar, anyone can win on any day. Teams can get stuck in the premier league for years, never making serious promotion challenges or getting into relegation difficulty. Snugboro were lucky to only spend one season in there. Although I enjoyed playing in the Premier League, it was a tough game every week. Thats all you need in Junior football.
    I agree Joe.
    Don't know how long you are with Snugboro, but its hard to believe its not very many years since we played ye in a Mayo Cup semi final in our then "home" pitch - Balla. The prize being a place in the final against Westport United!! I'm nearly sure we were both division 1 that year?? could be corrected. We lost on penos.
    Anyway, my point is, whilst the standard is very similar between top of div one and bottom of super league. There is a very fine, yet very difficult line to be crossed in order to establish yourself as a "Super League Club."
    Tough matches every week will without doubt, prepare a team for a battle. Essentially though, it is a robust club set-up with proper facilities and one eye on the future that will reap the rewards.
    I've said it before, but Snugboro FC are working hard both on and off the field and the fact that they are sitting pretty on the top of the super leagus is testiment to all that work.
    Can we justifiably claim that the standard of football is improving in the P.L.?
    I'm not sure that we can.
    This years P.L has 10 teams that, on any given day, will produce some good football, great games and quality entertainment. Any of which are capable of winning promotion.
    The real challenge however, is not just promotion, it is in establishing yourself as a "Super League Club" and successfully creating a Super League mentality & culture within the club.
    In recent years, apart from Snugboro, I cannot think of any club who has achieved this.

Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post
    I agree Joe.
    Don't know how long you are with Snugboro, but its hard to believe its not very many years since we played ye in a Mayo Cup semi final in our then "home" pitch - Balla. The prize being a place in the final against Westport United!! I'm nearly sure we were both division 1 that year?? could be corrected. We lost on penos.
    Anyway, my point is, whilst the standard is very similar between top of div one and bottom of super league. There is a very fine, yet very difficult line to be crossed in order to establish yourself as a "Super League Club."
    Tough matches every week will without doubt, prepare a team for a battle. Essentially though, it is a robust club set-up with proper facilities and one eye on the future that will reap the rewards.
    I've said it before, but Snugboro FC are working hard both on and off the field and the fact that they are sitting pretty on the top of the super leagus is testiment to all that work.
    Can we justifiably claim that the standard of football is improving in the P.L.?
    I'm not sure that we can.
    This years P.L has 10 teams that, on any given day, will produce some good football, great games and quality entertainment. Any of which are capable of winning promotion.
    The real challenge however, is not just promotion, it is in establishing yourself as a "Super League Club" and successfully creating a Super League mentality & culture within the club.
    In recent years, apart from Snugboro, I cannot think of any club who has achieved this.
    I agree with you there Snugboro have come on leaps and bounds in both play and facilities in recent years its great to see fair play to Johan and all involved.We used to have great battles in Division 1 hopefully we can get up and get another rattle at them . I know our manager at the moment ( ex captain Sean Kavanagh ) would love to renew his " Friendship " with Johan.. Keep up the good work Snugboro.

Quote Originally Posted by Bandit View Post
    Well guys just got registered there now,looking forward to getting into this whole forum thing..I am a Swinford fan by the way looking forward to the kilmore game on sunday should be a good one.
    Not a great start by our lads so far, new manager in so will take a while to knit in.They are getting better every week so beware Kilmore..

Welcome Bandit! Looking forward to the game on Sunday!

Crossmolina v Manulla B - Home
    Fahy Rovers v S & F - Home
    Glenhest v Celtic B - Home
    Swinford v Kilmore - Away
    Urlar v Westport B - Draw

To what everyone is saying I agree. There really isn't much of a gap between those at the top and the bottom of the table. This is promising to be a really tight season! There are alot of well established teams and all I can say is that it is really going to be an interesting season! Bring it on!!!

S&F beat fahy 5-2 today, i went to watch this game today to see how good fahy really were, and to be honest they were very very poor to say the least. S&F were a by far a better team and will take beating. football wise fahy were no where near them or fitness wise. S&F were with out both paul fitzpatrick and alan mc donnell. so they can only get stronger.

any other results lads?

We (Swinford) beat kilmore 2-0 today,the boys played really well and could have had a few more. Kilmore are a nice footballing team and will easily hold their own this year..

celtic won 7.1 away in glenhest.celtic were good but hest have real problems.they was infighting before and during the game, there a club in real trouble based on todays evidence.young rowland is a decent player and needs to get himself out of there and join a club that can coach him and let the lad play at a standard that merits his talent. unfortunately for him family reasons may prevent that which would be a shame for the lad he deserves better than his club showed today. celtics campaign is up and running!!

Quote Originally Posted by Bandit View Post
    We (Swinford) beat kilmore 2-0 today,the boys played really well and could have had a few more. Kilmore are a nice footballing team and will easily hold their own this year..
    Well done Bandit!! Ye have a good team there! We were simply missing too many of our first team, all for good reasons!!! So beware when we meet again. Nice to see another team who can have a laugh (I hate to see infighting in a team)and it's clear to see you are gelling well with your new manager! Good luck with the rest of the season!

Quote Originally Posted by theboy View Post
    S&F beat fahy 5-2 today, i went to watch this game today to see how good fahy really were, and to be honest they were very very poor to say the least. S&F were a by far a better team and will take beating. football wise fahy were no where near them or fitness wise. S&F were with out both paul fitzpatrick and alan mc donnell. so they can only get stronger.

any other results lads?
    The results can be found on aertel network 2 page 440.(Also online on the same)

I was quite suprised with that result. I thought Fahy wiuld be the team to beat this season!!! But by the sounds of that it's S&F.

Quote Originally Posted by ExCiTeD View Post
    celtic won 7.1 away in glenhest.celtic were good but hest have real problems.they was infighting before and during the game, there a club in real trouble based on todays evidence.young rowland is a decent player and needs to get himself out of there and join a club that can coach him and let the lad play at a standard that merits his talent. unfortunately for him family reasons may prevent that which would be a shame for the lad he deserves better than his club showed today. celtics campaign is up and running!!
    Great win that, that will be a sore one down in Glehest
    Any idea who did the scoring?

Quote Originally Posted by ExCiTeD View Post
    What position does rowland play?
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

Results

Crossmolina 0-2 Manulla B
    Fahy 2- 5 S&F
    Glenhest 1 - 7 Celtic B
    Swinford 2 - 0 Kilmore
    Urlaur 3-2 Westport B

League Table

Team Pts

S&F 12
    Fahy 7
    Crossmolina 7
    Manulla B 7
    Glenhest 4
    Swinford 4
    Celtic B 3
    Urlaur 3
    Westport B 1

whats the story with the champions westport, sitting at the bottom of the table ??

Bad day at the office

any other results lads?
    S & F were by far the better team on the day, that was plain to see. But I wouldn't base your opinion of Fahy on this display. Fahy were without 4 or 5 influential first 11 players. Also about 6 of the first 11 which started were at a stag the night before. Dont get me wrong I am not saying that Fahy could have beaten S & F on another day (I think there is a certainty of S & F going up as champions this year) but it was a case of bad timing for a big game in Fahys defence.

Still in 2nd place and im sure Fahy will learn from the game...

Team Pts

S&F 12
    Fahy 7
    Crossmolina 7
    Manulla B 7
    Glenhest 4
    Swinford 4
    Celtic B 3
    Urlaur 3
    Westport B 1

Have you forgotten about us?

There ya go

Quote Originally Posted by Kilmore Fan View Post
    Have you forgotten about us?
    S&F 12
    Fahy 7
    Crossmolina 7
    Manulla B 7
    Glenhest 4
    Swinford 4
    Celtic B 3
    KILMORE 3
    Urlaur 3
    Westport B 1

Quote Originally Posted by Leveller View Post
    What position does rowland play?
    He plays left midfield i think,he was their best outfield player by a mile if its the same lad,serious potential alright.We only drew one all with them but their keeper was unreal in the second half saved at least three certain goals..

Page 12 of 50 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast