Page 13 of 50 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Premier League 2008

Quote Originally Posted by Bandit View Post
    He plays left midfield i think,he was their best outfield player by a mile if its the same lad,serious potential alright.We only drew one all with them but their keeper was unreal in the second half saved at least three certain goals..
    Their keeper is class, we played them last season away and he made a name for himself.
    Dont always say what you know, but always know what you say.

Quote Originally Posted by GoodFootball View Post
    S & F were by far the better team on the day, that was plain to see. But I wouldn't base your opinion of Fahy on this display. Fahy were without 4 or 5 influential first 11 players. Also about 6 of the first 11 which started were at a stag the night before. Dont get me wrong I am not saying that Fahy could have beaten S & F on another day (I think there is a certainty of S & F going up as champions this year) but it was a case of bad timing for a big game in Fahys defence.

Still in 2nd place and im sure Fahy will learn from the game...
    cheers gf, yea ya got it rite there we were poor all over the pitch the last day, but it is true we were missin a good few, incl keeper and a few sick heads from the stag, as you say wel put it down to a bad day at the office and try move on, still in second and hopefully that will be a once off.

Anyone know official rules on suspensions?

For straight red how much games do you get? For 2 yellows how much do you get etc?

Is there an appeal process for dodgy decisions?

I probably just gave away my identity

anyone know if the k.o times in mayo news are correct for sat 6pm?

Youse look stronger this year alright. Have ye any of the gaelic lads from Kilmeena? Heard Davy Feehan has committed fully.

Stephen O Malley - Dessies brother?? He played a few years ago in the premier for ye at centre back?? What sort of shape he in now after England?

Sounds like ye're on the up... all the best
    You gave up your identity a long time ago GoodFootball. (See Above)

Not sure what the situation is regarding sendings off and suspensions.

Is it 3 games for straight red and 1 game for 2 yellows?

All rules here:

http://www.fifa.com/mm/document/affe...0708_10565.pdf
    Last edited by irishyop; 23/04/2008 at 1:53 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Norm View Post
    You gave up your identity a long time ago GoodFootball. (See Above)

Not sure what the situation is regarding sendings off and suspensions.
    HAHA it appears your the only one who copped it, i was expecting a bit of slagging but none at all

Good work Norm

3 matches is so harsh for that tackle

i know this has been mentioned before on this forum but the coverage this league gets in the papers is a joke. not a single game featured this week.surely as the second tier of the mayo league the clubs involved deserve better particularly the clubs whose first team are in this division ie.... fahy kilmore swinford etc.surely the papers could do a report on at least one game a week and spread the featured game between the clubs. god knows every gaa pre season back garden c**k fight gets covered in all the rags surely we're not askin for too much
    i may occasionally walk alone but i'll be in good company when i do

Predictions:

Celtic B V Swinford (HOME)
    Crossmolina V S & F (AWAY)
    Glenhest Rovers V Westport B (DRAW)
    Fahy Rovers V Kilmore (HOME)
    Urlaur United V Manulla B (AWAY)

Quote Originally Posted by ExCiTeD View Post
    i know this has been mentioned before on this forum but the coverage this league gets in the papers is a joke. not a single game featured this week.surely as the second tier of the mayo league the clubs involved deserve better particularly the clubs whose first team are in this division ie.... fahy kilmore swinford etc.surely the papers could do a report on at least one game a week and spread the featured game between the clubs. god knows every gaa pre season back garden c**k fight gets covered in all the rags surely we're not askin for too much
    Good point, but soccer will alwaysbe a second to GAA in Mayo in terms of media coverage and general support too. Its a pity but c'est la vie...

That the issue alright, its probably a 70/30 split as regards "public interest" and the papers split this further to an 80/20.

Personally I think it has got worse, there was better coverage of the games up until the last 2 years or so, what the reason is I dont obviously know but it is no incentive for any young players when they weigh up which code to play in order to see their "name in lights"

As regards Celtic B or C I cannot remember the last time a report was in the paper, maybe 2 years ago?
    In fairness to Fahy and Swinford they do regular submit a report of their matches to the papers, maybe that the problem that the only way to get in their is to get each club to do up a report and force it on the papers, then they cannot ignore us.

So Excited out of pure interest maybe for the game on Saturday, do a report, email it into the Connacht and see if that rattles their cage, it will prove whether they have any interest in publishing it. Worth a try anyway.

Celtic B V Swinford (HOME)
    Crossmolina V S & F (AWAY)
    Glenhest Rovers V Westport B (AWAY)
    Fahy Rovers V Kilmore (HOME)
    Urlaur United V Manulla B (HOME)

Quote Originally Posted by ExCiTeD View Post
    To be fair the papers will only print what information they get. The role of P.R.O. in any club should be taken seriously if the clubs want to be taken seriously. If you think about it, even a small 300 word update of activities about your club will be read by a few thousand readers all across the region. Websites are also becoming more popular but the problem I see with most of them is that after all the hype of the "offical launch" has died down they are rarely updated.(In my opinion,the worst culprit here is the Mayo League itself. The Schoolboys/girls League tried but likewise is totally out of date. Where on this super highway of information (internet) can anyone read about what is happening on the Mayo Leagues (bar foot.ie)????? The only website I see regular updates on is the Castlebar Celtic one. I'm sure this also contributes to their sucess on and off the field.
    Rant over..........!!

S & F were by far the better team on the day, that was plain to see. But I wouldn't base your opinion of Fahy on this display. Fahy were without 4 or 5 influential first 11 players. Also about 6 of the first 11 which started were at a stag the night before. Dont get me wrong I am not saying that Fahy could have beaten S & F on another day (I think there is a certainty of S & F going up as champions this year) but it was a case of bad timing for a big game in Fahys defence.

Still in 2nd place and im sure Fahy will learn from the game...

I find this hard to understand, you are playing probably the favourites for the title and half of the team goes on a stag the night before, where do their commitments lie? Last year a bad start cost the team promotion, i hope its not the same this year?

celtic b vs swinford (home)
    crossmolina vs s+f (away)
    glenhest vs westport(draw)
    fahy vs kilmore9(home)
    urlar vs manullab (away)

Lightbulb

Quote Originally Posted by No. 7 View Post
    I find this hard to understand, you are playing probably the favourites for the title and half of the team goes on a stag the night before, where do their commitments lie? Last year a bad start cost the team promotion, i hope its not the same this year?
    well i think its fairly simple, fahy done thier best to get the game changed, but it wasnt possible, it was one of their best mates stag and they chose to go and get drunk, i cant see a whole lot wrong with that, more to life than premier division mayo football, im not sayin its not important to these lads, but there not professional footballers

Exactly, its takes a bit more effort than that. Maybe the fahy players are quite happy to finish 2nd or 3rd and go up.

Their commiments lie, like most normal people, with their family & friends then football. If a stag, or a wedding, or any other occcasion is looking like it will effect the squad, normal practice is to try have the match called off or re-scheduled.
    Fahy tried this, but unfortunately it wasn't possible. Therefore, as r.rover stated, life goes on. The boys went on the sauce, turned up for the match, and got walloped.
    unfortunate timing, no regrets, great weekend.
    It's still a long season.

this is a snip'it of one of your post "it is in establishing yourself as a "Super League Club" and successfully creating a Super League mentality & culture within the club".

by the looks of things i dont think Fahy Rovers will make the step up to a super league club, with the players having attitude's like that, i can bet you that any super league players would make that sacrifice!! (could go on the beer on sunday after the game )

celtic b vs swinford (Away)
    crossmolina vs s+f (Draw)
    glenhest vs westport(Home)
    fahy vs kilmore9(Draw)
    urlar vs manullab (Home)

Page 13 of 50 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast