Page 18 of 30 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast

Thread: O'Neill gives his backing for a United Ireland team

Quote Originally Posted by Not Brazil View Post
    Imagine Northern Ireland fans wanting to engage in a discussion about a proposed demise of their team.

Amazing.
    Same old copy and paste drivel from OWC members over the life of this thread. Regardless of whether it concerns your team.
    I

Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
    131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by as_i_say View Post
    Same old copy and paste drivel from OWC members over the life of this thread. Regardless of whether it concerns your team.

Oh right.

Any chance of playing the ball, and not the men?
    The Englishmen came over in the year 2005
    But little did they know that we'd planned a wee surprise
    Sir David scored the winner, and Windsor Park went wild
    And this is what we sang...

Oh right.

Any chance of playing the ball, and not the men?
    Fair play to you Not Brazil - I'm surprised you haven't chastised Gather Around for calling me a liar

Who says I was singling out you? You're just one of them
    I

131 Posts
    Who says I was singling out you? You're just one of them

Aye, one of the enemy that you wish to be united with.

Its not my wish! Not unless our country is re-united anyway.

Further can opened, multicoloured worms everywhere.
    I

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    So answer me this then if you do feel equally Irish to British then why are you so against a united Ireland but fully commited remaining in Britain? If you truly felt 100% Irish then surely any reasonable person wouldn't be so hostile to the idea and might even consider it
    I'm quite content with the country I live in and identify with. I don't want part of it to transfer to another country.I considered the idea years ago, rejected it, and have seen no reason to reconsider it since. I no more want to be a citizen of the Irish Republic than of Germany (I've lived in both). What's the problem?

Quote Originally Posted by janeymac View Post
    I agree with your point about winning the world cup - but for a sport that is ment to be of the people for the people its surprising that you can't get a better attendance at international games
    I've explained repeatedly above why I don't think it's surprising. Clearly you disagree, but I'm confident I'm representative of NI fans on this one. BTW I also explained why Ulster rugby's crowds over the last decade make it unnecessary for them to have a much larger stadium.

I got the impression that the three organisations seemed to be very united in their approach towards the DUP politicians attempts to delay the Maze project
    As I've explained above, the IFA is unrepresentative of NI supporters who have rejected the maze site by huge majority. I expect DUP politicians to agree with us, partly as an understandable response to their constituents and public opinion, partly also due to their politicking with Sinn Fein on the museum to the struggle issue.

One of the reasons why we won't having a UI for a long time - the Republic just haven't got the resources to carry NI!
    Agreed you won't be having it for a long time- although therre is a more fundamental reason why not...

Calm down, and stop accusing me of lying. The €4 billion was a once-off gift from the republic as part of the St. Andrews Agreement. All this money is going into building roads, rail etc. (infrastructure). Example here - Derry City Airport - (€11m from Irish Gov. to upgrade)!
    I'm perfectly calm; you are deliberately making this up; it isn't mentioned in the agreement (source http://www.taoiseach.gov.ie/index.as...199&docID=2931), nor in the budget which I've already quoted. 0.25% of the sum originally quoted to improve Derry airport to benefit travellers to Donegal, Cavan and Monaghan is hardly massive gift to NI- rather it's a joint investment in mutually beneficial facilities, which would of course be much cheaper than building a new airport on your side of the border.

The 20,000 NI supporters will get their way - doesn't matter about the rest of their fellow countrymen (of NI)!
    That's right, the NI supporters- who clearly number considerably more than 20,000, as you personally seem to be arguing above- will get their way in not having their team abolished. No reasonable person could argue otherwise. Contrary to your implication, the rest of their countrymen aren't losing anything.

Amazing how members of the occupied 6 crawl from the woodwork and back onto the ireland board when this topic raises its head. Bugger off back to OWC where you can relive mexico 86 to your hearts content without boring the arse off everyone else
    Ah, the cartoon Provo halfwits are in. If it's so boring, Einstein, why don't YOU bugger off? No one's forcing you to read or write to it.

131 Posts
    I am a Dubliner
    A fine city youngirish.

I shall be visiting it tomorrow afternoon/evening, and enjoying the hospitality of some fantastic Dubliners (and folk from other parts of the Republic) before attending what I hope will be an excellent game of football.

With the strength of the Euro against sterling, I'm a bit worried about the price of refreshments tho.

News flash pal. This is an Irish forum for Irish fans.

Cartoon Provo halfwits?? Typical disgusting comment. I think you'll need to explain that one to me-I'm not the obsessive identity defender type like yourself. I have no need to be. I'm Irish.
    Last edited by as_i_say; 14/04/2008 at 1:19 PM.
    I

170 Posts
    News flash pal. This is an Irish forum for Irish fans.

Cartoon Provo halfwits?? Oh i think you'll need to explain that one-I'm not the obsessive identity defender type like yourself. I have no need to be. I'm Irish.
    Right back at ye, 'pal'. I'm an Irish fan; I'm responding to a thread on which many are suggesting an Irish team gets abolished. Quip about the 'occupied six' and you can expect 'cartoon Provo halfwit' in reply. It's also obsessive about your identity- and others'.

And spare us the false outrage. Yours, not disgusted, BT15.

386 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    I'm responding to a thread on which many are suggesting an Irish team gets abolished.
    I'd question your use of the word "many" as I think the number of posters in this thread against an United Ireland team easily outnumber those for. And it's two teams that would be "abolished" - if that's the appropriate word.

There also seems to be an assumption throughout this thread that it's only ROI fans that would be supportive of an United Ireland team. Is this really the case?

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    There also seems to be an assumption throughout this thread that it's only ROI fans that would be supportive of an United Ireland team. Is this really the case?
    Very few attendees of Northern Ireland games would be supportive of a, so called, United Ireland team IFK.

Similarly, very few would be supportive of a, so called, All United Kingdom team.

Do you feel that the majority of attendees at Republic Of Ireland matches would be in favour of a, so called, United Ireland team?

I can see why they might be against it - giving up their flag, anthem etc.

Very few attendees of Northern Ireland games would be supportive of a, so called, United Ireland team IFK.

Similarly, very few would be supportive of a, so called, All United Kingdom team.

Do you feel that the majority of attendees at Republic Of Ireland matches would be in favour of a, so called, United Ireland team?

I can see why they might be against it - giving up their flag, anthem etc.
    yes definitley, ive yet to hear any fans saying they wouldnt support it
    i dont see why we would be giving up our flag or anthem

170 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ifk101 View Post
    I'd question your use of the word "many" as I think the number of posters in this thread against an United Ireland team easily outnumber those for. And it's two teams that would be "abolished" - if that's the appropriate word.

OK, replace 'many' with 'some'. It would be reasonable to answer the argument even if only one person was making it.

Abolished is exactly what would happen to our team to necessitate it being replaced by another.

Anyone who wants it to be abolished, by definition isn't a NI fan.

Quote Originally Posted by CvilleRovers View Post
    yes definitley, ive yet to hear any fans saying they wouldnt support it
    Apart from the RoI fans on this thread, you mean?
    Last edited by Gather round; 14/04/2008 at 1:46 PM.

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CvilleRovers View Post
    i dont see why we would be giving up our flag or anthem
    Are you living in cloud cuckoo land?

131 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by jmurphyc View Post
    I'm not youngirish so what he thinks has nothing to do with what I think.
    Just to clarify. Not Brazil invented that bit about the Germans, Dutch and Danish.

Are you living in cloud cuckoo land?
    no in ireland pal, just like linfield

131 Posts
    Just to clarify. Not Brazil invented that bit about the Germans, Dutch and Danish.
    Now, now youngirish - it was you who said:

"No it's a song commemorating the victory of the international alliance under William of Orange over the Irish Catholics in the Battle of the Boyne in 1690.

I never understood why only the unionists up north sing such a song while the Dutch, Germans and Danish don't seem to bother singing it when I've been abroad in each of their respective countries considering it was those nations that did most of the fighting."

Quote Originally Posted by Gather round View Post
    Right back at ye, 'pal'. I'm an Irish fan; I'm responding to a thread on which many are suggesting an Irish team gets abolished. Quip about the 'occupied six' and you can expect 'cartoon Provo halfwit' in reply. It's also obsessive about your identity- and others'.

And spare us the false outrage. Yours, not disgusted, BT15.
    As said before, I'm not obsessed about my identity, I don't need to be. Did you not read my last post or something? And no I'm not outraged-your muck spouting trash means nothing to me.
    I

131 Posts
    Now, now youngirish - it was you who said:

"No it's a song commemorating the victory of the international alliance under William of Orange over the Irish Catholics in the Battle of the Boyne in 1690.

I never understood why only the unionists up north sing such a song while the Dutch, Germans and Danish don't seem to bother singing it when I've been abroad in each of their respective countries considering it was those nations that did most of the fighting."
    True my man but how did you get from that to 'the Orange on the ROI flag represents the Dutch, Germans and Danish'? Surely a giant and very illogical step to make.

Page 18 of 30 FirstFirst ... 8161718192028 ... LastLast