Page 109 of 205 FirstFirst ... 95999107108109110111119159 ... LastLast
Results 2,161 to 2,180 of 4091

Thread: Xpert Eleven-Foot.ie league [NEW TEAMS WELCOME]

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Season end date is the 27th so update will run early Friday morning (think it's 5am)

Big night tonight, need a point to be safe. Away to the Forest so chances are slim. Lofty's playing a weakened team, could go down to goal difference.

Looks like the Fags are going to get third place. I think the Sligs will win tonight though, but it's too late for them.

Landenstown Forest - UCD AFC 1 - 0 (1 - 0)
    Provisional SRFC - Cobh Ramblers F.C 3 - 1 (3 - 1)
    Sligo Starlets - Institute 1 - 2 (1 - 0)
    Loftys Lazy 11 - Burton Albion FC 0 - 2 (0 - 1)
    Flynny Alberts - Looprevil FC 6 - 0 (5 - 0)

Dman, ye stayed up by ONE goal!!!!

Happy with that win, had we been beat, Provos would have taken second on goal difference. Our highest finish yet.

Congrats to Bluebeard, well deserved champions!!. Congrats to ollie too on securing the final promotion spot in the 1st Div.

OK lads, before the transfer window opens, has anyone got ideas of who they're gonna flog?

I'll be considering offers for:

(Age given will be AFTER season update)

31yo, DEF, Sunnerborn, 8 skill, Form 5, Avg Form 13. Value 4.8m. I'm interested in offers starting at 3m

32yo, FWD, Lagercrantz, 7 skill, Form 0, Avg 12. Value 2.7m. Interested in offers starting at 1.5m

32yo, FWD, Ringrost, 6 skill, Form 6, Avg 11. Value 1.1m. Interested in offers starting at 0.5m

Sunnerborn isn't a definite though, have to see what impact (if any) the update has on him.

Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants View Post
    Dman, ye stayed up by ONE goal!!!!
    **** me, won't let that happen again!! Played a few youngsters when I thought I was safe, had to bring the big guns back out at the end but still couldn't win. Lost 6 out of the last 7. I think I should have a good change report- probably be aiming for top 3 next season.

OK lads, before the transfer window opens, has anyone got ideas of who they're gonna flog?
    I'll probably put Carlsson or Acaru for sale, don't think I'll let anyone on here buy them though. Probably let one of my young strikers go too- depends on the change report. Might sell Sorley Gavin too while I can get a decent fee for him.

32yo, FWD, Lagercrantz, 7 skill, Form 0, Avg 12. Value 2.7m. Interested in offers starting at 1.5m
    Mmm, is that his form now?

Routine win, Di Napooli should've had a hat-trick too. With the game over at half time, looked on the text that Institute were losing....right until the end
    The Model Club

Tell all the Bohs you know
    that we've gone and won two-in-a-row
    and it's not gonna be three
    and it's not gonna be four
    it's more likely to be 5-1.

Yeah dfx, thats his form right now.

Experienced, good 4th striker, not perhaps for penalties..looks value

Sad to see Cobh go, but they were fighting an uphill battle from the start
    Last edited by dfx-; 25/03/2008 at 10:55 PM.
    The Model Club

Fecking won but too late.

Quote Originally Posted by dfx- View Post
    Experienced, good 4th striker, not perhaps for penalties..looks value

Sad to see Cobh go, but they were fighting an uphill battle from the start
    If I had even won one game in the first half of the season i could have survived
    COBH RAMBLERS- FIRST DIVISION CHAMPIONS '07

Equality for the rams:(

60 Posts

Primera Liga End of Season Round-Up

Just had a good gawk at the last two games - I'd put out a full strength team in both, and was wiped out by the Starlets - our most comprehensive defeat this season We absolutely dominated the player stats though, including yellow and red Cards (take a bow Del Shannon), except for MVP, won deservedly once more by Camoranesi. Hitman being sent to the the Camoranesi household as we speak...

Anyway, time for my Primera Liga Round Up for the season.

Well Done:
    Pantstitute - best ever season.
    UCD - stayed up. Just.
    Sligo Starlets - one of only two teams to beat us having been drubbed 7-1 in thier first away game - had they held on for 6 or 7 more minutes, they'd have finished 5th, and 'Stute would have finished 3rd again.
    Landenstown Forest - pulled free of relegation, third best home record in the league, only defeated once at home all season - atrocious away form though.

Hard Luck:
    Pantstitute - made a fight of it as far as possible, the first to beat the Provos at home, completed a double on them and us, and still lost by 8 points, and was 6 minutes from third. Undoubtedly a favorite for next year if he improves the strikeforce. Also - now called Institute: possibly worse than losing the league (and possibly what gifted it to us in the end)
    Burton Albion - Burts got back on track and very nearly stayed up but went down by a single goal - almost guaranteed to come back up, with Club 18-30, and one from Sligo Rovers, Cobh and Badger Gravy.
    Cobh - good end of season run but too little too late. Probably would have been a good idea not to become an old Goalies' home, and should probably set phasers to stun next season...

A season to forget:
    Provos - Lost at the Empress for the first time in three and a half seasons, then repeated the trick twice - second best away form though. Third is lower than you'd expect from the Provos, but they very nearly slipped back to their usual bridesmaids' slot at the death. Still persists with Muiris Liffey, surely the John O'Shea of the Primera Liga.
    Lofty's - Year of "The Experiment" - not trying very hard to win games by the look of things. Most memorable thing about the season has got to be the fact that they are not called Institute, but then, neither are Looprevil, so meh.

Most Exciting team to play: Sligo Starlets
    Loved watching the Starlets - only three games with less than two goals all season, almost upset Pantstitute twice, losing only in the 85th and 91st minutes. Held the Provos to the 82nd minute, beat Lofty's at home and drew 3-3 away. However, you could never accuse them of being consistent as you never knew what would happen - hammered by us in Blackpool park then beat us away, destroyed at home by Landenstown and the Provos away, and turn around to record vital wins the following match against the bottom and top of the table.

Most Boring team to play: Looprevil
    I would have said us, because of our defence, and consistency: but for the same reason, if oppositely, Looprevil deserve it. They conceded more than we scored, and that was a feat this season. You could be guaranteed a victory against them since the start of this month, the only question was what score. Milzbeast wasn't particularly active this season after a good performance in the first, and when he walked that was it. I took little pleasure in defeating them, and they will not be missed in the same way that other sides will. I hope that someone with a bit of interest takes over what is a reasonably good side.

The Sligo Rovers Lack of Ambition Award: Lofty's Laxy 11
    Unlucky Lofty to win this, but I had the title of the award, and it seemed a shame not to use it. I could not understand how the Cup kingpins and former multiple time League champs were not at the races this season. Possessing the EU Midfielder Mountain and trying to get all of them up to 100% may have had some degree of impact on that and was possibly a bad idea in retrospect...

Hatchet Men of the Season: Cobh Ramblers

Who else - just scanned their matches played and they had only one game all season where there wasn't someone injured or sent off in the game. And some fine names too - the hit list included Åstrand, Konda, Bashford, Lundh, Westlin. Cici, we salute you, as we fear what you might do to our best line up
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lucanhoop87 View Post
    well (being full to the brim with modesty as i say this obviously ) but i would like to nominate myself for manager of the year considering how far adrift at the bottom my team was when i took over i feel winning the league by 10 points in only my first season is a pretty remarkable turn-a-round
    Well, then, get your finger out and write up the Division 1 Round-Up, quick, before someone else does!

Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    Well, then, get your finger out and write up the Division 1 Round-Up, quick, before someone else does!
    Quote Originally Posted by lucanhoop87 View Post
    ah cant be arsed, far too lazy for that, surely whoever would do the write up would have me as manager of the year anyway
    The votes are in...Manager of the year[Both Divisions]:

Sligoman, no explanation needed.

The Sligo Rovers lack of ambition award.....

Surely sligoman should get the First Division award. He's still managing to hold onto his job despite another season of mediocrity - would never happen at the top clubs...

Liffey was a steal at 650,000....
    The Model Club

Surely sligoman should get the First Division award.
    I already have, thanks for your congrats

The skill update goes ahead as normal two days after the last game today. When the new season starts is different. If we can at least get a couple more, then we're ready to go.

I already have, thanks for your congrats
    If we were to drop to midtable-ness, what's the secret to clinging on in power?

None of our important players will be risked on Saturday - even in a friendly with your lot
    The Model Club

None of our important players will be risked on Saturday - even in a friendly with your lot
    It's unfortunate that bruise tactics can't be used in friendlies.

Careful for your lot is extra-bruise for everyone else
    The Model Club

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bluebeard View Post
    The Sligo Rovers Lack of Ambition Award: Lofty's Laxy 11

Thank you. An honour. My only award this season. Laxy ~ cos we were sh!te! I honestly tried to win the last match though. 2 -0 at home. Dreading the season update too - not expecting too many +.

And congrats Bluebeard on a tremendous season.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

60 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by lofty9 View Post
    Dreading the season update too - not expecting too many +.

And congrats Bluebeard on a tremendous season.
    Thanks Lofty, and thanks to all the rest of you too for the congrats. I haven't a hope of retaining it, but then only the Fags ever have. I'm predicting a maximum of 4 points gained from the promoted teams in the first three games and then a right pasting at the hands of UCD.

As for the updates I'd say the core 13 or 14 will do ok in the updates, but the rest are screwed. What harm. Cobh are out of the top so there shouldn't be too many injuries this year