Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: New nasty side to Derry?

82 Posts
    So let me get this right, two Derry players taunted the crowd when we equalised, and thats okay, but Georgie taunting the away crowd is fair game? (I don't care if you didn't see it, we did as it was right in front of us)

Clearly Cork logic.

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    So let me get this right, two Derry players taunted the crowd when we equalised, and thats okay, but Georgie taunting the away crowd is fair game? (I don't care if you didn't see it, we did as it was right in front of us)

Clearly Cork logic.
    No, thats not alright. When did I say it was? George can be a prat. He gets the stick he deserves for it.

Mind you, its exactly what he's looking for. There's nothing would cheer up Georgie more after that night than the sight of Derry fans going to their bus singing "George O'Callaghan drinks and drives" when they could be celebrating their own team.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by twowheelsonly View Post
    Rather than celebrate his team scoring in any sort of normal manner McCallion choose to do so by giving 2 fingers to the shed end. This was without any sort of intimidation/abuse/slagging/winding up of him or any Derry players all night. Certainly nothing of any nature that could be in any manner considered inflamatory.
    Doherty at the final whistle turned to the crowd at that end as well and started roaring and gesturing at the crowd in a highly aggressive manner. His behaviour was an absolute disgrace and if spotted by the ref, or any ref in any league in the world, would have been a guaranteed yellow card.
    Cork/Derry games have almost always been tough but fair and enjoyable contests with a grudging respect and admiration for each other both on and off the pitch. I think Mr Dohertys' behaviour, in particular, might just have changed that.
    BTW, Anybody on here who had witnessed this would have reacted in the exact same way. He stepped waaaayyy over the line.

On the same subject, well known 'flair players' or 'noticable players' such as GOC always get abuse away from home (exception Paddy McCourt for some reason???). While GOC does react in certain ways I've never seen him do it in an aggressive manner. Each has their own way of answering back, from keepers giving a discreet flash of their arse to the little smile, kissing the crest or hand up to the ear if they score. It's part of football and always will be.
    Thats because Paddy dosnt act the **** on the pitch, GO'C isnt fit to lace Paddy McCourt's boots. Some crying done by the langers.

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    Thats because Paddy dosnt act the **** on the pitch, GO'C isnt fit to lace Paddy McCourt's boots. Some crying done by the langers.
    How many times has Paddy McCourt seen 90 minutes of football against Cork City?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Clearly Cork logic.
    Let me help you to get this right.....

Two Derry players abused the crowd in an extremely provocative and possibly dangerous manner....
    Georgie taunted the Derry crowd - read the thread, not a single post mentions that it's 'fair game'.

We all know he does it, we never said it was right but it does happen. In fairness to Georgie it's usually in response to being taunted himself, you know that and we know that. Gazza did it, Rooney does it. Cantona did it in the extreme. Some players seem to feel obliged to react while others can ignore it like water off a ducks back.
    Doherty on the other hand, or any other Derry player, had received no provocation whatsoever and was perceived as being unsporting in the extreme IMO.
    McCallion, to his credit, was an instantaneous reaction, seemed to realise what he had done and left it go. I don't think anybody really had a problem with him.

82 Posts
    Let me help you to get this right.....

Two Derry players abused the crowd in an extremely provocative and possibly dangerous manner....
    Georgie taunted the Derry crowd - read the thread, not a single post mentions that it's 'fair game'.
    You're going to have to help me further by differentiating between abusing and taunting.

Are you Paddy McCourt yourself? Nice sidestep.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Taunting is playful banter, whereas abuse, thats with malicious intent.

Bloody whinging ****ies. If you can't take it don't dish it out, and to say the Shed End didn't give Gerard or Eddie any stick on Friday is absolutely ridiculous.

Paddy doesn't get gip because he plays in the spirit of the game, and doesn't deliberately go out to wind the opposition and their fans up.
    DCFC

Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    to say the Shed End didn't give Gerard or Eddie any stick on Friday is absolutely ridiculous.
    Enlighten us?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    How many times has Paddy McCourt seen 90 minutes of football against Cork City?
    Whats that got to do with anything?

Quote Originally Posted by pól-dcfc View Post
    Taunting is playful banter, whereas abuse, thats with malicious intent.

Bloody whinging ****ies. If you can't take it don't dish it out, and to say the Shed End didn't give Gerard or Eddie any stick on Friday is absolutely ridiculous.

Paddy doesn't get gip because he plays in the spirit of the game, and doesn't deliberately go out to wind the opposition and their fans up.
    Thank You. Anything thrown at either player was in the spirit of banter and could be considered banter. What Doherty threw back was nothing less than abuse. It's a regular thing for the banter and taunting to work both ways, hence we don't make a point of 'whinging' (or winning!)every week. Abuse is a different story, can't you at least concede that???

Paddy doesn't get gip because he doesn't react so there's no fun in it. same reason opposition fans don't abuse Neil Horgan or Mick Devine etc to the same degree as Georgie. Simple as.

Quote Originally Posted by City till I Die View Post
    Whats that got to do with anything?
    For a player who apparently so obviously outshines GOC, he has an awful habit of being subbed or dropped against Cork City, the games where I get to watch him. Completely ineffectual again the other night and Derry didn't look dangerous until he was taken off.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Can't believe that there's a 3 page thread about this but anyway; I assumed that Gerard must have been getting some sort of stick by the Cork fans behind him. If it was completely unprovoked then it was out of order and not within the spirit of the game but FFS get over it!!

Mind you, its exactly what he's looking for. There's nothing would cheer up Georgie more after that night than the sight of Derry fans going to their bus singing "George O'Callaghan drinks and drives" when they could be celebrating their own team.
    Course it is. I'm sure Georgie loves being reminded on national television that he's a convicted criminal of a rather heinous and shameful variety....

You need to lie down Gavin - you're winding yourself into an illogical frenzy here now.

*Sigh*. I guess it was only a matter of time before the famous Cork whinging got directed at Derry fans, as well as the rest of the world....

I can't belive there's Derry one's slagging people from another city about whinging. It's our speciality

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Course it is. I'm sure Georgie loves being reminded on national television that he's a convicted criminal of a rather heinous and shameful variety.... You need to lie down Gavin - you're winding yourself into an illogical frenzy here now.
    I'm at a loss to be honest. Either I'm lying or George himself is lying when he has said as much so pick one because you seem pretty fixed in your viewpoint.

*Sigh*. I guess it was only a matter of time before the famous Cork whinging got directed at Derry fans, as well as the rest of the world....
    fans?
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

82 Posts
    Thank You. Anything thrown at either player was in the spirit of banter and could be considered banter. What Doherty threw back was nothing less than abuse. It's a regular thing for the banter and taunting to work both ways, hence we don't make a point of 'whinging' (or winning!)every week. Abuse is a different story, can't you at least concede that???
    Ridiculously subjective assessment.

From what I can see its banter when a Cork player does it but its abuse when a Derry player does it.

And no, I can't concede anything, presumably because I lack the ability to spilt hairs that you clearly possess.

Let me re-iterate, Georgie gives the fingers to Derry fans after Cork score right in front of us (thats banter, according to you).

Eddie and Doherty do something similar in front of the Shed and thats abuse.....

You seriously have a warped sense of morality if you can differentiate between those two actions.

But you're a Cork fan, so nothing surprises me....

I'm at a loss to be honest. Either I'm lying or George himself is lying when he has said as much so pick one because you seem pretty fixed in your viewpoint.
    Fair point. I mean - who could accuse a convicted drink-driver of something as basic as lying...

Quote Originally Posted by joey4ireland View Post
    Coek fans are no worse than any other fans in the league for giving out about oppossotion players celebrating.
    Yes they are - seriously yourself and the rest of your lot are embarrassing yourselves on here. I can safely say that when we abuse a player we know whats coming when he scores against us, then we give more for it - (though we wouldnt throw a broken vodka bottle at it for it like the cork fans did to dan connor)- but we'd would always hold our hands up and say among ourselves straigth away that we deserve it. If ye cant take it, dont give it ye big cry baby

btw joey go to drogs forum even last week when the conicted drink driver was giving us the fingers and the w@nker sign for the whole 2nd half - every drog on our mb has no problem with it cos of the abuse he got for the whole match
    DAN CONNOR HATES CITY, HE HATES LANGERS

Quote Originally Posted by Cosmo View Post
    throw a broken vodka bottle at it for it like the cork fans did
    It took all of us to throw it, did it? God only knows how Connors survived.

btw joey go to drogs forum even last week when the conicted drink driver was giving us the fingers and the w@nker sign for the whole 2nd half - every drog on our mb has no problem with it cos of the abuse he got for the whole match
    And if we'd been abusing Doherty or McCallion all match it wouldn't have been so strange (the point of this damn thread) to see them do it.
    Last edited by GavinZac; 24/03/2008 at 6:06 PM.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast