Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: New nasty side to Derry?

147 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    Turned and faced the Shed after the final whistle with his arms raised in celebration. Sarcastically applauded them when being jeered going in the tunnel as well.
    The bloody cheek, he should be banned for the season so. Good lord God, this has stretched to 5 pages now, and yes, I know, its because ofmpeople like me posting is part of the seaosn, but lads, give it a rest and save your vitriol for those who deserve it.
    Like Sligo.
    "Billy Corgan, Smashing Pumpkins."
    "Homer Simpson, smiling politely."

1,553 Posts
    Good to see the old Cork-Derry love in has finally come to an end. A healthy step for both clubs.

106 Posts
    I must say I'm devestated to be back in work today having attended the game, when I could have taken the week off due to post-traumatic stress.
    A man can have no greater love than give 90 minutes for his friends.

" Do you not understand the difference between the effects of inbreeding and radioactive poisoning. Christ you'd swear Drogheda was in Belrus the way ye go on "

Listen pal you are bordering on offensive now , and im well aware of the difference of inbreeding and radioactive poisoning thanks . Radioactive poisoning causes cancer which there is a very high rate of in Louth . Not to sure what the effects of inbreeding are tbh ,but you langers seem to be experts on the matter , you wanna enlighten us then ? So your telling me that its ok for a professional footballer who represents CCFC to call people 6 toes on a local radio station ? The double standards of you lot amazes me .If it was any other player from another club youd be piissing yourselves .

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    Christ you'd swear Drogheda was in Belrus the way ye go on
    Belrus? Where's that?

Probably where our CL trip will be this year
    Hunky Dorys Park - could be worse, we could be going to Old Trafford every other week

Belrus? Where's that?
    You'll get to know these places if you ever have to participate in a UEFA draw.

Look, for crying out loud:
    • I did not say Derry are/were the worst for this
    • I did not say they were all that particular bad
    • I did not say Cork City or anyone else would be above such
    • I did not say it was a bad thing over all
    • I did not invite anyone to discuss the merits of George O'Callaghan and his love of getting reactions

However I did:
    • Point out a few things that happened at the game
    • Noted they were different from my past experiences, and that they would hardly be notable if it were the like of Drogheda or Shelbourne but were "new" coming from Derry
    • Invite the readers to discuss possible effects this could have on Derry's performance this year

Now for christs sake, drop the ridiculous rounding upon all things Cork that seems to be the pastime of various ignorami on this board, and take the thread at face value.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

291 Posts
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 13/09/2008 at 3:49 PM.

So lets get this straight. The Cork fans have come on here complaining about entirely uprovoked gestures from 2 Derry players. I took that at face value as I had no reason no to believe them.
    On the Derry City fans forum there was a thread paying tribue to the fans who travelled down and that they were a credit to themselves for not rising to the 'lizzie' remarks. I didnt catch on to what they were talking about. But as this thread goes on I now know that Cork fans were in fact chanting, "whats it like to have a queen". If this was chanted then I think that eddie and gerard (both local) showed remarkable restraint!! How dare you's come on here complaining about that when your fans where singing about us having a queen! Pathetic!!!

Quote Originally Posted by Bucky-O'Hare View Post
    So lets get this straight. The Cork fans have come on here complaining about entirely uprovoked gestures from 2 Derry players. I took that at face value as I had no reason no to believe them.
    On the Derry City fans forum there was a thread paying tribue to the fans who travelled down and that they were a credit to themselves for not rising to the 'lizzie' remarks. I didnt catch on to what they were talking about. But as this thread goes on I now know that Cork fans were in fact chanting, "whats it like to have a queen". If this was chanted then I think that eddie and gerard (both local) showed remarkable restraint!! How dare you's come on here complaining about that when your fans where singing about us having a queen! Pathetic!!!
    When did this happen? I know we sang that for years, as long as I've been going to games, but its generally been supplanted along with the racist and republican songs that would've been part of our repertoire a decade ago. If it was in the ground it certainly wasn't at length or by very many people, indeed apart from a few "olé ola's" and "carefree"'s we didnt do all that much singing at all - and I know this because I was stood between our two drummers.

And again, I wasn't complaining about the different attitude in Derry's camp. I was remarking upon it and asking of its effects.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Wow is the first thing that springs to mind about this thread, to clarify what I think has happened here (it's gone so many places I doubt Odysseus himself could unravel it) is

Gavin came over a bit Arsene Wenger when describing Derry's tactics/antics

Some Cork fans have come over a bit Everton/Liverpool (give a team abuse and start crying when an opposing player says boo to them after scoring)

People in general have lost the plot

All I can say is that it's shameful for all concerned that I am a voice of reason in a thread

I wasnt there so I dont know. All I know is that it was mentioned once on saturday on the derry city fans forum and I didn't catch on as to what they were talking about and then I read about it on this thread. I must say that I found it strange to hear that Eddie McCallion was gesturing to fans, as I haven't seen it before. Obviously Gerard Doherty is a new signing so I wouldn't know what he's like. If that was being chanted then I can understand their anger because that drives me mad!

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Wow is the first thing that springs to mind about this thread, to clarify what I think has happened here (it's gone so many places I doubt Odysseus himself could unravel it) is
    Its just a pity that the first answer wasn't "yeah, Derry seem to have a bit more bite about them and that is partly what they've been missing in the recent past and could be the final part of the puzzle for them to get back to the top" or "nah, while they seem to have a good bit more team spirit they just don't have the quality. they might cause a few upsets but i cant see them being there or there abouts" or even "they didn't seem that much nastier to me Gav. I guess there really is a fine line between 'heart' and 'nastiness'."

Instead the first response was some clown who sits at the other side of the ground and whose main concern with Cork City appears to be, regardless of the forum or the topic, denigrating the vocal supporters for whatever reasons he can. What of course followed was the usual sniping and cheap shots that characterise the eircom league forum these days no matter what the topic is.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Gavin you had a pop at Derry after they (apparantly, I wasn't there, don't know) nicked a point at Turner's Cross, in classic Wenger/Ferguson style when they feel that a team has kicked their footballing team around the park. You compared them unfavourably to Shelbourne (even if you said they weren't as bad as Shels), said that they usually concentrate on football when they play Cork (sideways comment suggesting that they didn't this time) and commented on their players on-field antics (not just the goal celebrations) in your first post. You may not view it as you having a go, but I'm sure the Derry fans would, and so there was always going to be a backlash. Granted that backlash has gone on a bit too long, but it was to be expected, so it probably should be left at you were disappointed at Cork drawing yet again, and Derry probably reacted a bit too much to your disappointment

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Gavin you had a pop at Derry after they (apparantly, I wasn't there, don't know) nicked a point at Turner's Cross, in classic Wenger/Ferguson style when they feel that a team has kicked their footballing team around the park. You compared them unfavourably to Shelbourne (even if you said they weren't as bad as Shels), said that they usually concentrate on football when they play Cork (sideways comment suggesting that they didn't this time) and commented on their players on-field antics (not just the goal celebrations) in your first post. You may not view it as you having a go, but I'm sure the Derry fans would, and so there was always going to be a backlash. Granted that backlash has gone on a bit too long, but it was to be expected, so it probably should be left at you were disappointed at Cork drawing yet again, and Derry probably reacted a bit too much to your disappointment
    Ah c'mere this doesn't suit you at all. Roll your eyes at me
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

291 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bucky-O'Hare View Post
    If this was chanted then I think that eddie and gerard (both local) showed remarkable restraint!! How dare you's come on here complaining about that when your fans where singing about us having a queen! Pathetic!!!
    Awk get over it! You must have a pretty thin skin if that chant gets to you. I presume you don't get to many away matches then? It's just banter, if you can't deal with that particular chant you should start following another sport.

Far too many people seem to go out of their way to get offended these days.
    Last edited by thischarmingman; 25/03/2008 at 6:48 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    So by this logic we are entitled to throw vodka bottles at boy george in utd pk next time we play Cork City FC? And theres a reason boy george gets the attention of opposition fans , if you go around doing interviews on local radio stations saying " I would have went to Drogheda but i havent got enough fingers or toes " your gonna get lots of attention . He has actually created a potentialy dangerous situation with comments like that .But i suppose we shouldnt be in any way surprised by this .Convicted drink drivers are never the smartest of people . I wonder if boy george knows about the sellafield connection to his toes comments .NASTY .
    Stop!
    You're going to break the internet.

Just lucky you quoted my post in yours so my response is already there. There's a difference between something being justified and it being likely to happen.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Belrus? Where's that?
    Is Belrus a bit like a Walrus......?

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    Is Belrus a bit like a Walrus......?
    its a belgian walrus

48 Posts
    Don't get me started! If you give ..........expect to take it.

I'm really p!!ssed of with the "whats it like to have a queen" song when we're in cork.

Rub it feckin up ye's
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast