Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Setanta cup Game 1

238 Posts
    Derry were brutal tonight, they improved in the second half (mainly through McCourt) but the defending was shocking at times.
    Delaney had a 'mare, should have been sent off for the shocking headbutt, scumbag comes to mind. McGinn is p!ss, really glad Higsy didn't sign him now. I thought Sammon was poor up front, he gave the ball away every time and I really hope the same Derry team from the first half is the one that shows up on friday night.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Derry were brutal tonight, they improved in the second half (mainly through McCourt) but the defending was shocking at times.
    Delaney had a 'mare, should have been sent off for the shocking headbutt, scumbag comes to mind. McGinn is p!ss, really glad Higsy didn't sign him now. I thought Sammon was poor up front, he gave the ball away every time and I really hope the same Derry team from the first half is the one that shows up on friday night.
    McGinn was terrible alright and Sammon was never any good so Im not surprised he was poor tonight. Hes just a very average player.

Some Derry fan was on here saying what a relief not to have Harps embaris the league in the Setanta but funny enough its Derry who are the embarisment against a part time Lingfield reserve side.
    The deepest layer of human thinking and feeling somehow knows that God must exist - Pope Benedict XVI

Very suprised at how poor Derry where tonight. I don't know how close to a full strength team that was for Derry but Linfield has a very much understrength side.

Penalty was harsh, but I think the scoreline could have been a hell of a lot worse for Derry City.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

675 Posts
    Derry were dreadful in the first half. Delaney was woeful, the glorified giraffe - quite how Kenny has managed to take his fourth choice centre back pairing from two years ago and recycle it for this season is beyond me.

Sammon had another dreadful game, worrying signs that he may be found out. McGinn another who was poor, spent most of the second half hiding.

No denying McKeon though, he was still the worst performer on the pitch. Fair play to Linfield - clinical, tight and a championship winning level of gamesmanship. Even their ball boys are well drilled in time wasting.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Bar McCourt Derry were more or less at full strength I believe.

Linfield fielded Mannus in nets, Douglas the reserve right back. A third choice Left back McCann. A central midfielder (Gault) as a centre half along with our reserve centre half, Lindsay. We played 2 players who are just regaining fitness after almost a year out due to cruciate ligament injuries (Kearney and Downey) who incidentally both went off injured, although by the looks of it, thankfully not a reoccurance of the cruciate injury! A rotational centre midfielder, Mulgrew and a very out of form back-up striker playing makeshift on the right wing, Dickson. We also had our reserve (although shouldn't be) striker (Stewart) playing along with Thompson. The game ended with our first choice right back, Ervin running around like a headless chicken, our first choice Striker, Ferguson playing in midfield, and Murphy one of the first teamers came into the centre half position as usual.
    Last edited by Graemerz; 10/03/2008 at 10:44 PM.
    Linfield Football Club - Hatchets & Hammers - You Can Only Envy Us

A Blue 52

Quote Originally Posted by Graemerz View Post
    McCourt, Molloy, Farren, McGlynn, Quigley.

Bits I saw Downy looked impressive.

22 Posts

Linfield fielded Mannus in nets, Douglas the reserve right back. A third choice Left back McCann. A central midfielder (Gault) as a centre half along with our reserve centre half, Lindsay. We played 2 players who are just regaining fitness after almost a year out due to cruciate ligament injuries (Kearney and Downey) who incidentally both went off injured, although by the looks of it, thankfully not a reoccurance of the cruciate injury! A rotational centre midfielder, Mulgrew and a very out of form back-up striker playing makeshift on the right wing, Dickson. We also had our reserve (although shouldn't be) striker (Stewart) playing along with Thompson. The game ended with our first choice right back, Ervin running around like a headless chicken, our first choice Striker, Ferguson playing in midfield, and Murphy one of the first teamers came into the centre half position as usual.
    how many players do you have

we scraped a point tonight, we were poor at the back and glens took advantage, they deserved if for outplaying us for most of it. We battled into it when we put on some proper players and their ref gave us a free woooo.

kdjac
    5-0

Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Bits I saw Downy looked impressive.
    He was very disappointed at being taken off but DJ has already stated that him and Kearney are basically being wrapped in cotton wool any signs of a knock or injury they are to be taken off immediately. Conor has been itching at the bit to play for so long he even wanted to feature on the bench in December even though he was nowhere near ready for it. I think he was quite angry with DJ when he was taken off but I'm sure its calmed down now and Downey realises the club are just looking after him. Superb player, and we haven't even really seen what he's capable off yet.

A Blue 52

Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    how many players do you have
    22 squad players. http://sports.setanta.com/en/Sport/N...ta-Sports-Cup/ We were missing McAreavey, O'Kane, Mouncey, Bailie and Curran tonight. Ferguson, Ervin and Murphy all came on from the bench.

A Blue 52

Quote Originally Posted by finnpark View Post
    Some Derry fan was on here saying what a relief not to have Harps embaris the league in the Setanta but funny enough its Derry who are the embarisment against a part time Lingfield reserve side.
    Brilliant FP !

Are you Donegal's representative at the Edinburgh Comedy Festival again this year.....?

P.S. Lesson one re using the word 'embarrassment' : Learn to spell it to prevent doing it to yourself....

48 Posts

Our 1st choice centre forwards..........Farren (injured but on the bench) and Sammy Morrow (out til May)

Midfield.........Barry Molloy.......came on 2nd half helped shore up up midfield...Paddy Mc Court....on 2nd hald (changed the game)........Gareth Mc Glynn.............late sub (our normal winger).helped change the game...........

Defence.......we were awful.............Missing Hagan so much............Mc Callion should be played there.can do a good job there.

So that is 5 not starting who would defo start if Kenny wanted to win it.

I dont know why he didn't considering we had 1800 at the game.

Have to say a **** poor home attendance who resorted to God save the queen songs in the 2nd half ........................like we give a feck
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

238 Posts
    Farren would not be starting ahead of Sammon or McHugh.
    I doubt if Kenny will use McCourt in every game as he is a luxury that you could afford if ye had Oman and Kelly back.
    Molloy ill give ya that one, fine player.
    I don't think McGlynn will be a regular for ye either. I reckon Morrison is fav for that position.

Derry were shocking tonite Kenny has big problems in defence, the guys in there at the minute are too slow, and needs rectifying asap. For McKeown the referee, he has only shown that LOI referees are crap, some of the decisions he gave were shocking, yes delaney should have walked , but the penalty what was he watching, hes an idiot and if I made as many errors in my job that he made last night Id be geting my P45 this morning. He will look at his performance last nite, and those of his assistants and say s**t I c**ked up last night. But every week they get away with it. I wish we had the IL refs they are more competent and not afraid to make a decision and let the game flow. The fighting last night was all down to one man, MCKEOWN, because he couldnt handle a game as big as that. Finally well done to Linfield last night very professional performance, you deserved it.

43 Posts
    • Brutal - yes. Same team on Friday? I hope not. Harps will have nothing to fear against the slowest defence I've seen in a long time.
    • Delaney, retaliated to a right hook to the back of the head by Murphy as he was getting up from the ground. I had a clear and unobstructed view of it, it was also a penalty as Murphy had dragged him to the ground. The linesman saw the punch and immeadiately ran onto the pitch. Both players got away with it. From watching it this morning again from the TV side, you'll see Murphy's right arm swing as they are getting up from the ground. The ref's decisions were shocking (both ways), booking people for innoculous challenges and letting nasty ones go. He truly was abysmal.
    • Sammon was shocking. I seen him numerous times hold the ball up and make a nuisance for defenders, but last night he showed nothing, hopefully it was just an off night.
    • McGinn looks too inexperienced and failed to release the ball. Just reminded me of Cash (Sligo) who was with us.
    How Kenny failed to see the magnitude of this game for Derry supporters simply defies belief. I thought he was playing mind games by saying he was going to make 5/6 changes. Leaving Barry Molloy out was a poor decision. Higgins was completely isolated in the middle of the pitch as Martyn was positionally of no help to him.

Anyhow, rant nearly over, I could go on and on. Well beaten by a better, hungrier and physically stronger team. Linfield's mentality is briiliant, it just shows you winning is a habit for them. Derry didn't look fit and the main worry as a Derry supporter is that our CB partnership is truly well past its sell by date.
    As Irishmen we dilute our sense of nation by depending on the English to bring us our balls

675 Posts
    Farren would not be starting ahead of Sammon or McHugh..
    Farren started against UCD and scored. And despite Sammon's poor form, it's been proven time and again that McHugh and Farren don't work with McHugh usually being the one to make way.
    Ou-est le Centre George Pompidou?

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234