Page 7 of 14 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast

Thread: Clash of colours at Richmond Park

According to the official wLOI website our home colours are red & white. You have to assume they use the info supplied by clubs

http://www.eircomloi.ie/the-division...-f.c/index.xml

Club Colours
    1st choice:
    Jersey: Red and white
    Shorts: White and red
    Socks: White

2nd choice:
    Jersey: Navy, blue and white
    Shorts: Navy
    Socks: Navy

Still let everyone become drama queens and post rubbish about points deductions

22 Posts
    The Idea of Jako suing the FAI is laughable. If Nick was that bothered he should have made sure that Sligo had either last years black kit with them or given them a set of backup shirts. Little known fact: for the last 3 years Waterford had a green set of shirts for emergency use. They never saw the light of day but at least they had them!

Why does everything in this league have to be so complicated? The obvious solution to the problem on the night was for Pats to wear their away strip and Sligo to wear their white kit. No clash and both teams wear their own kit. As Sligo ****ed up, they should probably have been fined or something. As it happened, Sligo ****ed up with not bringing a kit that they could wear and Pats were just needlessly being awkward so both deserve to be punished.

The real problem is that the FAI didn't have this all worked out beforehand. Why couldn't they and the refs look at all the kits before the season and tell clubs what kit to wear if there's a clash?

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi View Post
    The real problem is that the FAI didn't have this all worked out beforehand. Why couldn't they and the refs look at all the kits before the season and tell clubs what kit to wear if there's a clash?
    But...but - they had two people working on it full time!

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Red4Eva View Post
    main story of ocean fm news at 4 was that Jako Ireland and the McSweeney Group(main club sponsor) are considering taking legal action against the FAI

http://oceanfm.ie/onair/sligoleitrim...leid=000002827
    If that happens then the FAI should turn around and counter-sue Jako for not providing suitable playing equipment in time to meet the requirements of the League.

In which other top-division of a League in the whole world would have a club start a season with only one kit because "the other lot is still being stitched together in a factory somewhere in the arse-end of nowhere"

And I include African Leagues and those in Central America in that
    Kom Igen, FCK...

stop talking crap about points reductions, its easy for the FAI to tell all clubs the week of a game what jerseys they are to wear on the friday/saturday or whichever the case may be. the FAI should have pictures of every choice of kit every team has, and then make sure that both clubs are told on the monday or tuesday to give them sufficent time to get it ready for the weekend. its really so so easy to do.

in fairness to ourselves, our all white away kit wouldnt clash with st. pats home kit, even though the sleeves are the same. it could only have been for the sleeves clashing, so it really is strange why Buttimer let us wear the other kit with white sleeves aswell. i think he has to come out and explain this himself! might give us some sort of daylight

246 Posts
    The ref is to blame here in my view, fair and square. Can anyone confirm that it was Buttimer who was in charge when this happened last year at Bohs/Waterford and Cork/Bray ? Also is it true that the kits were approved earlier in the week by the FAI ? If the answer to both of these questions is yes, then Mr Buttimer should never referee another game of football in this country. The FAI must also take their share of blame. After last year the onus was on them to put procedures in place to ensure that htis doesn't happen.

I'm sure I remember Pats playing teams with all white shirts before and there was never a problem. It should never have been an issue.

PS - Is it true that Buttimer is auditioning for the role of new presenter on "What Not To Wear" ?
    Last edited by TonyD; 09/03/2008 at 10:03 AM.
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

the buck stops with the ref for me. we can go on about what kits Sligo/Pats have and what the should have brought but the way i look at is the Kits dont clash. they dont even nearly clash. I used an example in the other thread, when Spurs play Arsenal in England do they change colours, no, as they dont clash. the colours are different and its the same colours invilved here. the sleeves might be the same but thats doesnt make them clash.

on a poxy cold night in dublin to leave so many paying punters sitting in the cold is scandelous. its as if we dont want people to go to the games.

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    The ref is to blame here in my view, fair and square. Can anyone confirm that it was Buttimer who was in charge when this happened last year at Bohs/Waterford and Cork/Bray ?
    Pretty sure it was Buttimer at Waterford/Bohs, and at the (remarkably stupid) Dundalk/Shels goalkeeper farce.

Not sure who was in charge the Cork/Bray, or Shams/Bray games..

fact of the matter is that we were the home club with a long time established choice of home colours. Its not our issue that sligo's kits are too similiar to each other and that they didn't bring a change strip. I agree 100% with our actions in this instance. An under 12 team would not show up to play a match with one kit, particularly one which clashed with the other clubs colours.
    Camac Ultras North Terrace Section

They didn't clash!

Quote Originally Posted by Fintan Cassidy View Post
    I was under the impression that the FAI approved each clubs' various strips in advance of the season.
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    They did (allegedly). Apparantly they had two full time staff looking after it. Makes you wonder...
    Who were the two in the FAI that were looking after this?

48 Posts
    Same thibg happened last season in the Derry V Sligo game.

Sligo ended up wearing our away black stripe.

Don't remember who the ref was.
    So if you think Bohs are big read this. http://www.astronomy.ie/perpespective.html

Boils down to this IMO:

Sligo Rovers are to partly blame for not having the cop on to realise Derry and Pats wear red and white, therefore we should have a 3rd kit, be it green,black whatever

Pats are partly at fault for holding the game up, and not just wearing their away kit.

The FAI are partly at fault for not realising Rovers and Pats both wear red and white and not requesting Jako to supply Rovers with a 3rd kit.

Anyone remember when we playe Pats in cup in 2005 and we had to change to all white because Pats forgot their away jersey?

I've been told that all kits were sent to the FAI pre-season and that they approved Pats to wear their home kit and Sligo to wear their white kit. Mr. Buttimer didn't agree and threatened to leave the ground and call off the game if the clubs didn't come to a compromise.

Pats (rightly in my opinion) refused to change from their home strip. Pats got two sets of gear from Lissadell (Junior Side) and Sligo agreed to wear one of them. Mr. Buttimer still felt that the kits clashed with the Pats kit and wouldn't allow it.

Paul Cooke (who was very diplomatic about the whole thing) then finally agreed for Sligo to wear the Pats away kit so that the game could go ahead.

I was kit man at Pats about 8/9 years ago and every Wednesday phoned the kit man from the team we were due to play on Friday and also the ref to avoid any problems. Common sense approach that avoided situations like Friday's fiasco. Worked every time except once in Galway cos Gerry Perry was an idiot.

Quote Originally Posted by charliesboots View Post
    I've been told that all kits were sent to the FAI pre-season and that they approved Pats to wear their home kit and Sligo to wear their white kit. Mr. Buttimer didn't agree and threatened to leave the ground and call off the game if the clubs didn't come to a compromise.

Pats (rightly in my opinion) refused to change from their home strip. Pats got two sets of gear from Lissadell (Junior Side) and Sligo agreed to wear one of them. Mr. Buttimer still felt that the kits clashed with the Pats kit and wouldn't allow it.

Paul Cooke (who was very diplomatic about the whole thing) then finally agreed for Sligo to wear the Pats away kit so that the game could go ahead.

I was kit man at Pats about 8/9 years ago and every Wednesday phoned the kit man from the team we were due to play on Friday and also the ref to avoid any problems. Common sense approach that avoided situations like Friday's fiasco. Worked every time except once in Galway cos Gerry Perry was an idiot.
    Sounds like the ref was a plank and should be sacked, this might be discussed elsewhere but I would of assumed the kick off was delayed anyways due to the chaos outside trying to get a ticket , i was queing from 7.20 at the garden shed opposite the ground and would of barely made it if kicked off at 7.45 and there still was hundreds in the que behind me , should of been a positve spin on the night that the kick off had to be delayed due to larger than expected crowds .

Given that sligo's home is all-red, and their away is all-white, im finding the numbers who say they're "too similar" quite amusing. red is nearly white, now?

and the game was delayed because the white jersies clashed with pat's white sleeves? and then proceeded... with sligo in white sleeves and white shorts?

While sligo should have had a third kit, and pats should have just changed.... all told, buttimer is the one who delayed the game and, in the end, to nobody's benefit.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    with sligo in white sleeves and white shorts?
    They didn't have white sleeves...

I haven't bothered to read all this thread but this appears to have been a complete farce. It's not the first time it has happened in the Eircom and it's not rocket science to rectify. A great advert for the start of the season!

When we knocked St. Pat's out of the cup in The Showgrounds a few seasons back Rover kit was Red and White and St. Pat's kit was White and Red and those of us involved in Junior soccer could not believe it was allowed and it was incredibly confusing even to watch. I think ye man Kelly was the ref that night. I don't know all the facts of this incident to pass judgement yet but I think the most irrelevant point that had been made so far, and on a number of occasions, is that St. Pat's have had the same home kit for the past fifteen years or so. Whatever they have registered as their home kit for this current season is what counts. By the way last weekend in the Sligo-Leitrim Junior soccer league there was a clash of colours and under the relevant rules the match was not played and the away team were awarded the points.

Page 7 of 14 FirstFirst ... 56789 ... LastLast