Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Gufc V Bohs

Fair play for looking on the positive side gufct-good way to be.

Didn't think we deserved anything out of the game myself.Thought bohs were average and we were poor.Didn't start playing till we went a goal behind.

Russell should have started from the off.Wes and Reggi were very poor but the rest were pretty average themselves.No committment from alot of them either.Also-Why isn't Rogers able to keep the ball in play?

TC stressed all week we were a footballing team.Hopefully one of the days they'll show us when we get the ball back down from the sky.

Overall-Dissapointed.2 years in a row we've been flat on the opening day.I'd also worry about the crowds falling very sharply if we don't start giving them something to shout about.However it was Bohs,a title contender,so it's not a disastrous result.

On a side note..there was alot of clowns throwing objects on the picth tonight.Morons.The Bohs keeper handed something to Alan Kelly.A fine no doubt.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

75 Posts
    they actually hit one of the Sword Guys as well and were in Section C but when we checked they were gone. If anybody sees things happening like that just point the people out to the nearest steward.

We thought charging kids would stop the messers but they were worse than ever tonight and are a nightmare to handle boys and girls alike.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

lad's i'm watching galway united for years and love 2 see them do well,the performance shown in the 1st half (and lets call a spade a spade and never mind the positives because the only positive was it couldn't get any worse than the 1st half) was possibly the worse performance i've ever witnessed in terryland and that even goes for juvenile games,long ball after long ball,are we not coached 2 play any different,i think these training camps are a waste of time and money cos in fairness you don't have 2 spend a week over in ipswich 2 learn how 2 hoof the ball 50yrds,we already knew how 2 do that from last season,we either have the worst coach in the history of gufc or the worst players cos what people seen 2nite was crap,speaking 2 some people it will be there last appearance in terryland for a while,they feel totally short changed 20euro for a load of dross and you can put as much spin as some of ye like on the performance it was s**t,end off,we had no clue what we were doin,we had no plan b,we had no leaders on our off the pitch bar the fans who are always great in fairness,if this was a team full of galwegians and a galwegian manager some of ye would be alot more critical.always put down our own is the galway mentality,if there's not 1 player in the whole of galway good enough 2 get on that team it's a sad state of affairs for galway soccer!
    if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!

Quote Originally Posted by Conor H View Post

On a side note..there was alot of clowns throwing objects on the picth tonight.Morons.The Bohs keeper handed something to Alan Kelly.A fine no doubt.
    Didn't see the keeper incident as I was over the far side but there was defo 2 objects thrown from between sections B & C towards the 'incompetent assistant' , looked like sweets or crumpled papers but couldn't see where they came from as it was packed in the stand. In saying that I didn't see any stewards there for the whole game and it took Willie to point it out to them before they were even aware it had happened..he misses nothing!! I thought stewards were meant to steward the crowd from the front up and not the back down!!

On the game, first 60mins ****e..last 30mins good but only when TC brought on a midfielder who tried to work the ball (Russler), then we actually looked like a decent football team. I thought we were a bit unlucky as we had the best chances overall but the 'hoof ball' mentality is still around and that responsibility rests with the 'management team'...Reggie had an uncharacteristic nightmare and the sooner Keane is back from injury at RB the better...next week I think.

On a lighter note, I had to laugh when I passed the girls in the 'Mercy' school uniforms giving out about all the kids that were let in to the ground and running around the place...'FFS there's kids everywhere'

**EDIT** Thought Glynn played very well, looked v sharp...if he gets the service to feet he'll score goals..
    Last edited by KoemansCC; 08/03/2008 at 3:21 AM.

didnt see anything been thrown even though I was in section C, unless it happened towards the end of the match as I ended up leaving early due to the taxi arriving earlier than expected.

Match wise, there was ups and downs but unfortunately more downs. Rogers kicking was the worst Ive seen in years, Regi was simply useless as was Wes. There was hardly 3 passes strung together in the entire match. High balls up to strikers who are a half foot smaller than the oppositions defence is pointless. And finally, I would have started a completely different midfield and repositioned the defence line up at the start of the match and not at half time. Cousins is really to blame for the result last night and not the players, weather, bohs etc.... WAKE UP TONY.

What did stand out most of all last night though was on a positive note, and it was a great display from McCullough, made some great last minute tackles and is by far our fastest player playing across the back four. I think we have finally found our replacement for Quirkey! Also the difference that Russell and Fenn made when they were introduced in the second half, it was then that we started to play football

Quote Originally Posted by west awake View Post
    lad's i'm watching galway united for years and love 2 see them do well,the performance shown in the 1st half (and lets call a spade a spade and never mind the positives because the only positive was it couldn't get any worse than the 1st half) was possibly the worse performance i've ever witnessed in terryland and that even goes for juvenile games,long ball after long ball,are we not coached 2 play any different,i think these training camps are a waste of time and money cos in fairness you don't have 2 spend a week over in ipswich 2 learn how 2 hoof the ball 50yrds,we already knew how 2 do that from last season,we either have the worst coach in the history of gufc or the worst players cos what people seen 2nite was crap,speaking 2 some people it will be there last appearance in terryland for a while,they feel totally short changed 20euro for a load of dross and you can put as much spin as some of ye like on the performance it was s**t,end off,we had no clue what we were doin,we had no plan b,we had no leaders on our off the pitch bar the fans who are always great in fairness,if this was a team full of galwegians and a galwegian manager some of ye would be alot more critical.always put down our own is the galway mentality,if there's not 1 player in the whole of galway good enough 2 get on that team it's a sad state of affairs for galway soccer!
    going to agree with west awake here. first half was truely awful.

i am pretty sure galway played a 4-0-1 formation. the best chance for galway came from a free kick from about 25 yards. they didnt even get into bohs box in the first half.
    please someone tell me reggie had an off night?
    he doesnt look like a footballer to me at all.

Quote Originally Posted by west awake View Post
    speaking 2 some people it will be there last appearance in terryland for a while,they feel totally short changed 20euro for a load of dross
    That's what I'm woried about too. Personally, I'd go to every match in terryland if the utd players were playing with prosthetic limbs and using a semi-conscious chicken as a matchball, but I introduced some work-mates to match night in terryland last night, and it will take a-lot of coaxing to get them down again, purely due to the hoof-ball mentality that was evident for most of the game last night. The frustrating part is that Utd are well able to play nice football when it's part of the plan. I agree with charging €20 - €25 to games, but this will only work if people are seeing some decent football.

Moving Lester back into midfield was a curious decision when the defense looked so settled for the 2nd half of last season with him in it. Wes at right back and regi in the middle meant the team had nothing going forward down the right wing. There was much more balance with regi on the right.

Anyways, roll on Cobh!
    "I'd rather have a full bottle in front of me than a full frontal labotomy."
    Fred Allen.

Deegan had a shocker. I would have NEVER picked the 11 as TC done. Wes was'nt needed to play at all last night, or even a simple swap with Reggi out to RB with Wes in a more natural central role would have been wiser(it happened eventually). Sorry to say it but Lester is not a center-midfield, a more then capable CB but he's not up playing CM in this league. Would have had him in defense instead of Wes and started Robbo or Russell is the middle. Missed the goal but Bohs didnt really create much from what i did see.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    Deegan had a shocker. I would have NEVER picked the 11 as TC done. Wes was'nt needed to play at all last night, or even a simple swap with Reggi out to RB with Wes in a more natural central role would have been wiser(it happened eventually). Sorry to say it but Lester is not a center-midfield, a more then capable CB but he's not up playing CM in this league. Would have had him in defense instead of Wes and started Robbo or Russell is the middle. Missed the goal but Bohs didnt really create much from what i did see.
    Bohs created very little really but were fairly solid for the most part and took the one chance they had after Reggie's blunder.

United probably deserved something out of the game on the balance of play but at the end of the day Bohs took their chance and United didn't take theirs.

What sort of crowd was at it lads, about how many ??

Quote Originally Posted by pixiehead View Post
    What sort of crowd was at it lads, about how many ??

Bohs brought a big crowd down as well.

75 Posts
    2,193 and if you read any of the Bohs site they feel they were very lucky last night.Some of the posters are going just a wee bit over the top with the criticism Maroon 7's post is fairly on the money.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

was that the biggest away crowd for a while?
    Last edited by foxx92; 08/03/2008 at 2:35 PM.

What kind of crowd Pixiehead? Id say a pretty ****ed off crowd myself. Wes is not up to it, Lester to CB Russler to start, Reggi wont have a game like that too often and Keano straight in when hes ready. Tactics have to be questioned hoofball against a team that didnt play all that well is fecking ridiculous.
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Drop Rodgers!!!!

He was truly shocking,that a professional goalkeeper and former G.A.A player cant kick a ball straight more then 30 yards is simply not good enough.Nevermind about shot stopping etc,give that Rouuse guy a chance,the amount of times he just gave possesion back to bohs last night was unreal,i would have taken him off at h.t last night as bohs werent getting any shots on him anyway and all he was having to do was kick it back up the field but he didnt do it properly once.Bohs keeper was able to kick it fine,so that excuse about the wind wont fly with me either.
    mc.cullough was excellent,great delivery from a few corners.
    why change lester???o'shea had a shocker.fenn and russell were excellent when they came on.
    decent crowd because of the awfull night.
    why not make a season ticket entrance behind the new stand behind j.k's house where theres a gap between houses??i assumed thats where the entrance would go,ideal spot.

i meant.

i meant why change lester from his C.B position,as someone else pointed out,not why change/sub him last night.

64 Posts
    McCullogh had a great game, really the only positive from Galway's viewpoint (thought Glynn had a decent game as well, but my God he has to be given the proper ball)

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post
    if you read any of the Bohs site they feel they were very lucky last night.
    Where do they say that?

"good result, and we deserved it," - sonofstan
    "Better side" - 39steps
    "Bohs the better side" - LucanBohs

I think a read of the forum givs the clear impression they're happy with the win, but certainly don't consider it lucky.

We cant complain all that much about losing based on the first half performance alone but at least we were probably the better side in the second half so it is something to build on for next week. New signings didnt do great but it is only the first game of the season. The way the team lined up was strange, it appears lessons havent been learned from last season.

Where do they say that?

"good result, and we deserved it," - sonofstan
    "Better side" - 39steps
    "Bohs the better side" - LucanBohs

I think a read of the forum givs the clear impression they're happy with the win, but certainly don't consider it lucky.
    Neither side really dominated. Bohs were slightly the better in a terrible first half. United definitely the better side in the 2nd half. Bohs took their chance. United spurned the one maybe two clearcut chances they created after the break. And that's all she wrote.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast