Page 16 of 23 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast

Thread: Trapattoni appointed Ireland coach - Confirmed

Its a great day. He has alot more English than i thought he would have aswell which is a great thing. Also great to hear some positivity about the team for a while. No 4 year plan nonsense. Roll on the qualifying campaign!

Thumbs up Trappatoni's record v Capello's etc.

Trapattoni, makes Capello’s look like Terry Venables....well,not quite that 'orrible'....eh Tel?

Well done 3 man panel, FAI & O'Brien

Capello Trapattoni
    Serie A titles 5* 7
    Italian Cups 0 2
    EC/Champs Lge 1 1
    Cup Winners Cup 0 1
    Uefa Cup 0 3
    Super Cup 1 1
    World Club Championship 0 1
    Other league titles 2 (SPA) 1 (GER), 1 (POR), 1 (AUS)
    Other league cups 0 1 (GER)

* Juventus two titles not included.

Trapattoni has won all Cup competitions he has entered with his teams in his career, not a bad omen for a country who have failed to qualify for the last World Cup and for next June’s continental tournament.

The only problem with the almost 70-year-old Salzburg coach is his spell as national coach.

In the two competitions he was at the helm of the national side, the Azzurri crashed out in the early stages. In 2002, in the second round against World Cup hosts South Korea and in the group stage in Portugal 2004.

Both times Italy accused referees and off the pitch Scandinavian allegiances but the reality was they did not perform.

Manager GP W D L Win%
    Bearzot 88 40 26 22 45%
    Vicini 54 33 14 7 61%
    Sacchi 53 34 11 8 64%
    Maldini 20 10 8 2 50%
    Zoff 23 11 7 5 48%
    Trapattoni 44 25 12 7 57%
    Lippi 29 17 10 2 59%
    Donadoni 16 10 3 3 63%

Looking at Italy managers since 1978, Bearzot and Lippi won the World Cup, Sacchi got to the final, Zoff qualified for the final at Euro 2000 and Vicini lost the World Cup semi-final on penalties.

Maldini’s fate too was decided from the penalty spot, in the quarter final against host country France in 1998.

How big a part did the booing at the Cyprus game and the previous game play in Stan's sacking and the process to find an acceptable ""replacement" Answer...A huge, huge part, unfortunate but true. unfortunate that it took that action to wake the FAI up.
    Last edited by Scram; 13/02/2008 at 9:10 PM. Reason: remove ****ing swear words

I said when Stan was appointed that the appointment was a serious mistake, even if he had, against all odds, performed well, it was always the wrong appointment. No experience and a a time after Kerr when experience was essential.

Trappatoni is the right appointment at this time, even if results don't go our way, this appointment brings optimism, takes us to another level, breeds confidence and adds respectibility to an organisation and team that were at an all time low.

Well done to all concerned.

It's exciting for sure and it will be interesting just what impact Trappatoni will have, I'm optimistic again. And I care about results not style

What a contrast in 2 consecutive appointments!! Stan wasn't even a coach at a League 1 outfit and Trappatoni and basically done it all.

http://www.setanta.com/en/Sport/News...ritain-locale/

Kerr has gone down in my estimation in recent months. I supported him right to the end when he was Ireland manager and felt that he should have had his contract extended and that he was undermined by Delaney and as a result I think he has been bitter since and cannot give credit where credit is due.
    In Trap we trust

kerr really pis$es me off...sometimes more than stan...at least i know that stan is not singing off the same hymn sheet

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post

Kerr has gone down in my estimation in recent months. I supported him right to the end when he was Ireland manager and felt that he should have had his contract extended and that he was undermined by Delaney and as a result I think he has been bitter since and cannot give credit where credit is due.
    In fairness, the headline in that link is misleading. He isn't vocalising anything that any other sceptic hasn't thought to themselves over the last 24 hours....

"It is fair to say that he has got a great pedigree" says Kerr. (which no-one is denying, club wise) but, as most people opine, dubious disallowed goals or not : "he has not got a great track record in international football , as Italy went out tamely in Japan [World Cup 2002] and in Portugal [European championships 2004], where they went out in the group stages."

It's the man's opinion. Right or wrong. I can't honestly say that makes him seem bitter. He's simply expressing what he thinks when put on the spot by an interviewer.

It may not be what the vast majority of Irish fans (myself included) want to read right now, but it certainly could be considered a viable point of view...
    Last edited by Bondvillain; 14/02/2008 at 1:20 AM.
    On the way into the stadium, an elderly San Marino Steward waved us in and said "Tonight, may the best team win"

And they nearly did.

When you buy a stock or mutual fund you always get the * saying "Past Performance is No Guarantee of Future Results". The very same applies to football. There are no sure bets in football, that's why it's fun The FAI have delivered a manager with a very fine CV, what more could they have done? We should be cautiously optimistic and enjoy it.

52 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Kerr
    he has not a great track record in international football – unlike what [FAI CEO] John Delaney said – as Italy went out tamely in Japan [World Cup 2002] and in Portugal [European championships 2004], where they went out in the group stages.
    Kerr sounding a little bitter. At least Trapp got his team qualified, unlike Kerr and Stan.

He's had resources at all the big clubs that he has had success at. These clubs expected silverware and there was always a benefactor involved to help him.
    Kerr is certainly a glass half-empty kind of guy.

On 2002, I think anyone who saw that game against S Korea with the slightest but of knowledge of football would know Italy would have won if there was a competent officiating crew.
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

Kerr was really trying to reason with Dolan who was completely against the appointment. Dolan looked furious last night.

Kerr has gone down in my estimation in recent months.
    I'm sure he'll lose sleep over that Neil.

He was asked for an opinion and he gave it. At least he is honest enough to give an opinion not like the bland sound bites that come from others in the profession.

IMHO the man is a legend of Irish football and is always to be seen on away trips .. not like some other ex-Irish managers and players who never go to another game after they finish their Ireland careers.

He deserves more respect even if you don't agree with his opinion

The FAI have actually appointted someone that the fans are happy about, can't actually believe it, over the moon roll on September. G I, G I O, G I, G I O, G I G I O Giovanni Trapattoni!!

386 Posts
    I don't see anything wrong with Kerr's comments - I think they're reasonably balanced.

There's always going to be a certain level of doubt attached to any managerial appointment - nobody is perfect. And Trapattoni over the course of 30-35 years in management is certainly going to have experienced some high points and some low points.

That's all Kerr did with his comments - he highlighted Trapattoni's high points and he highlighted his low points.

His point about his international record is valid though esp. Euro 2004. From what I remember of the Italy-Sweden game, Italy were ultra-defensive in the second half against Sweden. They totally dominated the first half - Sweden hardly touched the ball - and really Italy had enough chances to have been 3 or 4 goals up at half time instead of just 1-0 up. Second half Italy were definitely content to protect their lead. They sat back, let Sweden into the match and Sweden get a late goal that has been continually talked about since here in Sweden. There is no doubt that Italy should have won that match with a few goals to spare.

But in saying the above, ask yourself what type of team went on to win Euro 2004. Were Greece an offensive team?

Of all the names mentioned during the selection process I don't think anybody can argue that Trapattoni wasn't the most outstanding candidate for the job. We have never won anything at senior international level (except a tournament in Iceland ) so Kerr is certainly right when he says that "Ireland is totally different" to what Trapattoni is used to.

But let's see what he can do.

87 Posts
    Givens and Kerr.

Two clowns
    The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist thinks it will change; the realist adjusts the sails.

Snap - I saw him at the weekend in an interview and he is worse than a barrel of lemons. Hes let me down.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

A mate texted this yesterday:

"Great news for Ireland. We've been mediocre for too long now. The people before him just weren't up to the job but I think this is going to be a success. I really feel that Dustin the Turkey can bring the Eurovision home".
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    A mate texted this yesterday:

"Great news for Ireland. We've been mediocre for too long now. The people before him just weren't up to the job but I think this is going to be a success. I really feel that Dustin the Turkey can bring the Eurovision home".

When did "The Turkey" get added to his title. He was always just Dustin when I was growing up. That post has really tarnish this appointment for me. Cheers.
    Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?

130 Posts

Couldn't agree more although I didn't think he deserved to have his contract extended after the insipid performances in the swiss games in both his campaigns "-0 defaet away and 0-0 at home) and they way the team surrendured leads that would have qualified us against Israel home and away as a direct result of his tactics (Kavanagh for an injured Robiie Keane after 25 minutes at home??? Farcical). He has been vert bitter since, that RTE programme he made was cringewrothy to watch. It's a shame because I'd always had a lot of time for him.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    Dolan looked furious last night.
    More from Dolan: http://eleven-a-side.com/boysingreen...p?newsid=31040

Kerr's been fairly negative in his comments for a while now, read some of his articles in the Irish Times about Stan's games, even the wins over Wales and Slovakia and it's hard to sympathise with him.

After the Wales game, I was walking through Croke Park to leave with the lads I went to the game with, Kerr was actually standing beside one of us. So he turns to Kerr and asks "well, what did you think of that Mr Kerr", "thought it was a load of sh!te" was his response. I resisted the urge to point out Stan had just beaten a team ranked far higher than any win he achieved in a competitive game.

[quote=Scram;877228]Trapattoni, makes Capello’s look like Terry Venables....well,not quite that 'orrible'....eh Tel?

Well done 3 man panel, FAI & O'Brien

Capello Trapattoni
    Serie A titles 5* 7
    Italian Cups 0 2
    EC/Champs Lge 1 1
    Cup Winners Cup 0 1
    Uefa Cup 0 3
    Super Cup 1 1
    World Club Championship 0 1
    Other league titles 2 (SPA) 1 (GER), 1 (POR), 1 (AUS)
    Other league cups 0 1 (GER)

* Juventus two titles not included.

Trapattoni has won all Cup competitions he has entered with his teams in his career, not a bad omen for a country who have failed to qualify for the last World Cup and for next June’s continental tournament.

The only problem with the almost 70-year-old Salzburg coach is his spell as national coach.

In the two competitions he was at the helm of the national side, the Azzurri crashed out in the early stages. In 2002, in the second round against World Cup hosts South Korea and in the group stage in Portugal 2004.

Both times Italy accused referees and off the pitch Scandinavian allegiances but the reality was they did not perform.

Manager GP W D L Win%
    Bearzot 88 40 26 22 45%
    Vicini 54 33 14 7 61%
    Sacchi 53 34 11 8 64%
    Maldini 20 10 8 2 50%
    Zoff 23 11 7 5 48%
    Trapattoni 44 25 12 7 57%
    Lippi 29 17 10 2 59%
    Donadoni 16 10 3 3 63%

Looking at Italy managers since 1978, Bearzot and Lippi won the World Cup, Sacchi got to the final, Zoff qualified for the final at Euro 2000 and Vicini lost the World Cup semi-final on penalties.

Maldini’s fate too was decided from the penalty spot, in the quarter final against host country France in 1998.

jaysus fair play im only young didn't really know much about him 'til now

Page 16 of 23 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast