If we all dont take the bait, we would have no fun. What new players have shown up at the Boro for the new season or is this top secret. Cant wait to see S. Gavin in the SL (wish it was with Celtic) heard he is playing great stuff. Pity I will only see him play twice next season.
I heard that Grattan are forcing Celtic to play on a astro turf pitch next weekend. What a joke next it will be on tarmac and with umbro balls. No wonder none of the Grattan boys wanted to comment on their pitch or lack of one. Not many travelling due to the Saturday fixture. Didnt know they were a Saturday side?
All teams in the Cork AUL Premier (except Leeside) play on a Saturday. Why is it a joke?? Surely ye would prefer to play on an all weather pitch rather than in a mud pit which is what most of the pitches are like down here at the moment.
Grattan’s pitch is very small, not a great surface, shed for dressing rooms and is a very intimidating place to play so I'd imagine dat they'll be using Blarney or Mayfield's facilities (which are world class) resulting in a better game for the neutrals to watch and will allow the better footballin side to win on the day!!
any danger of this match being off ?its on saturday at 2 in santry, is the weather bad in dublin ?
will there be a big crowd there from local teams or home support???
Last edited by carrick hoops; 01/02/2008 at 8:13 PM.
We play all out games on grass pitches good and bad. I have seen games on astro turf pitches (one team in Mayo play on one) and it is a total different game, very little tackling and the bounce of the ball is much higher. Astro turf pitches are OK for training or over 35's, but to play a game of this importance on one it is a joke in my mind. How many competitive games have you seen on astro turf and would you say its the same game. If playing on astro pitches results in a better game why are all games not played on them?
Last edited by Closing Time; 01/02/2008 at 9:15 PM.
I dont agree with astro turf for competitive matches.Its not what football is about.Its nice to watch football on grass.All those tackles and overhead kicks.Theres not that many matches called off altogether because of bad pitches.![]()
I’ve only seen 3 FAI Junior Cup games (Ballyphehane V Ballymun, Ballyphehane V Moville Celtic and Grattan V Clonmel Celtic) played on Blarneys astro turf pitch so I don’t claim to be an expert on the matter by any means.
However there was no shortage of tackling (sliding or not) in these matches, maybe the commitment level from the players involved was greater than that of a ‘mere’ Mayo league game.![]()
Obviously the bounce of the ball will be different on an astro turf pitch compared to a dry grass pitch and also the bounce (or lack of) will be different on a wet/waterlogged pitch. (good players will adapt to the bounce quickly!!)
The only points I was making is dat Grattan as the home team obviously have the right to play the game on an Saturday which suits their players not the opposition they are up against.
And if their pitch is waterlogged next week then I think their perfectly entitled to play on a Fifa approved all weather pitch in Cork (which suits their passing game) rather than taking the risk of making a costly trip up the country to play on a grass pitch dat may or may not be in as worse a condition as their own pitch.
The closest Ballyphehane fc will get to astroturf when they come to redcastle is the wee mat for cleaning your feet outside the local pub.
Easy there inexile - even a stopped clock is right twice a day!![]()
carrick 1--0 trinity corinthians
another good performance away from home for this determined side, they had to soak a little pressure in the first half ,playing against a strong wind and a big physical side .
carrick controlled the second half and scored a good headed goal through Barry Murphy..
away support was great again outnumbering home crowd 10 to 1..
at least 120 travelled for this game in wintery conditions ,played on the longest pitch in EUROPE !!!!!!
Well done Carrick.Great result away from home.
you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.
Home advantage is massive at this stage of the competition. Even if it means moving to somewhere else in the county - as long as you have a good support behind you there is nothing like it. I'd fight tooth and nail to keep the game at home and fair play to Grattan for having the presence of mind to book the astro pitch.
This pitch will reward the better team. Fitness is paramount. Ball moves very fast. Sounds like you're making up excuses already?!!?
England/Russia anyone?!![]()
I have no problem with Grattan doing everything to play in Cork, maybe I am the only one who wouldnt be happy playing a game on a astro turf pitch. Its not about making up excuses we already know we are in for a difficult afternoon from an excellent Grattan team. If these pitch as so great why arent all teams in Ireland playing on them? IMO good for training thats all. I will say no more on the matter its down for O'Neill Park on Sat 2.00 pm
Redcastle beat Ballyphehane on penalties.Was 0-0 after extra time.Was a match that either team could have won.Ballyphehane started very brightly.moved the ball about well.It took Redcastle twenty minutes to get goin in slippery conditions.But after that it was evens.
Ballyphehane missed their first 3 penalties and also their last penalty.It will be a long journey home,but good luck to them in the remainder of their season.A good bunch of lads.I would also like to congratulate my own team in progressing to next round. Well done.
Fair play - i'd agree with u preferring to play on grass. Everyone would - but its an ample replacement, and if it means salvaging home advantage its a no brainer.
Its an expensive biz these fake grass pitches so i'm presuming thats why everyone is not playing on them.
Best of luck in the game