Well done to Ballina Town. That was a massive result, but St. Kevin's are not the force they were, even three-four years ago. Was Eoghan McHale playing?
6th Round Results
St.Kevin's Boys 2-3 Ballina Town
Clonmel Town 2-1 Evergreen
St.Michaels 4-1 Kinsale
2007/08 FAI Umbro Junior Challenge Cup
7th Round Draw
Milford Utd. V Corduff or St. Peters Athlone
Redcastle V Ballyphehane Celtic or Moville Celtic
New Ross Cel or Grattan Utd. V Castlebar Celtic.
Cherryorchard or Baldoyle Utd. V Clonmel Town
Trinity Corinthians V Carrick Utd.
Navan Cosmos or Manorhamilton V Douglas Hall
St. Michaels V Crumlin Utd. or Lisselton Rovers
Killester Utd or Ballynanty Rovers V Ballina Town
Fixtures to be played week-ending 2nd & 3rd February
Last edited by abbeyvale; 21/01/2008 at 8:15 AM.
Well done to Ballina Town. That was a massive result, but St. Kevin's are not the force they were, even three-four years ago. Was Eoghan McHale playing?
Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!
some teams will be two rounds ahead before the killester match is played ?
is this right/fair ?
what do ye think ?
SEMI FINALISTS CARRICK KILLESTER STMICHAELS ST PETERS ATHLONE?!
Last edited by carrick hoops; 21/01/2008 at 1:21 PM.
Was at the Town match yesterday, can't see Town winning it out. They still look shaky at the back. They scored early and never got the second to kill the game off. Fair play to Evergreen, they played very well. It was a superb goal from Tony Scully to win it, he is pure class. I thought Paul Scully should never have been sent off, he put his arm to protect himself, and yes I am biased but I am honest, and he didn't deserve to get a straight red. John Lyons was only evening things up haven't sent off the Evergreen lad for a head butt.
Must complement our "beloved" PRO, who actually went over to the player after the game and shook his hand and had a brief chat with him. I don't particularly like the man but I must say that was a nice gesture and was appreciated by the player and the evergreen people.
I think Michael's have abetter chance of winning it out than Town but who knows.
i wouldnt be writing off balla against killester, balla on their day would and could beat any team in the country
afaik the sponsors of the aul league nivea provide a holiday for the winners of the league, dont know where they are gone though
Just a thought,but who of the remaining teams would have had the best chance of beating Killester if they had a home draw an Killester had to travel....................
Their's only one Dinny Pop's.
killester aint invincible, quite a lot of teams would fancy their chances against them given a home draw.
i cant remember who they played last year on the way to the final, but they played a very poor st john bosco in the final
I believe that St michaels from tipperary would stand as good a chance as any that are left at holding killester,in goal they have a former junior international and at the centre of the defence they have the curent junior pairing of breen and walsh. they give away very little and are very strong from set plays, they also have some cracking players goin forward too. Pity they have to face another good side in lisselton in the next round. Clonmel town would also fancy their chances i feel, i was at the game yesterday and while evergreen were the better side they created very little against such a shaky defence. People forget that last year town were only 4 minutes away from getting killester to penos in dublin, i feel after watching the game over in clonmel yesterday that there are only a few things wrong, the squad is far better than last year, but problems persist with team selection and favouritism which could well be there undoing. Young burns turned the game in athlone in the last round (from what i've heard) and has done so in many games this season and yet he still can't get a start. I'm just givin my biased tipperary view but i think town to go as far as the quarters if they cant get it together and Michaels to go all the way to the final possibly
ya kevin o sullivan is top class keeper. will take superb shot to beat him. saints back 4 is best in the country if they get paul tobin back fit alongside james walsh,paul breen and chris higgins. i dont think they are that strong in midfield davey ryan( ex junior international and one of saints best ever players) is huge loss to them this season. Ray McMahon has great engine but he got badly injured yesterday so hope he recovers soon. think saints are weak enough on wings but having raymie o brien back is a big advantage. up front they have one of the most lethal finishers in the tsdl history paul kennedy. all the man needs is half a chance and he will score. as long as he stays fit i think saints will keep winning cup games on all fronts cause there so mean at the back and with him poaching a goal or 2 every game theyll keep winning. kinsale were very poor i taught though yesterday had a good striker in number 11 very pacey but there right hand side yesterday really left them down yesterday i taught neither right full or right winger performed on the day. the sub they brought on though number 16 really dominated midfield for kinsale he should have started. saints 2nd goal was a disgrace blatant offside
if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!
Yes,McHale was playing.didnt stand out.Fantastic performance by Ballina. Never easy to go to the capital and get a result.
We are looking at St Mochtas ground, however we have a call on dalymount at lunchtime tomorrow.
it looks like dalymount.
you'll be well looked after when the game is over regardless, and will welcome you and your supporters to dublin.
by all accounts (malahide and trinity), you are a very good side and hard to beat.
Hopefully its a good one.
are trinity a good side ?
what is the pitch/ground like ?
the bookies have them as outsiders but this can be misleading as they just go on past record in cups !![]()
Trinity are a good enough side. Fairly big but don't really play to their strengths in my mind (i.e They don't hoof it long) Haven't been to their ground. Good luck.
was the crumlin lisselton game plyed?
beat us 3-0 in last round. Pitch is part of the Trinity sports campus in santry.Long narrow pitch, surface not great due to weather but solid enough.
Very big physical team (not dirty in any way). Play a simple but excellant brand of football, solid at the back two good wingers and 2 v.good strikers who link well, dangerous inthe air. If you can dominate the posession in middle of the park you have a chance. Definately better than bookies suggest and dark horses to win it imo. Will take a very good, strong organised team to get a result. Has to be said they are a great bunch of lads who really looked after us post match. Good luck to both of ye.
you are only a loser when you stop trying. Playing sport does not build character, it reveals it.