Clare Soccer Website

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2on2 View Post
    well lads this is my first time posting on this site but i have been reading it for over the last year or so. i have been playing soccer in clare for 20 years now so hopefully i will be able to put my 2 pence in when i can.. just on the point above how could ye forget back in the 95/96 season Cloughleigh youths got to the FAI Youths Cup Final and correct me if iam wrong were beating by Home Farm 2 - 0 and it was played in de beers. Mark Stembridge was captain of Cloughleigh and in my opinion the best keeper ever to come out of clare played in goal Barry Ryan.
    was that not played in flannans? could have been double figures only for barry.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by avenueC View Post
    long time ago now but i played with turnpike in a munster youths or u17 final vs some tipp team down in caimins.. hammered though

jamie is wasted out wide
    i think that was u17fai with connellans and healy and co. ye beat derry city 1-0 in 1/4's on tec field. the same year avenue youths were beaten 2-0 in munster semi final by shannon town in newmarket.
    The above is all opinion and based on personal experience. Unless stated otherwise it is not a dig at anybody, well probably none of you lot.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by 2on2 View Post
    Yea iam sure i was a youth player myself that year and played for Oldtown. Cloughleigh beat us on their way out of clare that year and sure besides that Avenue have been the only team to reach the junior FAI cup final from clare back in 1990......
    where u on oldtown team in cup epics v avenue? did ye know avenue reached the last 32 of fai 1991 only to be beaten by newmarket, who in turn got beaten in last 16. two quality teams who could probably have gone further if they hadn't met.

Quote Originally Posted by guvnor View Post
    "very small then in the middle of the park and in Clare soccer winning headers here is vital"

Jamie is one of the best headers of a ball around despite his lack of height!!!!
    still all depends on were manager wants him to play if good enough
    should be able to adapt to playing out wide ..

" football is a simple game "

Quote Originally Posted by Clifford View Post
    where u on oldtown team in cup epics v avenue? did ye know avenue reached the last 32 of fai 1991 only to be beaten by newmarket, who in turn got beaten in last 16. two quality teams who could probably have gone further if they hadn't met.

ah yea i remember then as if they were yesterday i played in both of them, they were properly the best cup games i was ever involved in,just because it was the might of the Avenue against a second devision side and most of us were just out of youths that year 1997..Avenue had just been beating in the FAI Cup semi final against portmarnock.They had all the big guns out that morning..Nobody gave us a chance and it was decided by a last min first half goal by Mark Hehir (super player) We had chances but JP (second only to b ryan as the best keeper in clare) was like a cat in goal for the avenue and they held out for their win..there was a great crowd at that match in the theatre of dreams (fairgreen) played on a wet sunday morning...The second was the following year and it was as far as i know the first game to be played in the county grounds.Avenue were awarded a very dodgy goal just before half time by the most famous of all referees that ever set foot on a playing field in clare (for all the wrong reasons) and what made it worse he was only doing the line that day and managed to give a goal even though he was at least 20 yards up from the goal line he was able to see that the whole of the ball had passed the line!!! Avenue were 3-2 up and we were pushing for the goal when it has to be said one of the most lethal finishers at the time Eddie mc carthy broke up field and scored game over... it will go down as another great cup tie.. it was just a pitty that these games were both semi finals and that we never got to meet in a final...

Cup Draws

Tonights draws now on www.claresoccer.net

Clare cup.

Any predictions lads for who is favourites for this years cup?
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Can't get the draw up, i always seem to have problems when i go into the site.
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

Cup Draw...

Round 2
    Burren Utd / Bridge Utd B V Tulla Utd
    Avenue Utd A V Shannon Olympic B / Rhine Rovers
    Hermitage B / Mountshannon Celtic V Ennistymon Town
    Cooraclare Celtic V Lifford A
    Rock Rovers V Newtown A
    Mohers Celtic B / Rineanna Rovers V Lifford B
    Manus Celtic A V Hermitage A
    Bridge Celtic B / Avenue Utd B V Kilrush Rangers
    Connolly Celtic V Corofin Harps A / Cratloe Celtic
    Shannon Olympic A V Inch Crusaders
    St Pats B V Bunratty A / Bridge Utd A
    Bridge Celtic A / Corofin Harps B V Newmarket Celtic B
    Turnpike Rovers / Kilkishen Celtic V St Pats A
    Newtown B V Kilmaley Utd
    Manus Celtic B V Kildysart Celtic / Newmarket Celtic A
    Bunratty B V Moher Celtic A

U17

i think that was u17fai with connellans and healy and co. ye beat derry city 1-0 in 1/4's on tec field. the same year avenue youths were beaten 2-0 in munster semi final by shannon town in newmarket.
    YA WE BEAT derry that yr , we lost 5 nil to oldbridge (i think ) from tipp. im sure there was a cup presented to em that day... but as im remembering now we lost to st josephs boys up in dublin 2-0 the same yr so i think it was the u17 fai semi we lost in dublin... an lost the munster u17 final( im open to correction on that!)
    Last edited by avenueC; 22/01/2008 at 4:54 PM.

"NO SUMMER SOCCER"-Clare People

Did anyone see the article in the Clare People about Summer Soccer??It claimed to be the results of a survey on whether Junior football in Clare switched to Summer.
    Who took part in the survey??
    Was everyone notified that there was a survey?
    The published results were so biased that it could mistaken for a GAA survey.
    It could also be mistaken for a P.R. exercise by the "GAA Soccer clubs" in this county who are once again trying their best to keep our game from progressing.
    They fear the possible change to Summer Football as a huge threat to their existence.What they are admitting is that their players only play the game as a second choice and if it comes to a choice they will choose another sport.If that is the case they should have no say in what happens in our game and should go back and mind their own business and sort out matters of their own sport.
    This article tried to make it a forgone conclusion that the majority of people involved (and more importantly not just those who use our game to keep themselves warm in the winter) do not want to switch to summer football.
    The worst comment in the article has to be reserved for the fact that schoolboy football moved successfully to summer with all the same threats in advance i.e. halving the number of participants and clubs.THAT DID NOT HAPPEN AND WONT HAPPEN.The article then goes on to say "there has been cooperation with the GAA that allowed summer soccer".This is an utter and unadulterated spin on what actually happened.The truth is there was a 95% vote in favour of changing then a meeting followed with the 2 GAA bodies (hurling and football) where this was stated (not requested) and the best way forward was worked out between the 3 bodies in an equal partnership which overall has worked well.
    Summer soccer for junior clubs has not been decided by this survey or this article!!!
    Roll on the AGM
    Last edited by shelbourne1904; 23/01/2008 at 1:15 PM.
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

43 Posts
    [QUOTE=2on2;859192]ah yea i remember then as if they were yesterday i played in both of them, they were properly the best cup games i was ever involved in,just

who were u marking? and is brian mcmahon still kicking ball. ye had a quality team and if ye had stayed together longer ye'd have won cups. that avenue team was backboned by avenue youths team of 92 like the great bunratty team were backboned by their youths.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    Did anyone see the article in the Clare People about Summer Soccer??It claimed to be the results of a survey on whether Junior football in Clare switched to Summer.
    Who took part in the survey??
    Was everyone notified that there was a survey?
    The published results were so biased that it could mistaken for a GAA survey.
    It could also be mistaken for a P.R. exercise by the "GAA Soccer clubs" in this county who are once again trying their best to keep our game from progressing.
    They fear the possible change to Summer Football as a huge threat to their existence.What they are admitting is that their players only play the game as a second choice and if it comes to a choice they will choose another sport.If that is the case they should have no say in what happens in our game and should go back and mind their own business and sort out matters of their own sport.
    This article tried to make it a forgone conclusion that the majority of people involved (and more importantly not just those who use our game to keep themselves warm in the winter) do not want to switch to summer football.
    The worst comment in the article has to be reserved for the fact that schoolboy football moved successfully to summer with all the same threats in advance i.e. halving the number of participants and clubs.THAT DID NOT HAPPEN AND WONT HAPPEN.The article then goes on to say "there has been cooperation with the GAA that allowed summer soccer".This is an utter and unadulterated spin on what actually happened.The truth is there was a 95% vote in favour of changing then a meeting followed with the 2 GAA bodies (hurling and football) where this was stated (not requested) and the best way forward was worked out between the 3 bodies in an equal partnership which overall has worked well.
    Summer soccer for junior clubs has not been decided by this survey or this article!!!
    Roll on the AGM
    do you think schoolboys summer soccer was a success, seen as their still waiting for season to end? some teams training since last june. most teams have only played 10 league 1 cup and 1 sfai. 12 games (tops). 30 weeks later???????

SFAI would still go on in the winter irrespective of summer change.Indications frm SFAI is that this will change shortly.
    Elongated season is because this year started late due to runover rom last years winter season with a month break only in between thats a once off occurence which wont be repeated allowing earlier start.Further difficulties occured due to unprecedented bad summer with 3 weeks lost which is unlikely to occur again.
    You need to look at the leagues again as only one league undecided .Unprecedented success of Clare teams in National Cup,which hopefully continues,also disrupted completion,in particular Avenue,but also Connoly and Tulla.
    Great crowds during the summer.Great atmosphere.Great to see newer clubs winning things such as Pats ,Burren.Yes great success.Bridge United won a league after 11 years .Ask anyone involved would they revert.
    "You'll not see nothing like the Shelbourne team"

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by shelbourne1904 View Post
    SFAI would still go on in the winter irrespective of summer change.Indications frm SFAI is that this will change shortly.
    Elongated season is because this year started late due to runover rom last years winter season with a month break only in between thats a once off occurence which wont be repeated allowing earlier start.Further difficulties occured due to unprecedented bad summer with 3 weeks lost which is unlikely to occur again.
    You need to look at the leagues again as only one league undecided .Unprecedented success of Clare teams in National Cup,which hopefully continues,also disrupted completion,in particular Avenue,but also Connoly and Tulla.
    Great crowds during the summer.Great atmosphere.Great to see newer clubs winning things such as Pats ,Burren.Yes great success.Bridge United won a league after 11 years .Ask anyone involved would they revert.
    u14 league only one not finished (an 8 game league). still cups semi's to play. so 6 league games + 1 cup game + say 2 to 3 (generous for most teams) sfai cup games = 9 games into 30 weeks. ok we lost a nice bit due to weather christmas free wkends etc but 21 weeks???????????? i'd hate to see 18 game leagues.

43 Posts

dublin league winners killester on the way to south africa 10 days, last year maimi, portmarnock went to memphis???????????????????????????
    clare league winners dont even get a set of jerseys??????? there must be some sponsorship deal. any details lads

can clare league improve the league by offering the winners a carrot (prob the veg and not the gold). a squad of 20 (partners not) a week in spain in january €300 ish €6000. could this be a realistic target. is reg fee €30? they could increase it to €50 a man and the extra €20 (20 panel x €20 x 10 teams = €4000) could actually do it for all divisions. €16000 do something like €7000 for premier. €3000 each for other divisions. gives lower teams an extra incentive to get up. tie this with bigger sponsor prize, even €5000 gives €9000 and €3000 each other division still with the other €3000 for cup winners.

what ye think.

dublin league winners killester on the way to south africa 10 days, last year maimi, portmarnock went to memphis???????????????????????????
    clare league winners dont even get a set of jerseys??????? there must be some sponsorship deal. any details lads

can clare league improve the league by offering the winners a carrot (prob the veg and not the gold). a squad of 20 (partners not) a week in spain in january €300 ish €6000. could this be a realistic target. is reg fee €30? they could increase it to €50 a man and the extra €20 (20 panel x €20 x 10 teams = €4000) could actually do it for all divisions. €16000 do something like €7000 for premier. €3000 each for other divisions. gives lower teams an extra incentive to get up. tie this with bigger sponsor prize, even €5000 gives €9000 and €3000 each other division still with the other €3000 for cup winners.

what ye think.
    don't think clare league will go for this .. they are as tight as a ducks arse.. how long have they been charging 30 euro per player and what have they to show for it , a pitch in doora which is never used
    they just take your money and thats it ..

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    bit harsh there old git...the pitch in doora is used regularly wit all the school boys teams playing inter county.junior teams can request to use it if they wish..i think 30 euro is nothing to be registered to play football.sure dont we all spend 10 euro to get into a disco and it only lasts 2 hours not 20 odd games.only a small majority like you would think this..otherwise we wouldn't have 42 junior teams in clare..
    still don't see what clubs get out of this.. most teams have a squad of 16-20 players so approx 500 euro or 1000 euro if a & b teams a lot of money a few clubs could badly do with .. i know when i was playing a long while ago players were moaning then about having to pay league registration fee,.. dont forget a lot of clubs used to charge a membership fee to try and cover expenses for the year,, now it is 30 euro to register plus pay for training 2 nights a week and then pay again on match day ,plus your lotto tickets to support local club, not much money left now to go to disco .. must get back to work now boss is giving me funny looks.

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    54 people took part in a survey on claresoccer.net in which it was a majority vote...(i think about 80%) said no to switching to summer soccer..i for one would be in favour of summer soccer.but unless everyone takes part in these votes we will never have it..

Lads survey was crap, if they were serious they would have sent a letter to all clubs informing them of what was going on, instead i think they only told the gaa clubs, who responded Please don't we won't be able to play soccer anymore as we have all GAA heads boo-hoo...Junior soccer is going downhill in Clare FACTS.............
    'I couldn't settle in Italy - it was like living in a foreign country.'- Ian Rush

Page 38 of 76 FirstFirst ... 28363738394048 ... LastLast