Thread: 2008 EL Admission Prices

22 Posts
    UCD General admission

€15 adults €10 non UCD student €5 UCD Student and Under 12. all parts of the ground

Season Tickets

Adults €160 Non UCD students €90 UCD Students €50

Derry have now sold 1850 season tickets for the new campaign. Not as good as last year but still respectable

47 Posts
    Youths Season Tickets are €150 adults and €75 for kids and includes all cup games (or will that be game?)

Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post
    in fairness you can still go into the old stand for the €20 but to my mind that should allow you access to all areas. can't really stomach the €25 for the new stand. especially with season tickets jumping from €150 to €250 it will mean a large decline in the amount of these bought.
    To put this into context - for a club at the bottom of League 2 in England, I pay STG£20 (€26.74) seated, STG£15 (€20.06) standing.

If you pay for cheap football you get cheap football - because it becomes more difficult for the clubs to pay decent players.

On my trips home to Galway I'll happily pay €20 or €25 - games in the Premier Division are of a lot better standard than the tripe played in League 2!

Quote Originally Posted by Flexy View Post
    Derry have now sold 1850 season tickets for the new campaign. Not as good as last year but still respectable
    That's fantastic in fairness. Especially with no Europe wasnt that the reason for so many sales last year)

What are other clubs season ticket numbers do ye know?

Ive heard ours have been selling steadily but no idea what that is numbers wise.
    Last edited by micls; 19/01/2008 at 10:57 AM.

GUFC sold over 700 last season.

Quote Originally Posted by exiled_gufc_fan View Post
    To put this into context - for a club at the bottom of League 2 in England, I pay STG£20 (€26.74) seated, STG£15 (€20.06) standing.

If you pay for cheap football you get cheap football - because it becomes more difficult for the clubs to pay decent players.

On my trips home to Galway I'll happily pay €20 or €25 - games in the Premier Division are of a lot better standard than the tripe played in League 2!
    How is that putting it inot context? Putting it into context is comparing it with other clubs with similar standards in the same league with the same challenges facing them.

Its fine for a die hard to say theyl pay that much to watch their team, most of us would but those are the people who will be there anyway.

Our league needs to get people off their chairs/barstools and entice them to support our teams. That is the only long term feasible way to improve revenue and sign better players, not overcharging the people who come every week, buy programmes, merchandise and everything anyway.

[quote=micls;857560]That's fantastic in fairness. Especially with no Europe wasnt that the reason for so many sales last year)

Ye your right. We only had 800 sold before Kenny's arrival, this doubled within the space of 2 weeks, club are pussing the sale of season tickets as it will provide more money to the manager to spend on players

Quote Originally Posted by exiled_gufc_fan View Post

To put that in context I pay £16 for a seat at a club at the top of League 2 and the football they play is highly entertaining.

It's interesting that St Pats were slated last year for increasing stand tickets to €20 including a programme worth €3. There was talk when Special K took over that prices would be reduced back to previous levels but it didn't happen. Now we see other clubs increasing their prices, looks like it's a trend.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr A View Post
    Harps:

Admission Prices 2008 are as follows:

Seats - €20

Adult Terrace - €15

Student/OAP Terrace - €10

Children (U12) - €5
    robbers, charging kids under 12 years of age is the lowest of the lowest.

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Derry City Prices

Season Tickets

Adult New Stand: £160
    Concessionary New Sand: £100

Adult Terrace: £140
    Concessionary Terrace: £75

Match Day Tickets

Adult New Stand: £11
    Concessionary New Stand: £9

Adult Terrace: £10
    Concessionary Terrace: £7

Concessionary applies to under 16 and over 65.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    Its to stop a scenario like Galway had at times last season (ie. the place over-run with kids who show no interest in the match) Tickets are handed out to the local schools where they get in free when accompanied by an adult. It worked very well last season.

Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    Bit Harsh maybe??

Anyway we're €12 in and €180 season ticket apparently.

Bring your own chair.

47 Posts
    You shouldn't charge for kids. I agree that admission should be when accompanied by an adult to stop groups of them just messing about. These kids are future season ticket holders. Get them involved and interested a.s.a.p. in my opinion

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by oldyouth View Post
    You shouldn't charge for kids. I agree that admission should be when accompanied by an adult to stop groups of them just messing about. These kids are future season ticket holders. Get them involved and interested a.s.a.p. in my opinion
    As I said, kids accompanied by an adult get in free, basically the idea is to encourage the kids to bring their parents.

Suspended

You can pay €10 in to see Barcelona play!!!!! Just puts it into perspective

Quote Originally Posted by U-C-D View Post
    They also have multi-million euro TV contracts and sponserships to pay the bills.

238 Posts
    True but you would need binoculars

When Malaga were last in la liga top division their season ticket was €120, when Madrid or Barcelona came to town the cost of a single ticket was €150.

Not in the league you can't...

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Its to stop a scenario like Galway had at times last season (ie. the place over-run with kids who show no interest in the match) Tickets are handed out to the local schools where they get in free when accompanied by an adult. It worked very well last season.
    Exactly, it was ridiculous at times.

There were a large number of kids attending games, with no intention other than to see their heroes, get a bag of chips and a coke at half-time, and go home safe in the knowledge that the lads on the pitch done their best.

Equally, it seemed evident at times, that there were many kids in Terryland, with no interest whatsoever in what was happening on the pitch. Many of them were seen to be congregating in groups in the old stand. I'm not going to accuse them of being up to no good, but its fair to say that they were not doing anything constructive, such as cheering the team on or investing in a match programme.

I'm sure there are implications regarding insurance also. This issue was raised by Nick Leeson (GUFC CEO), last month, in response to a criticism by a prospective season ticket holder. He may not have been able to attend all games with his children, but wished for them to be able to attend on their own. I understand the situation of the fan in question but I would have to agree with Nick Leeson that, no unattended kids should be gaining access to Terryland anymore.

When I was a nipper, I was given a free child's season ticket, from a soccer camp run by United. Many of these were given out but there never seemed to a problem with unattended children at the time, as the recipients of the tickets were actively involved in soccer at underage level. This ensured the tickets were given to children that would enjoy the match experience as is intended. But I would back the club fully in their policy regarding children.
    Last edited by gufcfan; 21/01/2008 at 12:45 AM.