Page 35 of 76 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2007/08

Quote Originally Posted by chappie View Post
    Even doh last years league champs are playing in the clare league alot of them would count themselves as originally from limerick,so maybe that has something to do with them not wanting to play with clare ot.
    dan aherne and adrian duhig(now in australia) would have been the only two on last years team that would have considered themselves limerick.....considering that dan played oscar traynor for clare for 2/3 years i find this a some what flawed point....

think the lack of bridge celtic representation is due to a couple of years ago 6 of the lads were on the panel, ger o connell was the only one to start any of the matchs with dan on the bench and i think the other 4 lads were a bit disillusioned with the set up and have no interest goin through the same sh1t again[/QUOTE]

Have to agree.Last year 15 players travelled to waterford for clare in their opening game.They drew.A few of these players were then told they were not
    needed anymore as the panel was being cut to 20 for the next game Im not joking about this.So can all the die hard clare league supporters tell me why anyone would have any bit of interest in playing for a team being run like this???????????

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    Its not a newtown thread but its a clare league thread and newtown are represented clare, so maybe you can keep your first 11 in your a4 refill pad,doesnt mean everyone else has too.
    Ah i'm only having ya on.

Skinny
    Derek Byrnes Jay Stetton Noel Donnellan Glenn Coyle

Ryan Kelly Anto Whyte Jamie Cullen Johnny Okoru

Cheeky Eddie
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

FORM IS TEMPORARY, CLASS IS PERMANENT

[QUOTE=smellyfeet;849515]Ah i'm only having ya on.

What about the bunny smellyfeet?
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

[QUOTE=Spudd;849519]
    Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post

What about the bunny smellyfeet?
    What about him. Joking ya,i forgot about him, i'd prob take out Okoro and put eddie in there and the Bun up front with ckeeky
    If you're in the penalty area and don't know what to do with the ball, put it in the net and we'll discuss the options later

Quote Originally Posted by Side Cutter View Post
    dan aherne and adrian duhig(now in australia) would have been the only two on last years team that would have considered themselves limerick.....considering that dan played oscar traynor for clare for 2/3 years i find this a some what flawed point....

think the lack of bridge celtic representation is due to a couple of years ago 6 of the lads were on the panel, ger o connell was the only one to start any of the matchs with dan on the bench and i think the other 4 lads were a bit disillusioned with the set up and have no interest goin through the same sh1t again

Have to agree.Last year 15 players travelled to waterford for clare in their opening game.They drew.A few of these players were then told they were not
    needed anymore as the panel was being cut to 20 for the next game Im not joking about this.So can all the die hard clare league supporters tell me why anyone would have any bit of interest in playing for a team being run like this???????????[/QUOTE]

post of the year!!!

Quote Originally Posted by smellyfeet View Post

Skinny
    Derek Byrnes Jay Stetton Noel Donnellan Glenn Coyle

Ryan Kelly Anto Whyte Jamie Cullen Johnny Okoru

Cheeky Eddie

No Tom O'Hare?? Good mix of experience and youth there though! Is there much Support goin up to support Newtown? It's gonna be a long day for them if there is! I reckon a lot of them will be in bed by half ten that night for Match Of The Day!

Quote Originally Posted by Offside View Post
    No Tom O'Hare?? Good mix of experience and youth there though! Is there much Support goin up to support Newtown? It's gonna be a long day for them if there is! I reckon a lot of them will be in bed by half ten that night for Match Of The Day!
    Jez smelly feet don't know where ur goin with dat team, Tomo will be in ahead of someone, Pa Devanney will be in ahead of someone, also Bunny will start

Quote Originally Posted by platini View Post
    Jez smelly feet don't know where ur goin with dat team, Tomo will be in ahead of someone, Pa Devanney will be in ahead of someone, also Bunny will start

I was asked for who i thought would be best 11 for the FAI game and i gave it.What do you want me to say??

So far i'm the only one who named it so........I still think that is the strongest..OK

skinny

derek byrne,jay stretton,tom o hare,glen coyle

ryan kelly,bunny,anto whyte,jamie cullen

cheeky,eddie

still going to have a very strong bench,
    okuro,donnellan,quigley,devanny brothers etc.
    But you still wouldnt know who would start with so many strong players.

good luck to newtown.
    Sure it was a grand ole team to play for....Sure it was a grand ole team to know..

Hail Hail!!

Wink

Quote Originally Posted by plasticpitch View Post
    needed anymore as the panel was being cut to 20 for the next game Im not joking about this
    .So can all the die hard clare league supporters tell me why anyone would have any bit of interest in playing for a team being run like this???????????
    [/B]

post of the year!!![/QUOTE]

How many of the above players mentioned that were told they were no longer required were from Lifford?

Quote Originally Posted by guvnor View Post
    [/B]

post of the year!!!
    How many of the above players mentioned that were told they were no longer required were from Lifford?[/QUOTE]

Why would it matter if they were from lifford or not??

Quote Originally Posted by hacker View Post
    [/B]

post of the year!!!
    that this year or last year[/QUOTE]
    well defo a few years anyways...

Quote Originally Posted by Side Cutter View Post
    How many of the above players mentioned that were told they were no longer required were from Lifford?
    Why would it matter if they were from lifford or not??[/QUOTE]

No.. it doesn't!! its easy to blame the players, but its not their fault.
    I am thinking that the only way the OT would be taken seriously by the best teams in the county is to have 2 premier managers in charge with denis hynes doing the coaching. at least this way all the players would be viewed at some stage of the season.. upto 4 times!! whereby the managers would have the seen the best players and then pick the best squad.
    also training could be a match with the managers home club. this would allow the OT panel to find out at least the name of the guy they are playing with before a proper match
    however finding 2 premier managers to make a commitment would be difficult under present circumstances

Quote Originally Posted by Spudd View Post
    skinny

derek byrne,jay stretton,tom o hare,glen coyle

ryan kelly,bunny,anto whyte,jamie cullen

cheeky,eddie

still going to have a very strong bench,
    okuro,donnellan,quigley,devanny brothers etc.
    But you still wouldnt know who would start with so many strong players.

good luck to newtown.
    would start with donnellan centre half with jay stretton behind him they have been playing together for a long time now , also start with tom o hare in midfield but tough call on either ryan kelly / bunny
    a few difficult decisions for newtown management.. anyway best of luck to newtown

" football is a simple game "

[QUOTE=old git;850857]would start with donnellan centre half with jay stretton behind him they have been playing together for a long time now ,

Exactly they have been playing for a very long time,great players but aint getting any younger,maybe mixing youth and experience together could provide stability,i wouldnt take ryan or bunny out,there both having a good season,didnt see the last f.a.i game,but heard bunny ran the show.

Hail Hail!!

[QUOTE=Spudd;850876]
    Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    would start with donnellan centre half with jay stretton behind him they have been playing together for a long time now ,

Exactly they have been playing for a very long time,great players but aint getting any younger,maybe mixing youth and experience together could provide stability,i wouldnt take ryan or bunny out,there both having a good season,didnt see the last f.a.i game,but heard bunny ran the show.
    That playing for a long time is a good thing, Experience, both have played at this stage and further in the FAI so I reckon thats something that Newtown need in this game. Noel is probably one of the fittest players on the team and Jay reads the game fairly well. I think they work well together.

Ryan can be up and down, great skill on the ball but if its a kicking match don't think he will fancy it. Though i think he will be one that could win this game if he's on form. Bunny we all know can make sh1t of you if you let him, Its a must that he gets the ball as much as possible so he can have a big inpact on the game.

Really hope they win in Dublin and best of luck to them.

I'll predict 2-1 win
    Cheeky and Ryan to score, Skinny to make a howler

Just hope that the whole Travelling up by plane and staying up on the p1ss Saturday night doesn't destract them from what they are going up for
    Last edited by smellyfeet; 10/01/2008 at 12:37 PM.

what time are ye flying up on saturday smelly;is the pitch defo on? will be a private pitch i would think as they are attached to the college-carnage sat night one way or the other!! have you done your homework on this crowd?

Lads check out www.claresoccer.net they have put a survey up on the site regarding what you think about clare soccer, eg should there be summer soccer also a comment box at the end for your views. Good way to get your point across as the League committee will be looking at the results.

Quote Originally Posted by jimbo View Post
    what time are ye flying up on saturday smelly;is the pitch defo on? will be a private pitch i would think as they are attached to the college-carnage sat night one way or the other!! have you done your homework on this crowd?

Don't know as i'm not involved. I hear that they were a good side in the past but have kinda went backward in last few years. At this stage of the comp there wont be many bad teams left.

Best of luck to all involved with Newtown tomorrow. Hope they enjoy a great victory and enjoy yourselves Saturday night.

Page 35 of 76 FirstFirst ... 25333435363745 ... LastLast