Page 39 of 91 FirstFirst ... 2937383940414989 ... LastLast

Thread: Westport United FC

I dont know, but I suppose the the Nic and Kilkelly are the most likely candidates as they are jobless, whether they want the position I dont know. I cant believe that they gave the junior job to Wallace over him Kilkelly.
    PB and KC have their hands full and will not take the position. Mind you it would not do any harm for them to coach them for a couple sessions to try to get the team to stop playing this direct football that they have been playing of late until somebody comes in.

Well the great leveller, Are you telling me your are Alan Hanson in disguise (Kids will win nothing) say no more on that point. It is great to have so many players coming through our U-21 ranks, as far as I am aware the club will be hoping to enter a senior team into the Eircom Regional Division due to be up and running in 2009 (TBC) that should ease your concerns on this issue, but we are happy to have this problem as you see it. That is something Utd will not have for a while. As for only using 4 outside players I didn’t know that your ex player manager BOC and your keeper were from Westport. SR was never given a players ban only a supporters one. Mayo League never banned him from playing (Be that correct or not that’s the way it was).

Quote Originally Posted by Leveller View Post
    I dont know, but I suppose the the Nic and Kilkelly are the most likely candidates as they are jobless, whether they want the position I dont know. I cant believe that they gave the junior job to Wallace over him Kilkelly.
    PB and KC have their hands full and will not take the position. Mind you it would not do any harm for them to coach them for a couple sessions to try to get the team to stop playing this direct football that they have been playing of late until somebody comes in.
    Is Dec Kilkelly not the new Mayo Manager. MW was not picked over DK. It was GD or DK was the choice for the U-20 job.

Quote Originally Posted by the grape vine View Post
    is there any truth in the talk of D Kilkelly taking the westport post?
    Who is doing the talking?

Quote Originally Posted by Closing Time View Post
    lots of people in castlebar that are involved in the local club's, maybe just pub talk, but "no smoke without fire" !!! the mayo oscar traynor will be all over before the super leageue starts,so no clashing there .

i hope utd keep it local no more paying for a manager.killkelly would only take the job to get at celtic not the correct reasons for westport.

I was the one that started that one.

Well the great leveller, Are you telling me your are Alan Hanson in disguise (Kids will win nothing) say no more on that point. It is great to have so many players coming through our U-21 ranks, as far as I am aware the club will be hoping to enter a senior team into the Eircom Regional Division due to be up and running in 2009 (TBC) that should ease your concerns on this issue, but we are happy to have this problem as you see it. That is something Utd will not have for a while. As for only using 4 outside players I didn’t know that your ex player manager BOC and your keeper were from Westport. SR was never given a players ban only a supporters one. Mayo League never banned him from playing (Be that correct or not that’s the way it was).
    We cant win our own league and now we entering a competition that will drive the club under. The worst thing to happen to Celtic was Westport winning the FAI Junior Cup. I mean we entered the U-21 league just to keep the manager happy along with his ally and further to your mentioning of players will always win out thats pure bulls**t. Players were not consulted about the sacking of Nixy or K Murphy/ B Redmond, it was done with cloak and dagger stuff.

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    We cant win our own league and now we entering a competition that will drive the club under. The worst thing to happen to Celtic was Westport winning the FAI Junior Cup. I mean we entered the U-21 league just to keep the manager happy along with his ally and further to your mentioning of players will always win out thats pure bulls**t. Players were not consulted about the sacking of Nixy or K Murphy/ B Redmond, it was done with cloak and dagger stuff.
    No one was sacked. Advise if you have info to prove any sacking. Celtic are not run based on what Utd have done. Best of luck to them. Are you saying you want to see Celtic playing Glenhest and not Derry City cop on young man and get real. The SL is standard is rubbish and I see no improvement. Any true Utd fan would say that their team won the SL playing about 40% below par.
    Last edited by Closing Time; 18/10/2007 at 10:39 AM.

is there any truth in the talk of D Kilkelly taking the westport post?
    Having been in the Celtic camp, it would have been unlikely that he was approached, or that he would apply.
    The man has pride, it would be like surrendering to the enemy.

Quote Originally Posted by renovater View Post
    Having been in the Celtic camp, it would have been unlikely that he was approached, or that he would apply.
    The man has pride, it would be like surrendering to the enemy.
    There is more chance of Ireland been managed by a inexperienced ex player and getting 1 point from 2 games against Cyprus.

I would be shocked if he took it, more likely to be Nix than Dec.

"The great Leveller" thanks for calling me great anyway Closing, although I sense just a little hint of sarcasm.
    Well on the issue of the outside players, OConnor was there last season, the keeper has been in Westport for a while but could not play for us until he got clearance from the Slovakian FA.
    Closing time I would take the point of swift on board, your club will probably bankrupt itself, considering that you could only manage thirty odd supporters at the AIB cup final (which was a home fixture for you guys) compared to our 300 or so, where is the money going to come from? Sponsorship? No chance. You are deluding yourself if you think you will go LOI. You can’t even get people to go out into their front garden to see a game.
    As for cloak and dagger stuff, if you were reading mine Rennos (he knows the story) threads we made it clear as to the circumstances to BOC departure.
    DK is the new Mayo manager but tell me what club takes the competition seriously, he is not exactly going to be flat out, especially when we get knocked out in the early rounds, the competition is a joke.
    I think DK was deluding himself if he thought that he was going to get the U20 post that was always going to be GD’s, GD is not ready to go step upstairs and become the director of Hoofball at Celtic yet.
    Quay Heart, I agree with you about the paying thing with the manager, but to get one in from outside sometimes requires compensation (expenses etc – like the GAA) to cover for the time away from home, wife, etc. The Junior game is becoming more professional whether we like it or not. Celtic had to pay to get Ravenelli to take the job and we are going to as well.
    As a matter of interest and this goes out to you all in the land of Junior soccer (be honest) what SL managers to you knowledge were paid this season?

No one was sacked. Advise if you have info to prove any sacking. Celtic are not run based on what Utd have done. Best of luck to them. Are you saying you want to see Celtic playing Glenhest and not Derry City cop on young man and get real. The SL is standard is rubbish and I see no improvement. Any true Utd fan would say that their team won the SL playing about 40% below par.
    I'd prefer them playing Glenhest any day of the week than us going to the wall and playing no-one at all. Cop on yourself if you think that we are a LOI Club, far from it. Just because Dykes says jump it does'nt mean we have to ask how high?. It goes to show that you are reading from the same hymn sheet as Fergie, who is also driving the LOI issue

Quote Originally Posted by swift View Post
    I'd prefer them playing Glenhest any day of the week than us going to the wall and playing no-one at all. Cop on yourself if you think that we are a LOI Club, far from it. Just because Dykes says jump it does'nt mean we have to ask how high?. It goes to show that you are reading from the same hymn sheet as Fergie, who is also driving the LOI issue
    Swift, I don't want to take over the Utd tread with Celtic issues, but my last comment on our discussion on this tread. I do not think that Celtic will ever play in the LOI Premier & 1st Div due to the cost & lack of support in the Town for football, but I do think they should join the next level which is the proposed Regional Div's which would be like the Conn/Ulster U-21 league and the cost would not be that high. As for reading from the same hyme sheet as the above mentioned far from it but I do believe that SL is not the way forward for Celtic. If that is all we have to offer the players coming through we will loose them to the GAA. I have seen so many good young players go down hill once they start playing in Mayo Junior football.The ball spends more time in the air than on the ground and that gose for all teams so anyone who thinks different want to take their blinkers off. Last real Junior football team I saw was Killester Utd. Yes Utd are the best team in Mayo but nothing to boost about at the moment.

great post CT, totally agreed with players going down hill when they start playing in the SL, i have seen and played with some super players up to u-20 level, but most seem to slip by the waste side or rot in the lower division in mayo leageues,what a waste !!!

First things first, welcome aboard to the leveller.

The local gossip and the newspaper articles concerning the sacking aren't even worth the reply and some of the allegations that I heard over the last week should have not come into the public fold.

However, there are interviews ongoing at present, so at least the matter should be put to bed in the next week to ten days.

On a more serious note, the vandal(s) that entered the Sports Park on Friday night and caused damage to the crossbar on the Pavilion End goal ought to be condemned for their actions. The club nearly had to find an alternative venue for an U.13 game yesterday. These goalposts cost serious money and this was not only an attack on the ground, it was also an attack on the rights of anyone wanting do don the red and black and to enjoy a game of football. Anyone with any information can report to a member of the Westport United committee or to the police.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

[QUOTE=Thunderblaster;796695]First things first, welcome aboard to the leveller.

The local gossip and the newspaper articles concerning the sacking aren't even worth the reply and some of the allegations that I heard over the last week should have not come into the public fold.

However, there are interviews ongoing at present, so at least the matter should be put to bed in the next week to ten days

any news on who went for the job ?

TB, Sorry to hear about the damage at the Sports Park, hope they are caught.

[QUOTE=quay heart;796698]
    Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post

However, there are interviews ongoing at present, so at least the matter should be put to bed in the next week to ten days

any news on who went for the job ?
    I heard that no one applied for the job, which is common for Junior clubs. As the norm in these cases the committee will have a short list and will approach each potential manager until they get a yes. The advert is just so that supporters will not be giving out it was not advertised. I suppose the dream team would be KC & DB after that NM. Will they go for another outsider couldnt see them going for a Fish Head. Time will tell. They will find it hard to fill the position and might have to pay more that they are willing. Maybe they might go for GD. Good managers are thin on the ground.

Hi

Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post

However, there are interviews ongoing at present, so at least the matter should be put to bed in the next week to ten days.

On a more serious note, the vandal(s) that entered the Sports Park on Friday night and caused damage to the crossbar on the Pavilion End goal ought to be condemned for their actions. The club nearly had to find an alternative venue for an U.13 game yesterday. These goalposts cost serious money and this was not only an attack on the ground, it was also an attack on the rights of anyone wanting do don the red and black and to enjoy a game of football. Anyone with any information can report to a member of the Westport United committee or to the police.
    Thanks Thunder, I look forward to joining with you in discussion and debate, on the thread of the best Club in the land!

Page 39 of 91 FirstFirst ... 2937383940414989 ... LastLast