Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 20 Moments that shook Irish Sport

20 Moments that shook Irish Sport

Some real rubbish in here ! but you can e-mail your suggestions. Should you rate Saipan as 1 or 5? the question may be "how much bigger do you want to make the traitor's ego?"

http://www.rte.ie/tv/20moments/

20 Moments That Shook Irish Sport is a two-hour countdown show which airs on the October Bank Holiday weekend. From Saipan to Cian O'Connor, Rule 42 to the Brian O'Driscoll spear tackle, the programme will feature interviews with some of Irish sport's key players and we want your help to rate our stories...

We love our sport and see the players as our heroes.

We celebrate, analyse and scrutinise our heroes, match after match, race after race, game after game.

Yeah I can just imagine the Keane family gathering around the TV hoping they are number 1 here.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    Some real rubbish in here ! but you can e-mail your suggestions. Should you rate Saipan as 1 or 5? the question may be "how much bigger do you want to make the traitor's ego?"[/I]
    Jesus wept !

1,928 Posts
    Feck Saipan, I'm going for the George the Greek moment
    Anything for a good dig at a Delaney.

[QUOTE=Scram;779527]Some real rubbish in here ! but you can e-mail your suggestions. Should you rate Saipan as 1 or 5? the question may be "how much bigger do you want to make the traitor's ego?"

get over it > you bitter little man ..

" football is a simple game "

182 Posts
    "how much bigger do you want to make the traitor's ego?"
    Perhaps his ego could do with a bit of a help at the moment, considering he's stuck in mid table in the Championship with Wolves.

Quote Originally Posted by brine3 View Post
    Perhaps his ego could do with a bit of a help at the moment, considering he's stuck in mid table in the Championship with Wolves.
    Saucer of milk for table 6

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    Yeah I can just imagine the Keane family gathering around the TV hoping they are number 1 here.
    Joined by the rest of halting site.

But anyway! What events are missing from the 20 RTE picked? What would anyone add? Not soccer but...Seamus Darby's goal v Kerry should definitely be in there. As should O'Leary's penalty v Romania.

3,491 Posts
    This thread was done ages ago.

A similar thread may have been, but this is re. an RTE programme and you can rate or email suggestions, so highly unlikely to have been done before coach.

3,491 Posts
    No, the RTÉ thread was done before. Can't find it at the moment, but it has been done.

Edit - here it is, in the eL section.

Quote Originally Posted by Scram View Post
    Some real rubbish in here ! but you can e-mail your suggestions. Should you rate Saipan as 1 or 5? the question may be "how much bigger do you want to make the traitor's ego?"

20 Moments That Shook Irish Sport is a two-hour countdown show which airs on the October Bank Holiday weekend. From Saipan to Cian O'Connor, Rule 42 to the Brian O'Driscoll spear tackle, the programme will feature interviews with some of Irish sport's key players and we want your help to rate our stories...

We love our sport and see the players as our heroes.

We celebrate, analyse and scrutinise our heroes, match after match, race after race, game after game.
    Will you get over it?? You mustn't have much of a life if you're still fretting over something that happened over 5 years ago.

And you just lost any credibility you ever had with your stupid halting site comment

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    Do they have the internet on halting sites?
    I think they do - its called the Ward Wide Web.
    Quoting years at random since 1975

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Houghton's goal vs. England 1988
    O'Leary's penalty vs. Romania 1990
    McLoughlin's goal vs. Northern Ireland 1994
    Houghton's goal vs. Italy 1994
    McAteer's goal vs. Holland 2001

where are these?

Ye can say "get over it" all ye want but the truth is that Keane will always be remembered as the only Irish player to ever walk out on his country before a world cup, even if he goes onto have a good management career he will always be remember for Saipan, I'm not being bitter but Keane betraying his country is relevant in a thread about the "20 most disappointing Irish moments" or whatever the name of the poll is

503 Posts
    Glad to see RTE acting as the "national" broadcaster as usual

23/06/86: Barry McGuigan drops his title in searing Nevada summer heat, never regains it, is hospitalised, later falls out with Barney Eastwood and ends up facing him in court?

15/05/1993 - 21/05/1994: Ray Close twice batters Chris Eubank, is rewarded with a draw and split decision loss, only to see Steve Collins pick up the title months later?

18/11/1993: ROI qualify for the 1994 world cup courtesy of a score draw in a sectatian cauldron??

Boxing Day 1948: Irelands finest ever domestic team run from the pitch for their lives when Linfield fans poured over the terrace barriers at the end of a 1 - 1 draw. Centre forward Jimmy Jones is thrown over a parapet, kicked unconcious and left with a broken leg. Defender Robin Lawler and goalkeeper Kevin McAlinden are seriously hurt. Later the same night Celtic's directors decide to withdraw from football once the season' commitments had been fulfilled, and never return.

1/06/21: Munster, Leinster & Connaght association meet in Molesworth Hall, Dublin, the FAI is formed, and football becomes the only major sport on the island to be partitioned

17/03/07 - 18/03/07: Ireland cricketers achieve their best ever result, beating Pakistan in the world cup. the following morning the Pakistan coach is found dead, rumours of a corruption speards and doubt is cast over the performance.

I would consider these to be of far greater signifigance than Clare v Offaly, Martin Johnson standing on the grass, or Gaelic footballers to scared to punch the australians back in a game people only watch for the fights. Unfortunately they either happened north of the border, or were in sports not popular south of the border.

Quote Originally Posted by Morbo View Post
    Ye can say "get over it" all ye want but the truth is that Keane will always be remembered as the only Irish player to ever walk out on his country before a world cup, even if he goes onto have a good management career he will always be remember for Saipan, I'm not being bitter but Keane betraying his country is relevant in a thread about the "20 most disappointing Irish moments" or whatever the name of the poll is
    and fair play to him for having the b**ls to walk out .. even if wrong decision ... lets just move on... stephen ireland did he not walk out also recently / steve finnann unavailable due to injury miracle cure on saturday after both match to play for liverpool

" football is a simple game "

3,491 Posts
    Again, if any of you had bothered to read the original, linked, thread, you'd know it's not about good moments in Irish sport, but scandal in Irish sport.

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    and fair play to him for having the b**ls to walk out .. even if wrong decision ... lets just move on... stephen ireland did he not walk out also recently / steve finnann unavailable due to injury miracle cure on saturday after both match to play for liverpool
    It takes BALLS to walk out on your country? you got a strange notion of what balls means, I'll admit Keane had a point but he handled it in completely the wrong way, anyway you won't hear me defending Finnan either, he clearly choose club over country, as for Ireland, he is a dope but at least he had a legitimate reason if the story about his gf's miscarriage is true
    Last edited by Morbo; 29/09/2007 at 1:14 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Wolfie View Post
    I think they do - its called the Ward Wide Web.

As to the other comments on Saipan, in the famous words of Eric Cantona "as long as the dumb trout bite, I will continue to bait my hook".....well, he didn't really say that

Anyway! Saipan probably would be the most contentious moment in Irish sport so probably will make the #1 spot. Pity it couldn't be something like Ireland winning something.

I guess they are not looking for best moments but most newsworthy, otherwise Eamonn Coughlan, Ronnie Delaney etc. would be in there.

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast