Thread: City V Longford

City V Longford

What kinda of team should we put out? Have we any injuries/suspensions?

I presume Devine is still suspended.
    I'm unsure of the situations with Ryan and Darren Murphy.
    I heard the other night that Muphy is still in recovery mode but from a serial crap-talker.
    Apparently Colm Carroll is pushing for a place on the bench, probably for next week.

I'd go with
    ------------------------McNulty--------------------
    Horgan-----Dan Murray--------Darren Murphy---Ryan
    -------------------------Gamble--------------------
    ------------Healy------------------Farrelly---------
    McSweeney--------------------------------Kearney
    ------------------------JOF-----------------------

with Leon and Kearney actually attacking.

However, Rico'll play the 4-4-2 with Woods and BOC.
    City definetly have the best bands playing at half-time.

O'Bama - "Eerah yeah, I'd say we can alright!"

G.O'Mahoney Trapattoni'll sort ém out!!

Quote Originally Posted by Risteard View Post
    I presume Devine is still suspended.
    I'm unsure of the situations with Ryan and Darren Murphy.
    I heard the other night that Muphy is still in recovery mode but from a serial crap-talker.
    Apparently Colm Carroll is pushing for a place on the bench, probably for next week.

I'd go with
    ------------------------McNulty--------------------
    Horgan-----Dan Murray--------Darren Murphy---Ryan
    -------------------------Gamble--------------------
    ------------Healy------------------Farrelly---------
    McSweeney--------------------------------Kearney
    ------------------------JOF-----------------------

with Leon and Kearney actually attacking.

However, Rico'll play the 4-4-2 with Woods and BOC.
    That would be some line up alright, would love to see it happen. It is strange that we haven't seen Murphy since he won Player of the Month a while back.

Throw Cillian in for Hoggy.
    I'm surpised the game hasn't been put back a night or two.

Sympathies to Hoggy an excellent guy and model pro on the loss of his dad, Mary, who is a pleasure to deal with everytime i want something awkward done in the shop
    and mostly to all of Pats family.

edit-----> Apparently Cillian and Darragh Ryan are out aswell. It looks like BI Billy and BOC or Kelly in the full-back slots.
    Last edited by Risteard; 13/09/2007 at 11:08 PM.

Post Preview: Cork City v Longford Town

Preview: Cork City v Longford Town

Cork City will be looking to build on Monday night's convincing 4-1 win over UCD at Turner's Cross as they prepare to host bottom of the table Longford Town in the Premier Division of the League of Ireland.

Cork go into the game in fourth place and now trail both Shamrock Rovers and St. Patrick's Athletic by just three points. Cork's title aspirations seem long gone but a European or Setanta place via a league placing now looks like a realistic goal again.

Read more at www.irishfootballonline.com

Mooney's suspended so all Cork need to do is score a goal and ye'll win handy enough

We are more then capable of scoring a goal without mooney smartarse. The team above looks decent but I thought Horgan was out due to a family bereavement!!?

Quote Originally Posted by Sonic View Post
    We are more then capable of scoring a goal without mooney smartarse.
    Well, don't quote me on this but, EL Weekly said next in line after Mooney in terms of goals is Deegan with only 2 goals. Hardly means ye are "more then capable of scoring"

Mooney doesnt get those chances without the rest of the team. It just means his replacement will get them. In any case its 2-2 at half time so argument put to bed

Quote Originally Posted by Sonic View Post
    Mooney doesnt get those chances without the rest of the team. It just means his replacement will get them. In any case its 2-2 at half time so argument put to bed
    Ye still lost though. A win Vs. Limerick next week will put ye back on track though.

Thought it was a great come back there tonight, fair play to the lads. It wasn't perfect by any means but still did very well to claw three back to give us the win. More of that please.

Game had everything. 5 goals, penalty not given, come back from 2 down, awful performance from ref and linesman, sending off and a dog on the pitch....

what more could you ask for

Quote Originally Posted by micls View Post
    what more could you ask for
    A female streaker would have ended it perfectly imo

Best match at the Cross in a year or so.
    This City team imo, constantly needs a kick up the ass so the Longford goals set it up perfectly.

17 goals in 6 games since O'Donovan left. Who said we could not score goals? Now if we could defend...

Quote Originally Posted by pete View Post
    17 goals in 6 games since O'Donovan left. Who said we could not score goals? Now if we could defend...
    Come home Benno

worst display from a linesman i have seen in years from eddie foley on the Donie Forde stand side. some shockingly bad decisions like
    life is random

I thought City were the best team I've seen all season, their midfield was superb, physically strong, winning the ball back and Farrellys ability to switch the play caused us no end of trouble. Can't fault our lads, they kept battling away but when a team can move the ball as sweetly as City did Friday your really under pressure. As for Foley - every defenders dream linesman, never gives the attacking team the benefit of the doubt, dodgy calls, in both halves.

Quote Originally Posted by Ronnie View Post
    I. As for Foley - every defenders dream linesman, never gives the attacking team the benefit of the doubt, dodgy calls, in both halves.
    And he knew it - his sheepest of sheepish grins at Rico when he finally gave a decision to City said it all!

The best game Ive seen at the cross all season..City played some lovily football and fair play to Longoford they never gave up...Great to see Behan getting two goals the lad plays his heart out for City.....