Thread: Passport 6 months left.

Passport 6 months left.

I heard that you need to have 6 months left on your passport if you want to get into Slovakia and Czech Rep.
    In Trap we trust

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    I heard that you need to have 6 months left on your passport if you want to get into Slovakia and Czech Rep.
    That's Paul fecked then!!
    Tact is for people who are not witty enough to be sarcastic

Nope. As both are in the EU, all you need is for it to be valid after the date of your return journey

try telling that to the border guard who decides otherwise.... Enjoy vienna!
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

I have only 5 months left on mine but I will cross that bridge when I come to it .

Strictly speaking that is true for all countries. You could chance it but no guarantees.

Waddle down to Molesworth St and join the queue!

26 Posts
    Or Montpellier House

I am grand but just wanted people to know.
    In Trap we trust

I am grand but just wanted people to know.

"Self praise is.......etc, etc "

Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    I have only 5 months left on mine but I will cross that bridge when I come to it .
    You're mad to try and risk it. Either you will be stopped or get fleeced at border checkpoints or by cops.
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

It did cross my mind as I have known about this since the start of the year but I have flights out of Prague and I am sure I can swing it on the Slovak border . I am really not too worried as most guards will only look at the photo and you have to remember there will be quite a few Irish around at the time .

Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    It did cross my mind as I have known about this since the start of the year but I have flights out of Prague and I am sure I can swing it on the Slovak border . I am really not too worried as most guards will only look at the photo and you have to remember there will be quite a few Irish around at the time .
    My passport was 5 months from expiry the last time i was out of the country. Last April flying back from Glasgow i was stopped going through Departures and told that i could easily be stopped from travelling. The fella checking told me to get it sorted as soon as i got home and not to travel with it again as everyone wouldnt be as sound as him. Good luck anyway.
    "Being Irish, he had an abiding sense of tragedy which sustained him through temporary periods of joy."

whats the point in the remaining 6 months of a passport then?! Whyd ont they just give you one for 9.5 years or 2.5 etc etc?

You can travel into Ireland on the day of its expiry.

The 6 months validity is a totla misnomer too. For the EU, its officially 2 weeks after date of return

You could always speak to the irish embassy - They were really good when one of our group had a bit of bother with his passport in San Marino - for the sake of a phone call they might be able to put your mind at ease, or even do you a letter or something. just a thought.

TRAVEL TO THE SLOVAK REPUBLIC AND ENTRY REQUIREMENTS

For U. S. citizens on private, tourist, official or business visits, a Slovak visa is not required for stays up to 90 days, in period of 6 months from the first day of entry, but a passport valid for at least 3 months after last intended day of stay in Slovakia is required. Some foreigners should apply for visa (link: Application for …visa-application form) A child only younger than 5 years of age may be included in a parent’s passport. Each foreigner, for stays longer than 90 days during six months period, must apply for temporary stay permit at a Slovak Embassy or Consulate General, prior to entering Slovakia. All foreigners who intend to work, study, teach, or do business in Slovakia may apply for a temporary stay permit also at a Slovak Embassy or Consulate General.
    Slovak Republic is a member of the European Union (May 1, 2004) but not yet the Schengen Visa System (2007) or Euro Monetary System (2008). For more information on visa requirements for all foreigners – visit www.foreign.gov.sk, Víza.
    According to a new Slovak Law on the Residence of Aliens No. 48/01, modified by 408/02 an 606/03, § 4/2 b, the border police has a right to request a proof of a travel medical insurance policy covering all hospitalization and medical treatment costs in Slovakia (minimum insurance coverage is 30.000 euro, i.e. now 41.000 USD). This policy is the same in EU members states. U. S. citizens are strongly advised to consult with their medical insurance company prior to traveling abroad, to confirm whether their policy applies overseas and whether it covers emergency expenses such as a medical evacuation. U.S. medical insurance plans seldom cover health costs incurred outside the United States unless supplemental coverage is purchased.
    Furthermore, U.S. Medicare and Medicaid programs do not provide payment for medical services outside the United States. However, many travel agents and private companies offer insurance plans covering health care expanses incurred overseas including emergency services. Useful information on medical emergencies abroad, including overseas insurance programs, can be found at web site www.travel.state.gov/medical.html. Travelers should therefore carry their insurance policy identity cards as proof of such insurance.
    Also, the border police have right to request evidence of funds available to pay for a stay in Slovakia in the amount of $ 108 (2675 SKK) per person and day. Foreigners can demonstrate sufficient funds by means of cash, a bank account statement from the Slovak branch of a bank, a voucher, or any other record of paid expenses. Bankcards, including credit cards, are not accepted for this purpose with one exemption only that the foreigner on the border will offer the current balance on his account from bank slot on the border. All foreigners have an obligation to register their stay, within 3 working days after their arrival in Slovakia, at a local Border Police. Visitors staying in hotels are registered automatically.
    US citizen can use US Driving Licence for driving a car in Slovakia for maximum one month but together with his US passport or International Driving Licence. With these documents there is also a possibility to lend a car in Slovakia for a short time.
    In an effort to prevent international child abduction, many governments, including the Slovak Government, have initiated procedures at entry points, that often include requiring documentary evidence of relationship and permission for the child’s travel from the parents or legal guardian if not present. Having such documentation on hand, even if not required, may facilitate entry.
    For further tourist information you may call specialized travel agencies at 212-486-0533, 440-808-8098, 914-968-0175, or visit web sites www.slovakiatourism.sk, www.sack.sk, www.slovakia.org, www.european-quartet.com, www.travel.sk, www.visiteurope.com or e-mail Slovak Travel and Business office in New York slovakoffice@nyc.rr.com.

I think this clears it up , and you have to remember this is an EU country
    See you all in Bratislava .........

They're hardly going to check the passports on the foot.ie specials from Bratislava to Prague
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

214 Posts
    will be like 'the spy who came in from the cold all over again' great book by the way.
    "If God had meant football to be played in the air, he'd have put grass in the sky." Brian Clough.

You'll NEVER beat the Irish.......you'll just draw with us instead!!!

Passports - Just a tip

I usually make a copy of my passport and carry the copy with me.

I was looking at my passport last night and noticed on the page opposite the mugshot there is a place for putting in details of someone to contact in the event of an emergency. I don't know if anybody else has done it but I hadn't filled anything in on this but will do now before I copy it. I hope it will not be needed particularly given the talk about the local constabulary.

I've just thought that I might write in on the copy details of the hotels I'm staying in so that in the event of being lead astray at least I'll know where I'm supposed to get back to
    AidoM

Starting on the long pilgrimage to South Africa

Quote Originally Posted by AidoM View Post
    I usually make a copy of my passport and carry the copy with me.

I was looking at my passport last night and noticed on the page opposite the mugshot there is a place for putting in details of someone to contact in the event of an emergency. I don't know if anybody else has done it but I hadn't filled anything in on this but will do now before I copy it. I hope it will not be needed particularly given the talk about the local constabulary.

I've just thought that I might write in on the copy details of the hotels I'm staying in so that in the event of being lead astray at least I'll know where I'm supposed to get back to
    That's assuming you still have the ability to READ at that stage