Page 13 of 56 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast

Thread: NI boss targets Republic's Gibson

Here EG I still am locked out of viewing your site. I thought anyone could view for free and join it or is that only at the elite's discretion?
    NO, they just knew it was you trying to view Young one

36 Posts
    Dodge I wont be bold anymote sorry about the swear. Well Paul O' Sheasy I would suggest you drive through Banbridge or Bangor during the summer ...What a lovely wee bunch of bigots. Or ask Neil Lennon who's family (from Lurgan) are among the most soundest easy going guys I have ever met.

bwagner, ye got an infraction I assume?! Im top of that league, about the only thing I ever have been/am

Ya the gf sister lives in banbridge with her boyfriend, but she would always be driving a northern reg car so I dont know Ill take your word for it though and not bother going there!!!

36 Posts
    Hehe your a wee devil O'shesey.
    But I love having this site so thanks to the lads who make the effort to keep it up.
    Anyway men I would kill to see both North and South in 2008...I would cheer both but of we came against the north I hope we would stuff them.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    What does transferring mean. How would they know you were transferring, if you had played underage for the other country?
    The rule is you can't cap somebody who has been capped by another international team from u16 and older.
    The procedure is for the player to apply to "transfer" to another national federation.
    That is the procedure. I suppose in theory a country could always play an illegal player with an acquired passport. But we are above such shennanigans as alluded to by the OWC crowd
    I suppose there are records of every international game (all ages) played.
    The ref has a teamsheet and also has to check each name with a passport and has to send that to FIFA. So if there is an objection to someone then everything can be checked.

Hi Lopez,
    I am a Finn Harps fan.I had no idea we were such a diverse multicultural club.Please tell me about your experience of these Finn Harps fans you refer to.

26 Posts
    Ealing Green...maybe you can explain why I was turned down to join the board at ourweecountry. My username was sligo_boy....

OWC now free to view again

The amount of gurning from people who don't care about Northern Ireland

Yes we banned all taigs from our site as we are nasty bigots. It was nothing to do with the fact that our sever does down as the number of people checking OWC after a NI game busts the bandwidth, hence we make it members only.

Livehead/Sligo Boy as I deal with membership I don't recall you name on there tring to join

bwagner: Don't even bother. In fact do, it should be most amusing, we can take bets on how long you last. By the way, I'm from Newcastle, I could have taken you to a pub for a pint and where they have catholic babies as pub grub. Next time your up give us a shout.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bwagner View Post
    Fu*k the north the scum fans . they are so narrow minded and are nothing but a pack of sad bigots....the fact that I couldnt join their fans forum is a joke...i even e-mailed the admin....no reply at all.
    Actually, I've just checked and the reason you couldn't join is a simple one: with nearly 6,000 members already signed up, they now have to restrict new membership temporarily for a few days after a match, when the traffic levels are sky-high, otherwise the server will crash for lack of bandwidth.

So try again and I'm sure you'll be OK. Oh and by the way, they get a higher than normal number of "trolls" trying to join/post at such times - from both sides of the divide, as it happens.
    Therefore, to weed them out, any suspicious handles on untraceable addresses get rejected (e.g. 1690Loyal@orange.com or ourdaywillcome@hotmail.com).

Therefore, if you have a hotmail-type address, I'd advise you not to choose something like "fcukthenorththescumfans" as your handle, but I'm assured that "DundalkGuy" or "bwagner" etc will be perfectly fine.

Any further problems, just say Ealing Green sent you.

Or quote your Lodge Number*.

* - Joke, btw

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by youngirish View Post
    Bwagner surely you weren't refused registering for the all inclusive, open minded, welcoming to all men internet site that is www.ourweecountry.co.uk (according to EalingGreen).

Here EG I still am locked out of viewing your site. I thought anyone could view for free and join it or is that only at the elite's discretion?
    As I indicated to bwagner just now, there's a perfectly normal explanation. Try again. (Btw, it also explains why I wasn't able to access it by my normal link - despite my being ever so well in with what you term "the elite"!)

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by livehead1 View Post
    Ealing Green...maybe you can explain why I was turned down to join the board at ourweecountry. My username was sligo_boy....
    See above posts. Oh, and "Sligo Boy" will be fine*. After all, wasn't His Excellency Sir Lawrie of Sanchez a "Sligo Boy" for a while?

* - Though I can't see what's wrong with using "livehead1", or even "livehead2", if you like.

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by On The Kop View Post

Yes we banned all taigs from our site as we are nasty bigots. It was nothing to do with the fact that our sever does down as the number of people checking OWC after a NI game busts the bandwidth, hence we make it members only.

Livehead/Sligo Boy as I deal with membership I don't recall you name on there tring to join

bwagner: Don't even bother. In fact do, it should be most amusing, we can take bets on how long you last. By the way, I'm from Newcastle, I could have taken you to a pub for a pint where they have catholic babies as pub grub. Next time your up give us a shout.
    Oh ffs, OTK. There's me doing my level best to lure these unsuspecting victims into the trap and you go and let the mask slip as to what we're all really like...

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    When are you going to get the message? NOBODY wants you on here.
    Nobody wants me on here either but that never stopped me!

Quote Originally Posted by cavan_fan View Post
    Yeah but that's an easy position for us to take. The 'problem' for NI is that roughly half their playerbase may choose to play for another team. If everyone in Dublin started to declare for England we'd be getting worried. I suspect this is the real issue for NI fans, it would move them from being a 'country' with one million people to one with half a million (almost Luxembourg level).
    If we had an all-Ireland state, and there was an all-British football team, wouldn't the same apply? 20% possibly wanting to play for the UK?
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Hi Lopez,
    I am a Finn Harps fan.I had no idea we were such a diverse multicultural club.Please tell me about your experience of these Finn Harps fans you refer to.
    There was a website belonging to FH/GR fans around 5 years ago, but it can't be found on google. Claimed they also supported NI.
    ...Yes we banned all taigs from our site as we are nasty bigots. It was nothing to do with the fact that our sever does down as the number of people checking OWC after a NI game busts the bandwidth, hence we make it members only...
    Sorry, did you mean to say server or sewer? Both seem to make sense.
    ...bwagner: Don't even bother. In fact do, it should be most amusing, we can take bets on how long you last. By the way, I'm from Newcastle, I could have taken you to a pub for a pint and where they have catholic babies as pub grub. Next time your up give us a shout.
    Dunno about eating babies, but I know you like to hang around with blokes who kill babies. (cue the w*nker smilie)
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    You support our team and that's enough for me.
    Fair enough but it's a bit childish to use the old "Just Feck Off!" argument to someone who comes on here with opinions we dont agree with

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by cheifo View Post
    Man U have so many midfielders at the moment its hard to see Darron getting a run there.A championchip club would seen ideal.A midfield pairing of Gibson and Garvan at the next WC could be an exciting prospect.If you have a quality central midfield it gives the rest of the team a great platform.
    There's not too many midfielders ahead of him. Scholes, Carrick and Hargreaves, and Ferguson seemed to prefer him over Fletcher and O'Shea in pre-season. I'm sure he will get playing time, especially seeing as Hargreaves seems a bit injury prone.

Quote Originally Posted by EalingGreen View Post
    Not so, Dodge. The "default" position is that any player from the UK, with British citizenship, will represent the home country within which he was born. Where a player is also eligible under FIFA Regs (e.g. through parents/grandparents) to play for more than one of the four countries, it becomes the player's choice which he represents. (The English-born James Morrison being capped for Scotland in midweek is the most recent example).

Similarly, where a player has UK Nationality/Citizenship, but no particular connection to any one of the four home countries, then the player may exercise his choice. So the (naturalised?) Jamaican-born John Barnes chose England - hardly surprising considering he lived in England from a very early age, was a product of English under-age football and earned his living with an English League team.
    I think Dodge is right. It's the same rule that allows Darren Gibson to play for the Republic. The rules states that a holder of an "Irish or British passport" may chose whatever country they wish.

1,928 Posts
    I wouldn't flatter yourself that much. The Isle of Man would probably register higher on our list of rivals.
    But you sound such a jolly lot that the OWC site couldn't possibly hold any resentment to Connor, Gibson and O'Kane. It's all a wee bit of banter whilst totally respecting their wishes to be Irish citizens and choose the Irish team.
    All those rumours about bitterness and resentment couldn't possible be true.
    There was a bit of a charade here in this thread about presenting an arguement against the lads declarations but as the saying goes "you can't be serious" as if we thought that such an educated poster could be so irrational, persecuted and dogmatic.

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DmanDmythDledge View Post
    TI think Dodge is right. It's the same rule that allows Darren Gibson to play for the Republic. The rules states that a holder of an "Irish or British passport" may chose whatever country they wish.
    Is there such a rule?
    According to FIFA, NI born, qualify for Ireland under FIFA's article 15. No other criteria need apply

No such mention there of British or Irish passports.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Is there such a rule?
    According to FIFA, NI born, qualify for Ireland under FIFA's article 15. No other criteria need apply

No such mention there of British or Irish passports.
    http://ourweecountry.ipbhost.com/ind...7&#entry397517

Why the likes of Gibson declare for Ireland

Just found this http://www.ourweecountry.co.uk/worldcup02.html what and utter piece of bigoted ****e that is. I almost feel sorry for whoever wrote that as he is obviously a narrow minded bigot and racist. Some of these quotes from him about "the Republic" made me laugh.

"The consensual fiction that there was a team called "Ireland" representing the entire "nation" in Japan and Korea "

"The Republic equalised through a freak Matt Holland strike and held on for a draw."

"Of course the most disgraceful piece of hubris and mendacity was the claim that the 'tinkers' outplayed Spain"

"The Republic and their fans were on the plane home with only their self-delusion and whatever they’d stolen from their Asian hosts to bring with them."

"Roy Keane was also probably concerned about his family. I’m told it’s been a tough few years for itinerant driveway tarmaccers."

"Mick’s multinationals equalising penalty came from a highly unconvincing foul on Niall Quinn."

Remember that was only 5 years, ago for such a racist piece of writing to be allowed be put up on one of 'Norn Irons' biggest fan forums is an absolute disgrace and they wonder why people from a nationlist backround choose to play for Ireland. He comments "Micks multinationals", eh did'nt Northern Ireland have/had Englishmen, Germans and a Norweigan born play for them. He also writes about our lucky results in the World Cup, but this was the time when Northern Ireland were drawing 0-0 with Liechtenstein, losing 4-1 to the mighty Poland.

They also when 13 GAMES without scoring! and when they did score the 'worlds greatest fans' celebrated like the won the World Cup (they lost that game in which they finally scored 4-1 to the giants of Norway. Oh and this was also around the time they booed their own captain for simply playing for Celtic.

And fans of the 'Wee Little Country' wonder why Gibson etc declare for Ireland.

Page 13 of 56 FirstFirst ... 3111213141523 ... LastLast