Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast

Thread: Emelka Onwubiko

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    my two cents... i moved here to Canada last year with my canadian fiancee. Her surname is Brcic and, probably obviously, she comes from a Croatian family. Both her parents left Croatia in the 70's and settled here with their eldest daughter who was aged 6/7 at the time. They had 3 more daughters while living here. The eldest is 40 and the youngest is 25.

All four of them consider themselves both Croatian and Canadian. They all speak Croatian pretty much fluently. The only boys in the family are their cousins who live in B.C. and they are fiercely Croatian, extremely nationalist. They insist that their future kids would play sawker for Croatia and not Canada. Ive mentioned to herself that if i have kids born here, theyll play for Ireland - not Croatia and deffo not Canada. Shes not concerned. Nice wan.

But i guess the point i am making is that the desire (or otherwise) of the next African-Irish generation and the generation after to play for Ireland will have alot to do with their parents and how their parents feel about Ireland and their experience integrating with Irish people and Irish culture and of course Irish people accepting certain aspects of African culture.
    Exactly, its not set in stone. Of course the fact that Canada are generally pretty much muck at sawkerball means the decision is easier to make. Its a different story say in England or France or Portugal or Holland were these countries are considered world powers in football in comparison to the country of origin for many of these second generation immigrants. The lure of playing for a world footballing power as opposed to a small regional one may be too strong. Or even in the case of two football powerhouses. Look at Higuain the Madrid striker. I'm pretty sure he was born in France to French parents but reared in Argentina. When France called him up, he refused. He wanted to think about it as he obviously felt some connection the Argentina.

To make a final comparison with another sport. Look at the Joyce situation in cricket, he's Irish so why choose to play for England? For the sake of his career is why. People can criticise him and possibly rightly so but its just an example of how these future generations may see there future.
    Last edited by Nailer77; 09/03/2007 at 11:10 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by Nailer77 View Post
    You may read that again pal, it was a reference to what I'd said not you...And your 'always outbid the state' comment is about as final as my 'will likely' comment which I had the good grace to retract and admit that something less definite would have been more prudent. So again as I've said its a case that some might, some might not.
    In the interests of reconciliation etc set by Bill and yourself I take back the obviously final statement of always.
    Say a kid of Rwandan/Nigerian/Congolese/Albanian etc extraction is born and living here. They go to school here, they play football locally. Then they get picked up by a professional outfit. They play football at quite a high level, they get recognised by our national team scouts. They're asked to represent us. Do you think they'll just turn us down flat out? Or might they consider it given the bonuses that come with being an international footballer and given that they were born and raised here they might, just might, consider themselves Irish and not even have to think about it. If you can't see that that may be a possiblilty then you've a pretty limited black and white view of the world and discussing this any further with you is pointless.
    I've already stated that it could be that Onwubiko could 'feels as Irish as Guinness. It could also be because he's thinks he's got no chance of getting into the Nigerian team.'
    Did I say the holocaust was hyperbole??? Really?? Again read it properly (you seem to be having a bit of difficulty in that department). They're some pretty twisted words to be trying to out in my mouth lopez.I said it was blantant hyperbole of you to choose that as an example when there were far more moderate examples in the French/English/Portuguese/ nationals sides. Doesn't do much good to your extreme arguement though, but it might be an idea to leave muck like that out of the discussion.
    A blow below the belt from me, so apologies. It's obvious you don't think that. However the point I was making was that history should teach us not to be complacent on matters like this. The fact that France, Holland and England have multi-coloured teams doesn't mean that racism is eliminated, in the same way as Jews were higly represented in German cultural life in 1907, only to be subject to Government sponsored murder within four decades.
    And finally no I don't think I multcultural team is the answer to the racists, I don't recall saying anything of the like. Its you that seems to want to bring the politics of immigration into it. All I'm saying is that I've no problem with POSSIBLE future citizens of this country representing our national side regardless of their ethnic extraction.
    The politics of immigration was brought into this debate by reddladd. I came in when the inevitiable sweeping statements about the Irish internationals born abroad started, and the disgraceful statement from Rossi that a Nigerian living in Ireland is more worthy of representing the country than a 'plastic paddy'. Obviously, according to both you and Billsthoughts, it's OK to question Reddlad's ignorance but not Rossi's.

It would appear its a problem for you though or is it? It'd help if you'd clear that up one way or the other.
    What is the problem I supposedly have? That I don't want blacks playing for Ireland? I've edited nothing on here so let's see what I've said.

About Reddlad's comments: 'I'd describe your statement as racist - because it clearly is that..' (Post#90)

About immigration: I wouldn't demonise people who show concern for immigration. There are numerous good reasons to question immigration - just as there are good reasons for it. (Post #90)

About Onwubiko playing for Ireland: 'It could be that he feels as Irish as Guinness. It could also be because he's thinks he's got no chance of getting into the Nigerian team. Ever thought of that one?' (Post #123)

In response to Charliesboots post '..The most important thing to me is that we have a team representing Ireland that want to represent Ireland as it is the country they associate themselves with. I couldn't give a sh!t if none were white, none were catholic once they felt Irish. That's how they would represent me, by being Irish too.' : That's good enough for most Irish football fans. (which I should have added, me too) (Post # 147)

I hope that 'clears that up' for you. Maybe next time you might care to read through the whole thread first.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

1,928 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    Ive mentioned to herself that if i have kids born here, theyll play for Ireland
    If there's no doubt with your seed, time to stop the talking about the doing.

Lads there is already 205 comments of garbage on this topic. Has anybody ever seen this lad kick a ball. He might never even play a game for any Ireland team so cut the craap and stop posting sh!te here.
    San Marino are going to be a handful as the group goes on." - Steve Staunton reacts to performance against San Marino.

Quote Originally Posted by zenokelly View Post
    Lads there is already 205 comments of garbage on this topic. Has anybody ever seen this lad kick a ball. He might never even play a game for any Ireland team so cut the craap and stop posting sh!te here.
    You think this is cr*p? Take a look at the debates of Morrisson v Connolly or O'Dea v O'Brien arguments. Bit like which one you'd like to make love to: Claudia Schiffer or Salma Hayek. Or maybe in the case of Morrison and Connolly, Mary Harney or Vanessa Feltz.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by lopez View Post
    In the interests of reconciliation etc set by Bill and
    I hope that 'clears that up' for you. Maybe next time you might care to read through the whole thread first.
    I'll certainly try to, some advice you might consider tryin to apply to your own posts aswell. Anyway we may leave it there.

For those interested, he made his Bray debut last night. Played about 20 minutes in our 3-1 defeat to Longford. He showed some good touches. He wants to get on the ball. He loves to run with it too. He had one decent chance at an angle which he blasted towards the corner flag, straight across goal.

He's very skinny and short. I take it he's still growing and he'll bulk up hopefully. He isn't the best communicator and his eagerness to get on the ball might'nt help him much as a team player. There's certainly some talent and skill there.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

International Prospect bennocelt's Avatar
    335 Posts
    but is he still Irish!

(God Im tired...just after reading all those posts from the beginning)

161 Posts
    Exactly, its not set in stone. Of course the fact that Canada are generally pretty much muck at sawkerball means the decision is easier to make. Its a different story say in England or France or Portugal or Holland were these countries are considered world powers in football in comparison to the country of origin for many of these second generation immigrants. The lure of playing for a world footballing power as opposed to a small regional one may be too strong. Or even in the case of two football powerhouses. Look at Higuain the Madrid striker. I'm pretty sure he was born in France to French parents but reared in Argentina. When France called him up, he refused. He wanted to think about it as he obviously felt some connection the Argentina.

To make a final comparison with another sport. Look at the Joyce situation in cricket, he's Irish so why choose to play for England? For the sake of his career is why. People can criticise him and possibly rightly so but its just an example of how these future generations may see there future.
    Canada are a rapidly improving team. They have some very good players and should have beaten the US in their recent Gold cup game. I fully expect them to qualify for the next world cup and have "invested" in them doing so with Boylesports.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 29/07/2007 at 1:04 AM.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Tuff Paddy View Post
    Did you see them at Lansdowne Road? If I had a Canadian granny I'd get in that team.
    You will see what I mean come the next World cup. Football is booming in Canada. Toronto are the best supported side in the MLS. They have had to play with 3 or 4 "grannies" in the side for quite awhile but that is all changing. Guzman is a great player. As I say you heard it here first that Canada will qualify for the next world cup.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 29/07/2007 at 2:21 AM.

161 Posts
    I believe ya Noely, but even Duff played well against them. They made him look like Maradona. Anyways, good luck to them if they're doing well. I just never see them on de telly or anything. I'll wait for a 'told ya so' pm in a few years time.
    The Toronto team has some great fans Tuff paddy. Seriously good craic and very knowledgeable about football. When Beckham plays there he will get some welcome! Loads of shirts with ****HAM on them.

Like Reddladds opinion it's not right but I'll fight tooth and nail for your right to express it
    i havent seen a single person deny him his right to say it. i've seen the majority point out his idiocy though.
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by bennocelt View Post
    (God Im tired...just after reading all those posts from the beginning)
    Holy carp are you serious?

Quote Originally Posted by GavinZac View Post
    i havent seen a single person deny him his right to say it. i've seen the majority point out his idiocy though.
    Missed the boat there ever so slightly Gavin

Anyway do we all still think this Bray reserve can play for Ireland

I believe ya Noely, but even Duff played well against them. They made him look like Maradona. Anyways, good luck to them if they're doing well. I just never see them on de telly or anything. I'll wait for a 'told ya so' pm in a few years time.

We played Canada two or three years ago in a friendly at the Racecourse and won 1-0. It was a fairly one-sided encounter so unless Canada have really come on in leaps and bounds since then I don't think they will qualify for a world cup for a while. We haven't been able to do that for 50 years.

Also, on the subject of Canada/Toronto, good luck to Carl Robinson who's playing there at the moment. Really solid lad and a good player when he's at his best.
    Last edited by Cymro; 29/07/2007 at 11:02 PM.
    "Life is like a hair on a toilet seat. Sooner or later you are bound to get pi$$ed off."

"In this league, a draw is sometimes as good as a win" - Steve Morison

Missed the boat there ever so slightly Gavin
    i felt it important my considerable authority was added, to give closure
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

253 Posts
    I live in Canada and after the Gold Cup (CONCACAF's equivalent to the European Championship) they had, I too think they have a great chance at qualifying for the World Cup.

They scored a late goal which was called offside (later revealed to be an erroneous call by the linesman) which would have brought them into extra time against the US.

The short: they made it to the semi-finals and would have had a great chance of making the finals had the linesman made the correct call.

But it wasn't just the results in the tournament, they actually played fantastically.

I don't think there were any Canadian players in the gold cup squad that played at Lansdowne, but if you can get me the starting XI from that match I can let you know.

Bottom line, Canada is rapidly improving, and with the population here, I think regular World Cup qualification will soon be the norm.

International Prospect DmanDmythDledge's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Guzman is a great player.
    I thought he had declared for Holland?

52 Posts
    Canada is definetely an improving team. Good players like De Guzman, De Rosario, decent ones like Stalteri. But they're a bit like Wales, some great players but some awful ones too. Also, there's talk of another MLS team starting maybe in Montreal in a few years. But my question about Canadian soccer is why they dont have their own pro league?
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

253 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Metrostars View Post
    Canada is definetely an improving team. Good players like De Guzman, De Rosario, decent ones like Stalteri. But they're a bit like Wales, some great players but some awful ones too. Also, there's talk of another MLS team starting maybe in Montreal in a few years. But my question about Canadian soccer is why they dont have their own pro league?
    With the exception of the Canadian Football League (American Football), the majority of professional sports teams in Canada participate in North American leagues, why would soccer be any different?

I think the vast distances between major cities in Canada make a national league unrealistic.

Page 11 of 13 FirstFirst ... 910111213 LastLast