Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

Thread: Drinking on the terraces

I think it's time for us to leave behind the stupid Paddy, Irish drunken lout image. We're a little better educated now and have more options.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Finlay Harp View Post
    Oriel is a joke. Full of clowns thinking they are hard lads. Shops must do some sales in tracksuits and Air Max!
    Them ones in Hot Fuzz mite have been right!

Croke Park does not allow beer into the seated area but you can buy pints and drink them around the stadium.

Quote Originally Posted by dundalksarge View Post
    I Have been over in Australia for the past two years and been to plenty of AFL matches seen the socceroos seen Rugby both league and union, and on every occasion I was able to get a drink in the ground. There is certain parts of the grounds where they only sell mid strength lager rather then full strength , there I see no reason why we can’t go to a game and have a few but the thing is the facilities are not there at home , and in oriels case the security sure as hell isn’t there either.
    In Oz stadia you are limited to 4 drinks per person usually- Which, neatly enough, is about as much as one person can carry!

At Donnybrook and the RDS you can bring your pint out to watch the game. Same with rugby grounds in Wales at least. Lansdowne for rugby you can drink round the back but not while in view of the pitch, as with Croker.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

Quote Originally Posted by new blue View Post
    I think it's time for us to leave behind the stupid Paddy, Irish drunken lout image. We're a little better educated now and have more options.
    unfortunately education has had no bearing on our socialising habits.

in fact the so-called 'new paddy' who is educated and earns/has decent money is probably much worse when it comes to abusing alcohol than say late-teens/early twenty year olds of a decade or two ago.

we are NOT a responsible people when it comes to alcohol. we are UNABLE to leave behind the drunken paddy image because it is more common and occurs at a younger age now than ever before.

We may be better educated and have more options but when it comes to drink this generation and the one coming behind will be worse than what has gone before!

Ban drink from all sporting venues - what purpose does it serve. have a couple before you go in if you want and a couple more after. Go to sporting occasions for the sport and not the drink.

Couldn't agree more.
    Some major and tragic incidents in our area due to our love affair with drink.
    Yet government extends opening hours and you have people on here wanting it more freely available. Our young people are being sold a pup with the glamourising of drink and the results are horrendous. But some people make money out of it and others don't care so the show goes on - what a mess.

115 Posts
    Couldn't agree more.
    Some major and tragic incidents in our area due to our love affair with drink.
    Yet government extends opening hours and you have people on here wanting it more freely available. Our young people are being sold a pup with the glamourising of drink and the results are horrendous. But some people make money out of it and others don't care so the show goes on - what a mess.
    Not to single you out new blue but there's been a lot of posts like this and to be honest it's a crock, and it always gets me biting.
    I like a pint, I like to get drunk now and again, I often go weeks without a drink with no complaints, I don't drink drive, I've never swung a punch with drink taken, or even got angry, and I'd love one at a match, though it's not an essential, and there are many many more like me, and I'm f**ked if I'm going to let those no-marks who can't drink properly ruin it for every other f**ker.
    It's down to responsibility, pure and simple. Oh it's the government! Oh it's the drinks companies! Oh it's the publicans! Oh and now people want longer hours!!
    When is it ever the drink abusers fault? Or their parents for not educating them or setting controls, or a good example?
    Sorry, rant over now.
    Last edited by stann; 17/07/2007 at 2:14 PM.
    more bass

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Not to single you out new blue but there's been a lot of posts like this and to be honest it's a crock, and it always gets me biting.
    I like a pint, I like to get drunk now and again, I often go weeks without a drink with no complaints, I don't drink drive, I've never swung a punch with drink taken, or even got angry, and I'd love one at a match, though it's not an essential, and there are many many more like me, and I'm f**ked if I'm going to let those no-marks who can't drink properly ruin it for every other f**ker.
    It's down to responsibility, pure and simple. Oh it's the government! Oh it's the drinks companies! Oh it's the publicans! Oh and now people want longer hours!!
    When is it ever the drink abusers fault? Or their parents for not educating them or setting controls, or a good example?
    Sorry, rant over now.
    Well said
    54 Crew-Finn Harps FC Supporters Club
    Following Harps Home & Away
    https://www.facebook.com/54CrewFHFC

123 Posts
    I like you stann am a responsible drinker but in order to facilate me you have to serve the **** who cant handle responsibility or drink so ihave to agree with new blue. no drink at games.
    to prove my point i was at the recent mons v shels game and stood beside a group of senior shels supporters who drank inside the clubhouse and were well behaved while down at the other exit schoolies were being obnoxious after two pints.
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

1,025 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    and I'm f**ked if I'm going to let those no-marks who can't drink properly ruin it for every other f**ker.
    Sorry, rant over now.
    It is the drink abusers fault. I think everybody will agree on that. But the government, and the law, must, like it or not, make laws that stop the lowest idiot from being given free reign to do what he likes.

Making alcohol more available would create no problems for the vast majority, but the damage potentially done by the small minority outweighs that.

You say that is is about responsibility, but the government has a responsibility to ensure that those who are not responsible for themselves do no harm.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    I like you stann am a responsible drinker but in order to facilate me you have to serve the **** who cant handle responsibility or drink so ihave to agree with new blue. no drink at games.
    Not too pushed about availability at games, I was ranting in general about how moderate, sensible types always have to pander to f**kers who can't do anything right.

Quote Originally Posted by osarusan View Post
    It is the drink abusers fault. I think everybody will agree on that. But the government, and the law, must, like it or not, make laws that stop the lowest idiot from being given free reign to do what he likes.

Making alcohol more available would create no problems for the vast majority, but the damage potentially done by the small minority outweighs that.

You say that is is about responsibility, but the government has a responsibility to ensure that those who are not responsible for themselves do no harm.
    Don't agree osarusan, or I agree that's that what they do do but not what they should be doing. By those arguments then no-one under the age of 25 should be allowed drive because a few lunatic young fellas won't slow down. Before you say that's taking things to ridiculous extremes there's the admittedly fairly trivial but still illuminatory example that we can no longer buy tippex thinner here because a few f**kwits were sniffing it all the time!
    At home here nobody is allowed drink in public (local bye-law) because of trouble with under-age drinking in one spot down the town. Why did it not occur to people to pass a bye-law banning kids from that area, or strengthening police powers to disperse them? Nah, instead everyone has to suffer, much easier. Where does it stop? (BTW, I'm not into knacker drinking, it's just that it fecked up an open-air music festival subsequently)

No to the nanny state!
    Last edited by stann; 17/07/2007 at 3:41 PM.
    more bass

Do not agree with nanny state and there is a danger of it happening.
    Do not agree with restricting mature adults' rights.
    But we have a MAJOR problem with abuse of alcohol especially by young people. This has gone beyond rationalisation and excuses. We need to rethink our excessive drink culture and someone needs to say STOP.

Do not agree with nanny state and there is a danger of it happening.
    Do not agree with restricting mature adults' rights.
    But we have a MAJOR problem with abuse of alcohol especially by young people. This has gone beyond rationalisation and excuses. We need to rethink our excessive drink culture and someone needs to say STOP.
    WTF, drink isn't allowed at football games

Bring your social rants into current affairs

You're very articulate and a real leader so yes sir I'll do exactly as you say.
    Get lost. This thread is about the wider availability of drink at football matches or is that a little too complex for you and unlike your crap some people give reasons for their preferences. Come back to me when you have a considered opinion of more than ten words.

You're very articulate and a real leader so yes sir I'll do exactly as you say.
    Get lost. This thread is about the wider availability of drink at football matches or is that a little too complex for you and unlike your crap some people give reasons for their preferences. Come back to me when you have a considered opinion of more than ten words.
    Please read the thread, and my posts on it, before patronising me

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    WTF, drink isn't allowed at football games
    It seems like some clubs pick and choose about allowing the crowd to drink or not to drink.
    Who Cares?!

Not in the premier division. Some first division clubs are basically junior clubs and obviously don't feel the need to conform to UEFA guidelines

Anyway getting back to the point I see no problem with clubs serving drink in plastic glasses. Not going to happen though. People drinking cans at games is ridiculous (and I say this having been to one game this year and not remembered a single thing)

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    People drinking cans at games is ridiculous (and I say this having been to one game this year and not remembered a single thing)
    If you had to watch first division ****e you'd think differently
    Who Cares?!

Really, how hard up for alcohol are we that we need to drink at games? I mean if you wanna drink, stay in the pub until as close to kick off as possible. Go for a pint at half time(if pub nearby, generally there is). Then head to pub after the game.

All you have to do is go without drink for 2 hours at most like! It can't be that hard...and if it is then you should join an alcohol support group.

Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast