Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Drinking on the terraces

Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    it wouldnt be cool if you couldnt drink your cans of dutch gold and look like a scumbag watching the match.
    cop on ffs, the last thing we need in the ground is a bunch of clowns who think their the whole men with their stupit cans of ****.
    who said i drink dutch gold....dont make such a sweeping statement about me when you dont have a clue!. i bring vodka into the grounds in a bottle with red bull.... i think it should be overlooked as long as you sneak it in, and arent rowdy or flauting it!.
    you obvioulsy dont get out much if you think over-age men dont want to have a drink while watching a match on a FRIDAY NIGHT!. and dont be trying to describe me as a scumbag in your description...theres only one clown here and its not me!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

stupit

Arf, arf, arf!

I was totally sober last night so had a good scan about the place at what was going on .At first it seemed like a really nice idea , lovely summer evening , pint in hand watching a game .But at half time some of the young blokes from the shed came over to bar , and the atmosphere changed .A few of them brought there pints back over with them to the far side off the ground ! the ones who were caught became fairly aggro with stewards and some harps fans .I thought it was gonna kick off tbh.

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    I was totally sober last night so had a good scan about the place at what was going on .At first it seemed like a really nice idea , lovely summer evening , pint in hand watching a game .But at half time some of the young blokes from the shed came over to bar , and the atmosphere changed .A few of them brought there pints back over with them to the far side off the ground ! the ones who were caught became fairly aggro with stewards and some harps fans .I thought it was gonna kick off tbh.
    i was there myself, i queried why were we not allowed out in the 2nd half with our drinks? what was the difference in drinkin on the terrace in the 1st or 2nd half? some of our lads had the craic with the stewards and even some of the Dundalk fans were having the craic, but going to kick off? I didnt see that, we actually snuck our beer out, none of our lads (or Dundalk lads) became fairly "aggro". Each Dundalk fan i spoke to said it was the normal practice, so why would they give the steward sh!te over it?

Quote Originally Posted by ndrog View Post
    Big time - a few of them were looking to get at us and had to be restrained. Normally we would go into the bar for a few pints afterwards but the stewards kept us in the ground and made our driver get the bus. We had to be sneaked out the back gate and take a different route away from Oriel as they were waiting to smash the windows on the bus according to the steward.

We usually have a good enough relationship with Dundalk fans but some of these lads were obviously nasty pieces of work. Hopefully they don't come up to Finn Park because it would definitely kick-off. The locals don't take kindly to that kind of crap as the Shels schooligans can testify to this season.

123 Posts
    well someone seems to be lying there its either sam heggy or fbtn, they were both in the same place and both have two different accounts of what was or was not going to happen. Interesting isnt it

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    who said i drink dutch gold....dont make such a sweeping statement about me when you dont have a clue!. i bring vodka into the grounds in a bottle with red bull....
    Yep thats much classier

Honestly, as a fan I don't have a problem with people drinking in the ground during the game, but if I were running a club I wouldn't allow it. Sends out the wrong message to families, and has the capability of getting messy in the wrong type of fans hands

Sam meant it wasn't going to kick-off with the stewards.

He knows all about the crap we were getting as he was on my bus and had to go out the side exist with the rest of us.

Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    well someone seems to be lying there its either sam heggy or fbtn, they were both in the same place and both have two different accounts of what was or was not going to happen. Interesting isnt it
    And why have fbtn and sam heggy never been photographed together?

Interesting..........

By the way McGonigle, read your own forum. Even your own fans are on about it.

If you were at the game, surely you'd have noticed your non-existent segregation policy and inadequate stewarding.

238 Posts
    Jaysus how do you pick up on these things McGonigle? See what u want and thats it eh? were u at the game?

123 Posts
    Yeah I was at the game, I was over at the Harps side at half time and about 5 minutes into the second half and there was no problem then, but I'm not saying there wasnt a problem later, I just read two contrasting posts, one after the other and was curious.

I know exactly what some idiot Dundalk fans can be like, we have a number of them, especially for big games and I'm in no doubt that what you both are saying is true and yes I agree about the stewarding so I am on your side about that one and the drinking.

Just to say that I know its not right but you do get these idiots everywhere, in cobh we were verbally abused by some young idiot with a drogheda flag of all things for a good few minutes. This idiot stood facing us during the match both abusing asnd distracting us from he match. Honestly I wanted to hit the guy but didnt want to get thrown out or cause anything, soon enough this idiot moved on to annoy somebody else. During this no steward or cobh fan came anywhere near us, so its a problem in alot of places indeed

238 Posts
    def this aint a go at Dundalk but those louts who claim to be fans. As i said above we had the craic with some of the stewards and alot of Dundalk fans but the few d!ckheads causin bother really ****es me off.

Quote Originally Posted by fbtn View Post
    You could buy four pints at a time in Paris during the Ireland/France game. They even gave you a tray so you wouldn't spill any going up into the stand.
    You could. And you could also have a good laugh watching the look on people's faces when you told them what the 'SANS ALCOOL' written on the plastic glass meant.

Nah, nah, that must mean EXTRA alcohol...
    I've seen it happen in loads of stadiums - Irish fans can't get enough of the non-alcoholic beer. I've even told people as they queued up that the beer has no alcohol. They're so much in denial about it that they go ahead anyway.
    SIGNATURESCOPE

284 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy View Post
    UEFA competition rules prohibit drink sales at all games under their jurisdiction(club and international). Foreign domestic league games are generally fine (unless its in England or Scotland where its against the law).
    I went to UEFA Cup (Prague) and Euro2008 (Vaduz, Copenhagen) matches in the season just past. The only beer available in or at the grounds was low (no?) alcohol.

However, alcohol is not banned at English League games. Most stadia (esp. the new ones) have one or more bars incorporated under/within their stands, but you're not allowed to bring it out into the seated or standing area. And I don't know whether it's a legal requirement (I suspect it is), but stadium bars have to close a quarter of an hour before kick-off, not to open again until half-time.

Further, you're not allowed to drink within view of the pitch, which means that the Prawn Sandwich Brigade in the Executive Boxes have to keep their glasses and bottles below/away from the glass screen which separates them from the plebs (or out of sight if they've got an open balcony outside).

Which is a far cry from when I first started attending matches in the mid-80's. If the weather was nice and there wasn't a big crowd, I distinctly remember the routine whereby me and my mate would have a couple of looseners at White Hart Lane before the game, then order two x one litre glasses of lager each just before kick-off to take onto the Paxton Road terrace, to drink while watching. That's over 3 1/2 pints! The good thing was, there was no rush to finish it, and although it was a bit flat, you could sit on the terraces at half time and carry on at your leisure whilst everyone else was queuing up at the bar.

And although hooliganism was rife in those days, I genuinely don't think drink in the stadium was a factor. This was because there were cops dotted throughout the terraces, often on little steps, where they could see what was going on. Therefore, if you got lairy, you were liable to be thrown out (or shoved in the back of a transit, to get the shi t kicked out of you!)

Besides, the hooligan mob tended to get drunk before the game in selected locals, rather than in the ground itself, with the real hardcore (reputed, at least) staying sober, so as to be able to fight properly.

These days, I often pop down to Brentford, unique in football in having a pub at each corner of the Ground. In fact, although the club does have some bars within the stadium, they were so fed up with seeing their fans paying over the counter to pub landlords entirely unconnected with the club, they bought the biggest pub (Princess Royal) themselves a couple of years back! It does a roaring trade on matchdays, but during the week as well, and they converted a function room into a club shop, so I imagine it's making them decent money.

Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    who said i drink dutch gold....dont make such a sweeping statement about me when you dont have a clue!. i bring vodka into the grounds in a bottle with red bull.... i think it should be overlooked as long as you sneak it in, and arent rowdy or flauting it!.
    you obvioulsy dont get out much if you think over-age men dont want to have a drink while watching a match on a FRIDAY NIGHT!. and dont be trying to describe me as a scumbag in your description...theres only one clown here and its not me!!
    Surely this has earned gilberto a nomination as the coolest and indeed hardest MAN on foot.ie

He brings drink into grounds. He's soooooooo cool. He just had to tell everyone

And he (ssssshhh) SNEAKS IT IN. Wow, he's soooooooooooo super cool

And don't ever accuse him of drinking dutch gold. He's a renegade. He doesn't play by the usual teenage scrote rules. Vodka and energy drink all the way for this young MAN

And don't imply he's a scumbag. He confuses them with clowns

Surely this has earned gilberto a nomination as the coolest and indeed hardest MAN on foot.ie

And don't ever accuse him of drinking dutch gold. He's a renegade. He doesn't play by the usual teenage scrote rules. Vodka and energy drink all the way for this young MAN

Oh god that is an awful sad post. The man just says what he does and you go on a big rant of how he is cool?
    Very imature from you whoever you are.

I nominate for SPOTM (sarchastic post of the month), if only such a category existed!!! Gilberto's post was hilarious though, made me laugh..."Who drinks Dutch Gold...ME, NEVER, take that back ya fcuker"

Classic...
    Last edited by KoemansCC; 14/07/2007 at 3:09 AM. Reason: Very slight spelling error might have left me open to ridicule

Drinking On the Terraces

Any European stadium I have been in which beer was sold, and there was no trouble, it was sold in plastic glasses.
    So nothing of a missile nature when the drink has been consumed.

An earlier poster suggested that Irish people could be responsible with alcohol.
    Have you been in any major urban centre on a weekend night?We seem to be congenitally incapable of drinking moderately in this country. A trait we share with Native Americans and Aboriginal Australians. We are a nation of binge drinkers. What we consider moderate alcohol consumption is way over the odds in almost any other country on earth. Alcohol abuse is one of the worst social problems in this country and can lead to depression and premature death from both alcohol related illnesses and , in some cases suicide.

I don't think the majority of people in this country can be responsible in any way shape or form about anything... never mind alcohol consumption. Responsible behaviour is almost unknown nowadays, and people refuse to take responsibility for their behaviour either. When someone commits a crime/misdemeanour/felony it's always someone or something else which is to blame.
    Last edited by CollegeTillIDie; 14/07/2007 at 8:42 AM.

Formerly: wild rover
    society is taking a hell of a beating in this thread

I do the normal thing and booze before the game.only time ive done it this season was ucd and i went underneath the stand to avoid breaking the rule

Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast