Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

Thread: Drinking on the terraces

123 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Finlay Harp View Post
    Oriel is a joke. Full of clowns thinking they are hard lads. Shops must do some sales in tracksuits and Air Max!
    I counted 8 stewards in the whole ground and they had no idea what was going on. If Dundalk go up I would love to see the shape of the place when Rovers and Bohs leave it. Sort it out Dundalk!
    So I take it that you got trouble last night then Finlay!

The sad reality is that if beer was allowed to be openly consumed on terraces/in stands at EL games, incidents of trouble would arise/increase. I could even see it inevitably resulting in, or contributing to, a situation where it was felt necessary to reverse the decision. Particularly given how rubbish the stewarding, segregation and lay-out of most of our grounds is.

Analogies with horse-racing and greyhounds are just naive. Football clearly attracts a different demographic and has a dramatically different culture, atmosphere, history and dynamic.

Personally, I've never understood why people are that desperate for a drink that they will go to any length to smuggle in a few cans of nasty dirt-cheap booze into a football match. Sad that they can't survive for 2hrs without a drink.....

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    nah the Harps fans were there to watch a game of football and support our team, not to get involved in mindless violence. If that went on in Finn Park, im pretty sure the "fans" involved would be chucked out and barred.

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mcgonigle View Post
    Not me personally. I am long enough in the tooth attending games around Europe to know when to keep back from getting involved with scumbags not worth it! Your support leaves alot to be desired!
    Say nothin til ya hear more!

At the last game in Cobh last year ( against rovers who needed a point to win league) a lot of rovers fans got past security and brought their drinks out of clubhouse and then started to pelt our keeper with drink (what a waste) at first but then with glasses....scary stuff

Quote Originally Posted by The Man Himself View Post
    it wouldnt be cool if you couldnt drink your cans of dutch gold and look like a scumbag watching the match.
    cop on ffs, the last thing we need in the ground is a bunch of clowns who think their the whole men with their stupit cans of ****.
    Well said - we need this carry-on like a hole in the head!
    What planet are some of these people on and what responsuble parent would allow children into a booze-filled atmosphere.

238 Posts
    I do think a pub attached to the ground/ owned by the club is a great idea. Dundalk must have made a bomb last night, but unfortunately some people cant be trusted to behave. Its a pity that just a small section of people can spoil it for the real fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I agree it should be allowed by the way (in plastic cups) but in Italy and Spain only non alcoholic beer is sold. Friend of mine spent a fair few quid at a game in Barcelona and after 13 ****es realised it was non alcoholic.

The reason Pats were given from the FAI is the UEFA spiel
    Not entirely true. I was on the Curva Sud last April for the Roma-Lazio match and there were bars open in the stand and bottles were being sold by sellers walking around (and then every bottle got thrown at the stewards and police ).

You sure it wa alcoholic?

I was sure it was but you're after putting doubts into my head. The game is all a bit of a haze. The general mayhem seemed to suggest it was alcohol but then they dont need alcohol for that.

Both the Faeroes and San Marino had beer on sale in the ground, maybe little countries get away with it.

69 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Bomb Landsdowne View Post
    If marketed well like the house racing and the greyhounds it would attract more fans.

Quote Originally Posted by Rams-07 View Post
    At the last game in Cobh last year ( against rovers who needed a point to win league) a lot of rovers fans got past security and brought their drinks out of clubhouse and then started to pelt our keeper with drink (what a waste) at first but then with glasses....scary stuff
    Absolute nonsense.

Every club should have a bar as it generates income. However drink shouldnt be allowed to be taken from the bar onto terraces.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Dundalk must have made a bomb last night
    While visits to Oriel Park normally prompt that sort of a reaction, in fairness to the natives Sam, I think they've left all that sort of stuff in the past.

I've supped official ale in the stands in Germany and at a UEFA Cup Final in Denmark. And yes, it was full strength. I can barely remember the penalty shootout.

It'd be a great idea if people could be trusted to be responsible, unfortunately that's asking a lot.

Maybe if it was given a trial at a few grounds? Personally I'd love to see it and the reality is that fans just get ****ed before they go into the grounds anyway and often sneak drink in so the overall level of drunkeness probably wouldn't go up that much.

43 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HolylandsMan View Post
    the reality is that fans just get ****ed before they go into the grounds anyway and often sneak drink in so the overall level of drunkeness probably wouldn't go up that much.
    Agreed.
    The type of fans who are going to cause trouble and get stupidly drunk if beer was available at the games are the type that do it now anyway. I hate being punished for idiots behaviour. They'll be idiots regardless.

Quote Originally Posted by Bald Student View Post
    Both the Faeroes and San Marino had beer on sale in the ground, maybe little countries get away with it.
    The stuff in the Faroes was either alcohol free or low-alcohol, I forget which.

You could buy four pints at a time in Paris during the Ireland/France game. They even gave you a tray so you wouldn't spill any going up into the stand.

The pikey's that were having a go at us last night - the last thing those idiots needed was been allowed to drink.

115 Posts
    In Sweden they have "low alcohol" beer, had a few glasses at Djurgardens v Cork a few years back, looked and tasted like Coors Light.

When in Paris for Derry's game last year one of my companions, along with a few hundred Derry men, queued for the whole of halftime to get me a glass of "Amstel Free" claiming it was the pint he owed me!!!
    It was awful **** but I'm pretty hazy on the rest of the evening so it must have had some sort of inebriating value!
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by fbtn View Post
    You could buy four pints at a time in Paris during the Ireland/France game. They even gave you a tray so you wouldn't spill any going up into the stand.

The pikey's that were having a go at us last night - the last thing those idiots needed was been allowed to drink.
    That was definately low/no alcohol.

Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast