Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast

Thread: 19 years ago today

bring on the slovaks and czechs and this time next year we'll be reminiscing about our hit and run job in eastern europe !!
    Was he crazy!! Yeah , in a very special way , an Irishman.
    I slept, and dreamed that life was Beauty;
    I woke, and found that life was Duty.

161 Posts
    If we get to 2008 it would surpass anything we have done before IMO. We probably have to pick up 7 points away but might get away with picking up 5 (Czechs imploding). Win all 3 home games. Sounds daunting. Christ it is daunting. But I just have this feeling that we can somehow pull it off.

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    If we get to 2008 it would surpass anything we have done before IMO. We probably have to pick up 7 points away but might get away with picking up 5 (Czechs imploding). Win all 3 home games. Sounds daunting. Christ it is daunting. But I just have this feeling that we can somehow pull it off.
    We have 2 home games left. If we win them both, which I think we should, I'd say 5 points away from home would do it. 3 draws might even be enough.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 21/06/2007 at 5:31 PM.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy View Post
    We have 2 home games left. If we win them both, which I think we should, I'd say 5 points away from home would do it. 3 draws might even be enough.
    Had completely forgotten the San Marino home match! See. Another 3 points added. It gets easier by the minute.

114 Posts
    Had completely forgotten the San Marino home match! See. Another 3 points added. It gets easier by the minute.
    You need to substitute Germany for San Marino - we have played them at home already

3,501 Posts
    We don't have San Marino at home, we beat them 5-0 at home last November. Our only "easy" home game left is Cyprus on the 17th October, that's the wednesday after the Germany game.

Quote Originally Posted by NeilMcD View Post
    It was 19 years today that Ray Houghton put the ball in the English net.
    an absolute to*ser, would any true irish person do this??.... you can tell where he's really see's himself frm by what he done here.... i know it was a joke but what kind of ''irishman'' goes onto a sketch and makes a mockery of his country??.... ill tell ya what one who has no respect for the flag!!

http://youtube.com/watch?v=FP2HR3PZX-M
    Last edited by gilberto_eire; 22/06/2007 at 2:06 AM.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gilberto_eire View Post
    an absolute to*ser, would any true irish person do this??.... you can tell where he's really see's himself frm by what he done here.... i know it was a joke but what kind of ''irishman'' goes onto a sketch and makes a mockery of his country??.... ill tell ya what one who has no respect for the flag!!

Lighten up - sur eit was in terrible taste but Fantasy Football was like that.

Ray Hoguhton was a hero for his country and not just for the 2 crucial goals v England and Italy but for his general play and commitment.

Plenty of people have made a mockery of our country like the politicans cremaing off tens of millions of our money when unemployment was at 16% and emigration even higher. Not to mentio nthe gobsh$%es who elected them.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    Lighten up - sur eit was in terrible taste but Fantasy Football was like that.

Ray Hoguhton was a hero for his country and not just for the 2 crucial goals v England and Italy but for his general play and commitment.

Plenty of people have made a mockery of our country like the politicans cremaing off tens of millions of our money when unemployment was at 16% and emigration even higher. Not to mentio nthe gobsh$%es who elected them.
    There was war when it was originally broadcast, several people on the forum (including myself) complained to Ofcom about it.

2,796 Posts
    Another Houghton goal was very nearly crucial: the equaliser in Brussels.

I'm a true Irish person ...and I thought it was priceless.

Fair play Ray!
    " I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Quote Originally Posted by Lionel Ritchie View Post
    I'm a true Irish person ...and I thought it was priceless.

Fair play Ray!
    ok whatever about ya thinking it was funny to say ''fair play'' is indicating that he done a good thing when in reality it wasnt!!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

ok whatever about ya thinking it was funny to say ''fair play'' is indicating that he done a good thing when in reality it wasnt!!
    Why should it be a bad thing to laugh at ourselves??? ...or to have anyone else have a laugh on us every once in a while???

I said fair play to him because it showed he's capable of differentiating between a harmless slagging and disrespectful abuse. It showed he wasn't up his own hole and that he could laugh a little at himself.

Though I'll be seeing him in that Jean Butler get up in my nightmares!

" I wish to God that someone would be able to block out the voices in my head for five minutes, the voices that scream, over and over again: "Why do they come to me to die?"

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    It is stage Irish stuff with the usual digs about him not being "Irish". He dresses up as a Leprechaun and then as a terrorist

It's not us "laughing at ourselves". This was a UK programme whose audience was primarily football fans, many ill educated, who would have had their preconceived ideas of Ireland and the Irish (and Jack's team) reinforced by the ridicule. Sure, I thought it was funny but I thought Houghton, my favourite player of the Charlton years, let himself and his country down by conforming to the stereotype image of the Irish by some in the UK. If the sketch had been thought up by Bernard Manning, I wouldn't have been surprised.

I prefer to remember Razor as the best player to wear the green during the Charlton years. The human dynamo, not the buffoon of a comic and racist sketch.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    It is stage Irish stuff with the usual digs about him not being "Irish". He dresses up as a Leprechaun and then as a terrorist

It's not us "laughing at ourselves". This was a UK programme whose audience was primarily football fans, many ill educated, who would have had their preconceived ideas of Ireland and the Irish (and Jack's team) reinforced by the ridicule. Sure, I thought it was funny but I thought Houghton, my favourite player of the Charlton years, let himself and his country down by conforming to the stereotype image of the Irish by some in the UK. If the sketch had been thought up by Bernard Manning, I wouldn't have been surprised.

I prefer to remember Razor as the best player to wear the green during the Charlton years. The human dynamo, not the buffoon of a comic and racist sketch.
    Oh will you dry your eyes

3,501 Posts
    IIRC the guy who was dressed as the gunman was the producer of the show, who was from Dublin.

skinner is not anti-irish either he always said he loved to see ireland do well....and more importantly he has great respect for shane macgown and genuniely likes him.

3,501 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    skinner is not anti-irish either he always said he loved to see ireland do well....and more importantly he has great respect for shane macgown and genuniely likes him.
    Dunno about that, he nearly had a heart failure when Dermot O'Leary told him he didn't support England, he only supported Ireland

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    All that was missing from the sketch were a few pigs being driven through a parlour
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

Quote Originally Posted by OwlsFan View Post
    All that was missing from the sketch were a few pigs being driven through a parlour
    ...or a couple of lads shovelling tar!! They could've put them in our old Orange away shirt.

Page 5 of 7 FirstFirst ... 34567 LastLast