Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Sale of Tolka

123 Posts
    you support your team no matter where they play, dont think rovers lost to much support through there years of travelling, stability is the key and tallagh will do that for both clubs
    I wish i did not know then what I dont know now

Quote Originally Posted by passerrby View Post
    you support your team no matter where they play, dont think rovers lost to much support through there years of travelling, stability is the key and tallagh will do that for both clubs
    Actually our support has fallen significantly over the years! The early years in the RDS being a prime example of our potential, sadly numerous moves from one ground to another have taken their toll, Santry being the prime culprit IMO!

Koh
    Thomas Davis have said they will be the last man standing, they were WRONG!!

SRFC will NEVER die!!

Quote Originally Posted by DvB View Post
    Actually our support has fallen significantly over the years! The early years in the RDS being a prime example of our potential, sadly numerous moves from one ground to another have taken their toll, Santry being the prime culprit IMO!

Koh
    I think when you get yourself a permenant home and start being successful again you will get some support back. Although not like the olds days as those days are gone in world football, not just Irish football.
    The Hallion Battalion Molests football.:D

Quote Originally Posted by alltogethernow View Post

Your two biigest games this season have been Cork last Friday....1,000 and us in the LC where we had more fans so don't be holding out for attendances.
    AFAIK Kildare at home was our biggest attendance so far this season.
    Who Cares?!

1,553 Posts
    Our biggest game of the season was Kildare County at home
    Superclassico!

Foot.ie! Live Games

Does anyone else think the live monday night games are killing the attendences?

I was at the bohs-pats game recently and the pats crowd was pathetic for a dublin derby!
    We'll never die!

Quote Originally Posted by FarmHoop View Post
    Does anyone else think the live monday night games are killing the attendences?

I was at the bohs-pats game recently and the pats crowd was pathetic for a dublin derby!
    Not sure if you've been to Bohs - Pat's games at Dalyer b4, but they never bring a good crowd to Dalyer, no matter what night the match is played!

I see

No mate it was my first, well glad to hear it wasnt cos of the live tv, but still think they dont help
    We'll never die!

God forgive any team having a bit of ambition. Shels took the risk to get to the CL, it backfired and they paid for it. It's their own doing but at least Ollie had the balls to do it.

Would the €3m not give them enough to rent, even buy, Whitehall? I can't imagine they want to play in Tallaght.
    Extratime.ie

Yo te quiero, mi querida. Sin tus besos, yo soy nada.

Abri o portão de ouro, da maquina do tempo.

Mi mamá me hizo guapo, listo y antimadridista.

Quote Originally Posted by superfrank View Post
    Would the €3m not give them enough to rent, even buy, Whitehall? I can't imagine they want to play in Tallaght.
    The area is not for sale last time I checked!

You'd need many more millions to get Home Farm to sell up!

812 Posts
    God forgive any team having a bit of ambition. Shels took the risk to get to the CL, it backfired and they paid for it. It's their own doing but at least Ollie had the balls to do it.
    Because financial recklessness is absolutely commendable in any club.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans View Post
    The area is not for sale last time I checked!

You'd need many more millions to get Home Farm to sell up!
    I'm not familiar with property trends in North Dublin but it'd just seem easier for them.

When Belvedere (?) played us last year they'd just sold their ground for something like €4m.
    Extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by John83 View Post
    Because financial recklessness is absolutely commendable in any club.
    If they'd pulled it off none of this would've happened. There's a fine line between success and failure.
    Extratime.ie

Quote Originally Posted by OhNoYouDidn't View Post
    thats why we had Pats, Shels and her majesties Bohemians all courting us this season? a three way reverse auction ensued which saw you all bid each other down?

clueless.
    Pats never approached nor were ever approached by Rovers to share Richmond Park this season.

If they'd pulled it off none of this would've happened. There's a fine line between success and failure.
    *Sigh* Don't you get it? Any team with ambition has a chance BUT the Shels "dream" was built on lies, cheats and a complete lack of reality, financial know how and, when it gets down to it, money!

Ollie (and nutsy) loved trotting out the old "begrudgers" line but the ****ing idiots wouldn't listen. If Ollie had've tried to build his core support up and then build up Shels income, and then legitimately pay for better players, he and Shels would have a right to have a proper crack at Europe.

But they didn't. They did it totally arseways and deserve every bit of scorn heaped on them.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    As opposed to what happened Shels? Rovers still sing about 4 in a row, most of them without even a hint of irony that it was paid for by Kilcoyne and he wanted his money back (He also spoke of doing something in Europe)

In fairness to Rovers they've got their act together big time but there's no way they could build that stadium on their own, so the SDCC really helped them out (and before anyone starts I've nothing against this and fair play to the SDCC and Rovers for showing a bit of imagination)

It is hugely ironic though that Rovers will firmly be in the driving seat when it comes to Tallaght and Shels will be begging to be allowed jump in as the junior partner.
    All wrong.

So what if some Rovers fans sing 4 in a row (I never do). Lucifer made £980,000 from the sale of Milltown in 1988 which is a shedload more than he what he put in over the years. The fans paid for the floodlights.

Secondly we could have paid for the stadium in Tallaght. Other Rovers fans would have more precise details on that.

Shels in Tallaght is pie in the sky.

Isnt it hugely ironic that you cant buy a Pats jersey with all their money now??

Quote Originally Posted by NY Hoop View Post
    So what if some Rovers fans sing 4 in a row (I never do). Lucifer made £980,000 from the sale of Milltown in 1988 which is a shedload more than he what he put in over the years. The fans paid for the floodlights.
    Nobody ever said that Kilcoyne didn't completely rip you off, but he did put money into the club and before he did Rovers were in the doldrums, with him at the helm you won that 4 in row. Its not just a co-incidence. IN NO WAY am I saying he was good for your club, far from it, I'm saying that its a bit rich of some of your support to gloat about that 4 ina row, when most of them know Kilcoyne's influence on Rovers then.

Secondly we could have paid for the stadium in Tallaght. Other Rovers fans would have more precise details on that.
    Again who said you couldn't pay for it? I said "there's no way they could build that stadium on their own, so the SDCC really helped them out " which is obviously true. if you could've done it without the SDCC surely you would have?!?! I'm talking post Maguire here. The best deal available to Rovers was the SDCC and you, rightly, jumped at it.

n Tallaght is pie in the sky.
    No more so than Shels moving to anywhere else

hugely ironic that you cant buy a Pats jersey with all their money now??
    Don't really understand irony, do you?

Poor form by my club though

22 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post

Poor form by my club though
    Nothing to do with pats why jersies or even a bleedin t shirt cant be bought, thankfully we have a new kit maker soon enough. One who might actually make a kit every now and then not just when they owed monies.

kdjac

3,491 Posts
    Anyone Shels fans know anything about the apparent stipulation with the Council that they can't sell Tolka unless they buy (not rent) a new ground? I've heard that a couple of times, which would rule out a move to Tallaght.

Also, I do find it ironic that Pat's fans are criticising Shels' overspending given that they're racking up losses of a million a year at this stage, and don't seem to have any qualms about being top of the league.

812 Posts
    Why would the council be interested? They don't own the freehold there, do they?

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast