Thread: KICK-OFF CHANGED - 7.15pm, Galway United v Finn Harps

1,553 Posts
    Look at it this way geezer (and I don't think the FAI take a significant share of the gate until the latter stages)- should the late change mean that 200 people paying on average €10 now do not attend the game, then that's €2000 that the clubs lose out on for no good reason. That's a lot of lotto tickets or whatever to sell and hard work for people to do to make that up.

We were on our way to Kilkenny last season for the last game of the season when Harps called off your game against Dundalk. All games were to be played at the same time but Dundalk had the advantage of knowing the result of our game because ye had to postpone the game at the last minute. I haven't seen this much moaning since Maxi attacked John Delaney's Christmas tree. Get over it. its a half an hour change in kick off time ffs
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Quote Originally Posted by Rocketfingers View Post
    Not giving out about floodlights giving off about the way you are treating another club, total joke ! also to be fair to us at least we know a week in advance what time it gets dark at !
    Yes but it was only after ye took down the old one's ye realised they'd have to be replaced.Idiots.

Go away from our forum-you're too much like the old days.

Don't see the huge fuss myself but i can acknowledge Harps frustration.
    www.galwayunitedfc.net -----New GUFC fans forum and Gust Website.

Europe's Big Club.
    "Cause Galway are MASSIVE"-RW Rover on 24/8/07 00:29am

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    For the third time, sorry for the inconvenience. And I bow to your greater knowledge of how the FAI & Harps came to hear of it.

Apologise for the inconvenience as often as you like, but its kinda pointless when you qualify it by repeatedly trying to imply that its not really any big deal at all and call aways fans annoyance "righteous indignation". Tell you what, keep you apology.

Team travel arrangements are on a tight itinerary as already stated. Add in contacting everyone (some of whom are working) to make sure everyone is there in time for the new departure time and Paul Hegarty has a major headache he did not need in advance of the cup game.

Then add in the fact that local and national press this morning list the game as 7.45pm, with National Radio bulletins I've heard not highlighting the change, and the fact that many supporters are not online, and you can garauntee that a number of Harps fans will not find out in time to change travel plans or to "simply" leave half an hour earlier. It would have been easy to leave half an hour earlier if we'd been told a few days ago.

1,553 Posts
    Harps called off your game against Dundalk
    This was called off by the ref, not by FHFC. Totally different circumstance in any case.

I reckon that all ye'll be missing out on is a couple of beers before the game lads. As for the team they will have left Ballybofey with loads of time to spare. Having said that it is a **** up but hey these things happen. I just hope that its brighter in Galway than it is in Cork at the mo cos you wouldn't be able to see jack sh1t if its this dark in Galway!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

The FAI insisted that the game KO at 7.15pm due to poor weather conditions.

Five floodlights are still working. On any normal day in June, it would be bright until 10.30pm. GUFC/GUST have sent out over 500 texts to supporters this morning, as well as contacting Galway Bay FM and posting on two fora and the club website.

Any inconvenience to the team and supporters of Finn Harps is regrettable. In retrospect, this decision should have been made yesterday.

38 Posts
    Aertel still reporting the match as a 7.45pm kick-off.

2FM had no metion of the change in kick-off time on their sports news at 2.00pm.

Apart from the few Harps supporters who are on this and other forums (and the Harps website) where are the Harps supporters going to get their advice to set off on their journey's half-an-hour earlier. By the time the next sports news is on the radio, it will already be too late to set off half-an-hour early if you know what I mean.

Quote Originally Posted by harps1954 View Post
    Aertel still reporting the match as a 7.45pm kick-off.
    If the game hadn't been changed I doubt they would have had it right. I wouldn't depend on Errortel if I were you.
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

Quote Originally Posted by Mr_T View Post
    Apologise for the inconvenience as often as you like, but its kinda pointless when you qualify it by repeatedly trying to imply that its not really any big deal at all and call aways fans annoyance "righteous indignation". Tell you what, keep you apology.
    Right. Brilliant. Thanks for that.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by baileban View Post
    Does this mean I'll have to miss the second half of Home and Away??????????
    Quote Originally Posted by bazza1 View Post
    Its a joke if you ask me!!! they should have given us much more notice bout this!!! im not happy at all!!! i wonder what John Cahill thinks about this? no doubt he will have a letter in the local press!!!!!!!!!
    why dont ya ask him thats his reply to this right above yours...bet ya didnt realise that...
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post
    The FAI insisted that the game KO at 7.15pm due to poor weather conditions.

Five floodlights are still working. On any normal day in June, it would be bright until 10.30pm. GUFC/GUST have sent out over 500 texts to supporters this morning, as well as contacting Galway Bay FM and posting on two fora and the club website.

Any inconvenience to the team and supporters of Finn Harps is regrettable. In retrospect, this decision should have been made yesterday.
    i just RE-read the message there frm RC and too sure thats what it said.... i taught it was just saying about the match and breezed through it fast....oooopppsss !!
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

i can see logistically it will be a bit of a pain in the arse for the finn harps team etc. - but for most of the fans - its one less beer beforehand

if your comminting to the 3-4 hour journey - youll have some leeway im sure - and only miss a few minuets at the most

obvoiusly it would have been better announced yesterday etc.

but as is lets get the word out
    more water!

Just a heads up on the traffic situation in the city, in short it's mental because of the Tuam Road works....

Anyone traveling from the East of the city or the Tuam direction would want to adjust their journey time accordingly....

1,553 Posts
    The match has been put back to 7.35 or 7.45 if there is a big crowd. This is not a joke- got a message from ***** *******. The Harps bus was delayed in Sligo.

Whoops!- Got badly caught there!
    Last edited by Mr A; 16/06/2007 at 9:46 AM. Reason: Whoops!

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    The Harps bus was delayed in Sligo.
    Clever.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by KoemansCC
    Just a heads up on the traffic situation in the city, in short it's mental because of the Tuam Road works....

Anyone traveling from the East of the city or the Tuam direction would want to adjust their journey time accordingly....
    Friday night football.....

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    The match has been put back to 7.35 or 7.45 if there is a big crowd. This is not a joke- got a message from Ronan Coleman. The Harps bus was delayed in Sligo.

THIS IS NOT TRUE FOLKS!!!
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

3,491 Posts
    Disgraceful from Galway, to be honest.

But then, it's hard to get too high and mighty about slagging Galway - remember, they are the most professional club in the country, and that's official. Whenever they **** up, we can only sit back and wonder how much worse a job our own club would have done.

Disgraceful, shocking, horrific, barbaric.

Not since the days of Pol Pots regime have we seen such wanton evil.

Khmer Maroon