Thread: KICK-OFF CHANGED - 7.15pm, Galway United v Finn Harps

KICK-OFF CHANGED - 7.15pm, Galway United v Finn Harps

Kick off for tonights FAI Ford cup game is now 7.15pm at Terryland Park.

1,553 Posts
    FFS, how was it that this decision took until hours before the game to be made?

This will hurt the crowd which in turn hurts both clubs, never mind the inconvenience for people traveling long distances- some of whom may not even find out at this stage.

Very disappointed by this.

I think we scored a major O.G on this by not getting the news out earlier in the week.

Who knows, maybe there was a problem contacting the ref. or getting his / Harps / FAI agreement?

The righteous indignation from Donegal is hard to swallow given the number of fixtures lost up there and the fact that it is only a half an hour, but, yes, I agree we got it wrong on this one amd apologies should go to those planning a long journey this afternoon.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

What are YOU doing to make it better?

Its only a change of 30 mins. It would be worse if kick off had been changed to 5.00 or something. Im sure the majority of fans from Donegal would be leaving early to avoid traffic and would be arriving in plenty of time anyway.

1,553 Posts
    In all fairness there's a big difference between the ref calling off a game due to the weather (which has happened to all of us- I remember games in Kildare and Cork being called off within the last hour before KO, but that's life) and a club deciding to move a kick off on the day of a game when the circumstances causing this were known weeks in advance.

Quote Originally Posted by bazza1 View Post
    Is this for real???

http://www.eircomloi.ie/index.htm

Quote Originally Posted by Galway Harps View Post
    when the circumstances causing this were known weeks in advance.
    In all fairness..... the circumstances only came to light (no pun intended) at the start of this week. (The cup draw was on May 31st.).

As I noted above I'm sorry for travelling Harps fans & that we didn't have clarity on it by yesterday morning at least.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

Quote Originally Posted by MyTown View Post
    Who knows, maybe there was a problem contacting the ref. or getting his / Harps / FAI agreement?

The righteous indignation from Donegal is hard to swallow given the number of fixtures lost up there and the fact that it is only a half an hour, but, yes, I agree we got it wrong on this one amd apologies should go to those planning a long journey this afternoon.

What a load of cobblers. If a game is called off for unforseen problems , e.g. weather then not much the club can do about it. If Harps have doubts about the pitch they always try to have early inspections to avoid clubs / fans travelling in vain but at the end of the day it is entirely down to the referee.

Its been comon knowledge all week they would have no lights, GUFC must have known for longer. They contacted Harps this morning at 10.00am, then the FAI send out a press release confirming its off. Harps had no say in it.

Our teams travel and pre match plans have now been thrown in a heap, never mind the inconvenience for supporters, which could all have been avoided.

Quote Originally Posted by Mr_T View Post
    They contacted Harps this morning at 10.00am, then the FAI send out a press release confirming its off. Harps had no say in it.

Our teams travel and pre match plans have now been thrown in a heap, never mind the inconvenience for supporters, which could all have been avoided.
    Aren't we talking about kick off coming forward by a half hour?

If everyone's plans are thrown in a heap by that amount of inconveninece then you really do have a problem.

For the third time, sorry for the inconvenience. And I bow to your greater knowledge of how the FAI & Harps came to hear of it.
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

Lightbulb

Quote Originally Posted by Mr_T View Post

I have an idea on how it can all be avoided, this might seem crazy but you could try........ Leaving half an hour earlier
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    I have an idea on how it can all be avoided, this might seem crazy but you could try........ Leaving half an hour earlier

Yes, that would be the idea. However, a 20 man squad plus all the backroom staff need to be informed of this - most of which are at work this morning. The bus company now needs to provide the coach 30 minutes earlier. The hotel where the team are meeting for their pre-match get together needs to have pre-matches meals / room available 30 minutes earlier. It's all okay leaving half-an-hour earlier when you know a day or two in advance. But been told just nine hours before heading off on a four hour journey is a bit much.

Some people questioned the kick-off time earlier this week when they heard their were no lights. I know a Harps official had a conversation about this with a Galway United official three days okay. The Galway official said "sure it'll be okay, it's clear most nights to 11 O'Clock.

Just one question - how many matches have Galway played this season without the floodlights switched on for at least the second half? Why did it take the FAI to make the decision for Galway this morning?

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Rocketfingers View Post
    Is the time printed in today's papers incorrect ?
    YES. And the time given on all sports bullintins this morning.

Quote Originally Posted by GuisaSaigon View Post
    In fairness, the team don't just hop in a bus and arrive ten minutes before kick off like fans do. They'd have a plan for the day involving stopping in a hotel along the way, getting something to eat at a particular time, arriving at the ground at a certain time for warm ups, etc. It's not trivial to move all that forward, even by 30 minutes. I'd imagine several Harps players may be working in the morning too.

176 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Schumi
    In fairness, the team don't just hop in a bus and arrive ten minutes before kick off like fans do.
    Monaghan did that for a game in Galway years ago, and lost 8-0!! Both sides were relegated.

I'd imagine several Harps players may be working in the morning too.
    More Friday night football madness.

Btw, is the ko time of our game there next week, now provisional?
    Last edited by mypost; 15/06/2007 at 11:53 AM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

I have to agree with Harps & Rocket on this , something should have been said sooner but fair play to the club at least they have got their heads together and with the extra 30 minutes we should be fine . Bye the way the floodlights are turned on around half time .

I still say a few flares would be handy .

ONLY JOKING .........

Quote Originally Posted by harps1954 View Post
    Just one question - how many matches have Galway played this season without the floodlights switched on for at least the second half? ?
    Fair cop. None that I can recall.

Why did it take the FAI to make the decision for Galway this morning?
    Actually, that's a second question - but to be honest, I don't know.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Another reasonable question given today's developments, but I would have thought with Live TV, the original time is set in stone
    Less Whining
    Less Moaning

Yes, that would be the idea. However, a 20 man squad plus all the backroom staff need to be informed of this - most of which are at work this morning. The bus company now needs to provide the coach 30 minutes earlier. The hotel where the team are meeting for their pre-match get together needs to have pre-matches meals / room available 30 minutes earlier. It's all okay leaving half-an-hour earlier when you know a day or two in advance. But been told just nine hours before heading off on a four hour journey is a bit much.
    Fair enough, it's not exactly ideal, and United messed up by not changing KO earlier , but it's not the end of the world. a few phone calls should sort it out.
    And a shligo fan giving out about floodlights is a bit of a joke

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post

No,the floodlights will be back in place by next Friday AFAIK

I never thought any club in this country would resort to these tactics!

Who made the decision to bring forward the KO time on the day of the game. Did the FAI make it? Thought we were past all this amateurism at this stage.

55 Posts

its not the end of the world

lads talk about whinging and moaning, for a crappy competition of which the Fai take a big scalp of the gate for nothing, the referees up their expenses big time and the 2 clubs divvy out the leftovers. The magic of the cup I never understood any kind of half arsed team on a roll can win that cup. I much prefer the league, a team that wins a league , any league are a good team.