Thread: Longford V United

75 Posts
    Gary Rogers was outstanding last night and his one handed save was as good as I have seen anywhere.Russeler worked his socks off but Tony was right to take him off as he was sailing too close to the wind and was very lucky not to get a second yellow before he was pulled ashore.

Murphs never really got into the game and DOB bar his "fall" had a poor game.The big plus was Derek Glynn who has been rewarded for his hard work with 2 good goals particularly the secon one.Roll on Friday but more importantly the bottom has really tightened up and were only 2 points off sligo and even Derry are only six ahead.

Great Support last night over 150 galway people in a crowd of barely 400. Good luck to Longford but id say they will be lucky to survive as a club never mind staying in the Premier.
    We are the Galway Boys Stand up and make some noise"

Quote Originally Posted by gufct View Post

Great Support last night
    Raucous according to the star
    Galway United - Connacht Champions 2008

47 Posts
    Aye fair play ye made good noise and a few funny songs Our defending was shambolic. A long season left yet and I cant see our crowds getting better. Dark days but there have been amazing highs over the years and now it is time for the lows. Will still be there hail, rain or Apocolypse

Raucous..... was that us or Longford?! Great to hear of such a large travelling support, especially seeing as we havet had such great haul of points from the opening series. It's replaced Athlone as one of our nearest destiations. I bet its a damn sight more pleasant than going to Athlone!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    But looking on the positive side of things a lot will depend on Derek , if he has a good game he will be unstopable and he will murder the Longford defence . I think we will know after the first 10 minutes of the game .
    You know sometimes I wonder as I should have said first two minutes

One thing is for sure Tir oilean no one will ever need to go back to St Mels park again thanks for sure .

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    Dark days ....
    Especially when the floodlights arent turned on

Well done to Gary Rogers last nite, definitely man of the match for me. I know i've doubted him in the past but his display last nite was brilliant. Delighted for Derek G as well, hopefully those 2 goals have boosted his confidence now and there'll be plenty more to come.
    Last edited by galwaygirl; 30/05/2007 at 12:02 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Claret Murph View Post
    One thing is for sure Tir oilean no one will ever need to go back to St Mels park again thanks for sure .
    You'd never know Claret we could meet them in the FAI Cup sometime... but at least Smel's is no more!
    "Are those my feet" Fr Jack Hackett

rogers performance has swung me - i had my doubts - but 2 of the saves were amazing

in fairness to us the singing for the first half was amazing - it was great to see flynn giving out to the others and egging them on

longfords ground is really nice - could do with a chipper - and maybe 1000 more fans - its a pity
    more water!

47 Posts
    Chipper is normally there but never for the weeknight games. As for the 1000 more fans they used to be there but have since deserted!

one of the better grounds in the el. pity the league are losing facilities like that. as for the match, there is no doubt that rogers was MOTM notwithstanding glyns two goals. everyone played their part in what was a must win for us. the players knew that as well. no team will evr dominate a wmatch for the whole 90 mins but longfords spell at the start of the second half seemed to go on for ever. rogers 3 or 4 brilliant saves weighed up with the bit of luck we got ( soft penalty / and woodwork twice saving us.
    have to mention an absolutely brilliant pass murphs made out to DOB in the second half. DOB was a wee bit unlucky with his effort just shading the post.
    all games are tough form now on so theres no popint in thinking st pats will be any tougher than some of the games we have already had. we shouldnt be thinking about maybe getting a point . that should be our minimum objective. theres no point in just hoping for a point. a bit of belief from the fans and this should feed through to the players. we will hit a bit of form at some point i believe so why not starting from now after the 3 dissapointments against waterford. ucd and bohs.
    as for the fai cup, if we do get an away draw then any team nearby would be ideal as it will be an opportunity for us to take a very good away support. any team at home would be ideal as the old cliche goes
    see ye all in richmond park