Thread: Flags on Parnell Street

Flags on Parnell Street

Walking down Parnell street the last day it was pretty obvious the Munster flags flying from the light posts are in bad need of replacement. Why don't Limerick 37 approach the council or co-ordination office with the number of flags needed and see if a deal can't be done to use the current flag holders which are already in place.

Sure, some will say you should only fly flags when you've won something, but frankly, I don't agree. Use the flags to remind people they are near Limerick's home ground, build a bit of interest, and brighten up the street. Honestly, even if it didn't work, how much would it cost?

Quote Originally Posted by JoeyFantastic View Post
    Walking down Parnell street the last day it was pretty obvious the Munster flags flying from the light posts are in bad need of replacement. Why don't Limerick 37 approach the council or co-ordination office with the number of flags needed and see if a deal can't be done to use the current flag holders which are already in place.

Sure, some will say you should only fly flags when you've won something, but frankly, I don't agree. Use the flags to remind people they are near Limerick's home ground, build a bit of interest, and brighten up the street. Honestly, even if it didn't work, how much would it cost?
    Hi Joey

Members of the clubs management committee have been working very closely with the Limerick coordination office over the last few weeks and the results of these meetings will be seen in the next week or so with the placing of Limerick flags in the city so keep an eye out!!!
    "When faced with total negativity, a smile is a weapon of mass destruction"

Thanks for the quick reply OldKeeper, hope whatever the plans are look great.

I passed up William Street this morning on the way to work and they had Limerick 37 flags the whole way up the street and also Limerick GAA.It looks great.Well done to all involved.Keep up the good work

Look great OldKeeper, fair play, hope it helps raise the profile of the club.

Just saw the flags a few minutes ago lads, fair play to all who got them up, looks good and should put a few Munster noses out of joint too

Looks great well done to all involved!

Quote Originally Posted by jebus View Post
    Just saw the flags a few minutes ago lads, fair play to all who got them up, looks good and should put a few Munster noses out of joint too
    No need for the negativity, I'm a draftee from munsterfans.com and most of us Limerick folk over there want Limerick 37 to do really well and are delighted to see the flags up. Let's work on making Limerick the best at every sport and not waste time knocking each other. Sure I'm a pure fair-weather fan of Limerick 37, but still, hope it goes well.

Quote Originally Posted by JoeyFantastic View Post
    No need for the negativity, I'm a draftee from munsterfans.com and most of us Limerick folk over there want Limerick 37.
    All well and good coming from the Munster ground support, but I, and many other Limerick FC and 37 fans have had to put up with years of negative coverage from Limerick's media, and as an off shoot from the Limerick public in general, so just because Ger and the rest of Limerick 37 team have made some commendable ground in changing that doesn't mean that we should, or will, forget that for some time yet, and since I make disparaging remarks about Munster and their majority fair weather support outside of the internet, I think ill continue to do so on here as well.

Back to the point though, well done to all in getting the flags up there

I was home at the weekend and got a chance to see the flags in question on O'Connell Street. It is a very strange feeling indeed to be proud of one's football club. Well done to all concerned. Doing things right makes a big difference doesn't it?
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Question

Are Munster a Limerick team??

Quote Originally Posted by manalishi View Post
    Are Munster a Limerick team??
    To all but the Cork begrudgers they are

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    It is a very strange feeling indeed to be proud of one's football club.
    It's fcuked up is what it is

What's next?? They'll start being successful??

Dunno how much more I can stomach

I was in town first thing this morning and saw the flags.

Well done everybody.

Having Soccer and GAA flags up now is good because they are more summer sports.

These are from our website
    http://www.limerick37fc.ie/news.html
    Well done lads.

Quote Originally Posted by Voice of Reason View Post
    Having Soccer and GAA flags up now is good because they are more summer sports.
    I just worry about what's going to happen the L37 ones when the GAA ones come down around the end of June

now all we need is signposts all around the city for jackman park ! how else are the Munster fans gonna find it?
    For all the latest League of Ireland news visit www.extratime.ie