Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast

Thread: Tonight's latest- 18/5/07

176 Posts
    Our next 2 home games against Cork and Bray are also in serious danger of not been played, well not at Tolka anyway, as after tonight, there is a chance of the ground being closed indefinitely.

Of course Shels' game v Harps is off as well. But Shels have a back-up ground in Whitehall, for emergency use.
    Last edited by mypost; 19/05/2007 at 7:57 AM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by hoopy View Post
    If it wasn't bad enough we had a few toe rags masquerading as Waterford fans get on the pitch at the end to goad the home support. Muppets
    those fools HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH OUR CLUB, id say none of them could even tell you where the RSC is never mind actually going to a match there.

Quote Originally Posted by dcfcsteve View Post
    The floodlight padding that caught fire in the 2002 City v Rovers cup final was pitch-side - i.e nowhere near the turnstiles. So not sure where you got this from...?

The NEAREST one to the turnstiles then...
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

Quote Originally Posted by kdjaC View Post
    Good people being nice and preventing a foot.ie thread.

Rovers have been asked/told to vacate the main stand that they prefer, the pitch has claimed players, the floodlights are now seemingly lethal. When will the madness end

kdjac
    Shamrock Rovers / FAI made their own decision to put Rovers fans in the Riverside stand and away fans in the main stand for all Rovers home game.

What players have been 'claimed' by the pitch?

One pylon suffered storm damage and will be repaired / replaced.

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans View Post

We played them in the LC a few weeks ago, the lights came on at the start of the game and went off straight away.
    About 15/20 mins. into the game several announcements were made, now I've heard them before, "if there's a doctor please come to the dressing room" etc, but never, "If there's an electrician in the the ground please come over and fix our floodlights"
    It appears when paying into Tolka these days you have to a) bring your tools with you or b) do some freebee nixers during the game.
    The ground is a shambles, half the advertising hoardings from the front of the stand have blown down, the away fans toilets aren't fit for animals, at the front row of the Riverside stand there are steal bolts coming out of the concrete (very dangerous) and the floodlights aren't even secured properly.
    And if they didn't make that announcement for the electrician what could the officials do . The game would have been abandoned and you'd be moaning even more!
    Who Cares?!

176 Posts
    Dalymount is little better than Tolka. The Supermarket end has not seen fans since 2001, the Connacht Street end is dangerous, and only sees our fans once a season. The school end is rarely used. At least the lights stay up, and they've been there longer than the ones in Tolka.
    Last edited by mypost; 19/05/2007 at 10:27 AM.
    NL 1st Division Champions 2006
    NL Premier Division Champions 2010
    NL Premier Division Champions 2011

Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi

Ten Years Not Out

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Dalymount is little better than Tolka.
    Do you really believe that?

Niall

Quote Originally Posted by Billy Lord View Post
    The stewards guided Rovers' fans out via the Ballybough (Waterford) end due to the potential danger of the floodlight pylon falling at the opposite Drumcondra end. They were ****ed-off but to claim they were gagging for a few Suiresiders is really streching it. When they eventually passed, they passed peacefully.
    Any chance of you slagging the idiot Waterford fans who went on the pitch goading Rovers' fans? I thought you lot were smarter than that. Thankfully only a handful of idiot Rovers' kids returned the compliment (hands in the air at a safe distance, etc) and nothing happened. Not even handbags.
    BL, it goes without saying what most sensible people think of this element. I personally have never seen them before and it was suggested on a WUFC forum that there was an element like this heading to the match. Unfortunatley SRFC seem to attract the worst element from every club to attend matches when they play which is unfortunate cause all clubs look forward to Rovers matches. It has to be said though that looking at the behaviour of some of your fans on the way out of the ground that a significant minority (I withdraw the comment "majority" used in an earlier post which wasn't appropriate) that they have some sort of notions of being akin to the ICC or something of that sort which is pretty juvinille

64 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by half_full View Post
    those fools HAVE NOTHING TO DO WITH OUR CLUB, id say none of them could even tell you where the RSC is never mind actually going to a match there.
    Agree, hence my use of the word 'masquerading'
    False hope is worse than no hope. Ask Sligo.

Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Dalymount is little better than Tolka. The Supermarket end has not seen fans since 2001, the Connacht Street end is dangerous, and only sees our fans once a season. The school end is rarely used. At least the lights stay up, and they've been there longer than the ones in Tolka.
    The Tramway End is closed and has been since '01, we all know that.
    Connaught Street is used far more than once a season. So far Aberdeen, Drogs and the scum have been over there this season, ie Cat. A games.
    The school end is open every match.

Longford Town 0-0 Derry City
    O'Halloran s/o 79'

Quote Originally Posted by BohsFans View Post
    Longford Town 0-0 Derry City
    O'Halloran s/o 79'
    come on town, punish ratboy
    Your Chairperson,
    Gavin
    Membership Advisory Board
    "Ex Bardus , Vicis"

Quote Originally Posted by Niall View Post
    It has to be said though that looking at the behaviour of some of your fans on the way out of the ground that a significant minority (I withdraw the comment "majority" used in an earlier post which wasn't appropriate) that they have some sort of notions of being akin to the ICC or something of that sort which is pretty juvinille
    This is complete rubbish, our fans behaviour was excellent. A few verbals on leaving the ground is hardly ICC-esque behaviour.

Quote Originally Posted by Mental Man View Post
    just to let you know the 2 lads etc.
    Thanks and fair play for that. SRFC tries to create the most relaxed situation possible for visiting fans. I suppose that will just have to change.

What Niall posted was rubbish. As Thomas said, it was expected verbals. Absolutely nothing more. It's goody two-shoes Rovers these days. If those mongs had done that two years ago the outcome would have been somewhat unpleasant.

BTW, the amount of cameras in Tolka is unreal. If the bacons or WUFC want to follow anything up they should ring our office on Monday.

And for the hordes of Waterford fans who got lost, or whatever, and didn't make it to the game the gorey details are here:

http://www.mediafire.com/?c0ennyeosxx

ASFAIK the replayed game will be a fiver in with a free programme and a voucher for free Twinky Bars

47 Posts
    Derry are rubbish and that is saying something. Gardai sent to their dressing room at half time. Team Spirit in abundance.

Was at the Longford/Derry game tonight. Longford deserved 3 points, as RonnieB said, Derry are rubbish! Complete turnaround on last season.

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    Derry are rubbish and that is saying something. Gardai sent to their dressing room at half time. Team Spirit in abundance.
    Interesting. Any more on this?

Niall: a few Waterford fans tried it on pitchside and some Hoops (stupidly) reacted without anything actually happening, so no harm was done. Big deal. Posturing is what it was and if that's all we have to deal with we're doing okay.
    We haven't had trouble at a home game for years and long may that continue. Kids shouting and waving their hands is just nonsense, and if that's all we have to concern us then we've nothing to worry about. Once we keep a lid on it, of course. Give me bravura over bother any day.

It was such a poor performance that I saw a Derry fan puking outside Supermacs in Carrick On Shannon. He just couldn't stomach the performance...or else the beer.

Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast