Page 49 of 54 FirstFirst ... 394748495051 ... LastLast

Thread: FAI Junior Cup 2006/07

Game is on at 7.45 not 7.30. The media won't predict a winner cos don't want to be seen to be taking sides and trying to get a large crowd to the game. Plus West have been unfancied all year and have overcome a tough draw(away in last 3 ties). Salthill unquestionably have the better footballing team but West have great team spirit and determination.
    If the 2 lads who were sent off in the last game were available the bookies would have priced it closer, but i think 3-1 is fair. Both players are Oscar Traynor players so it has to be a big loss.

46 Posts
    salthill devon beat west utd 6-5 after pens

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by galwayhoop View Post

either team on penalties at 8/1 looks the bet to me!
    Good Call Galwayhoop
    Salthill won on pens tonight.
    68, 99, 08

International Prospect abbeyvale's Avatar
    32 Posts
    STATOIL F.A.I. JUNIOR CUP (Last 5)

1. Salthill Devon F.C.

2. St. John Bosco.

3. Wembly Rovers V Killester Utd.

4. Villa F.C.
    68, 99, 08

Was at the game. Salthill narrowly deserved to win against a dogged West Utd. West tried to stifle Salthill by playing 4-5-1 and it worked for the most part, but how they continued to play with 1 up front when Salthill had their right full sent off baffled me. I think a more positive approach could have got them a goal at that stage. Think they were more afraid of losing than going on and winning the tie.

Anyone else there?

ya just back im from claddagh so am alined to west!. i have to say they did play to negatively which resulted in possession/play wise them been played of the pitch but in chances they prob had the better chances!. in relation to the sendings off i think eugene did well to last as long as he did with caldwell pulling and kicking at him as agressively as he did and it was shocking to see how he wasnt even booked at any stage, then vinny o'connor got himself softly sent off wasnt been tugged or pulled at .MOD EDIT_Don't report something you didn't see_*****
    i have to say i heard good things about vinny flaherty and was thinking that if he didnt go to ipswich he should be snapped up by us... I TAKE IT BACK. he's the most negative junior(FFS JUNIOR NOT A PRO, SUNDAY LEAGUE)footballer ive ever seen, he's the spit of ronaldo even the way he walks, goes over like a spaniard and is so theatrical on the ground..........cop on will ya, ya nancy boy your playing sunday football not even semi-pro... i can tell ya if he acts like that in a junior match with no crowd and linesman as soon as the ref. is turned he'd have a line waiting to clock him!.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 01/03/2007 at 4:42 AM.
    There's the right way, the wrong way.... and the Max Power way!! :-D

51 Posts
    STATOIL F.A.I. JUNIOR CUP - Last 5

1. Salthill Devon F.C. (Galway)

2. St. John Bosco. (Dublin)

3. Wembly Rovers V Killester Utd (March 11th)

4. Villa F.C. (Waterford)

Quote Originally Posted by Gaillimh Al View Post
    Was at the game. Salthill narrowly deserved to win against a dogged West Utd. West tried to stifle Salthill by playing 4-5-1 and it worked for the most part, but how they continued to play with 1 up front when Salthill had their right full sent off baffled me. I think a more positive approach could have got them a goal at that stage. Think they were more afraid of losing than going on and winning the tie.

Anyone else there?
    as soon as salthill went down to 10 men,the instructions from the west bench were clear go 4-4-2,the lad that was told to go up front,just kept droppin back,so the they warmed there sub striker up to replace the lad that kept droppin back and just before he was to come on the west full back was dismissed,so then they withdrew a midfielder and brought on a full back,i know this cos i was stood behind the dugout and could hear what was going on,west have only lost once in 33 games playin 4-5-1 so you can't really blame the system for the defeat,it was a 50/50 game which i taught we(west) just about shaded,but you don't always get what you deserve,as wfta found out in the earlier rounds when we undeservedly went through.
    best of luck to salthill in the rest of the competition!
    if u got no socks,u can't pull them up!

think killester will beat wembly 3or4 nill

re: Salthill vs. West Utd

Was also at the game,West are a hard team to play against (on several fronts) - they set themselves out 4-5-1, have a couple of excellent headers of the ball, and are extremely dangerous from set plays - one of their midfielder has one of the longest and most accurate throw ins I ever seen.
    Also credit to Salthill who stood up to these challenges and came out on top, good to see a Galway team in the semis.

Quote Originally Posted by the hoops View Post
    think killester will beat wembly 3or4 nill
    wembley have a better chance than pike anyway.....

Quote Originally Posted by scoobysham View Post
    wembley have a better chance than pike anyway.....
    id say you are right on that for another few weeks anyway

FAI Junior Cup semi-final draw:

Wembley Rovers/Killester United v Salthill Devon
    St.John Bosco v Villa FC
    Honest! I am not a secret Tim nor a closet Sham - I really am a Seagull.

salthill and killester clear favourates now

Going for a Killester United V Villa FC final with Killester to win outright.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Quote Originally Posted by balls View Post
    salthill and killester clear favourates now
    i presume you mean that whoever comes out of this side is the clear favourite! if they are have to play each other i cant see how they are both clear favourites.

Quote Originally Posted by Dr Mad View Post
    Killester were beaten at the weekend 1-0

But .... it was in a league match -v- O'Deveney.
    It was one of those games, keeper made a mess of a bobbly ball in the second minute, after that we bomdarded thier goal but coud not score, just one of those days!

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by Derek View Post
    It was one of those games, keeper made a mess of a bobbly ball in the second minute, after that we bomdarded thier goal but coud not score, just one of those days!
    why couldnt ye keep that day for wembley ha ha only messing best of luck to ye against us.

Quote Originally Posted by Super Rovers View Post
    best of luck to ye against us.
    are you hoping ye lose???

Talking

Quote Originally Posted by lim abroad View Post
    are you hoping ye lose???
    no we are not hoping we lose its just that we are up against it. personally i want to win but i know it wont be easy. but whats wrong with wishing the opposition a bit of luck at the end of the day its a game of football and im there to enjoy myself

Page 49 of 54 FirstFirst ... 394748495051 ... LastLast