Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Longford Town - the exodus begins....

1,104 Posts
    On the Cork forum, there's a score for Longford of 284 in the off-field stuff for next season. That's lower than anyone bar Shels. Longford's score is unrecorded anywhere else that I've seen, so don't know if it's accurate or not, but if so, it's be kind of worrying. Whatever about the fact that it's a stupid way to decide a new league, the process did seem to give some sort of indication as to how well or otherwise clubs were being run.
    I was told it was higher than that (well the person that told me named an overall figure that meant over 300 points off the field) but I haven't seen the actual results so I can't say for sure

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by obwon View Post
    lads lads lads..
    The words of wisdom I dealt you all at the tail end of last season when Digger , Dillon , Ferguson & co.. headed for Dublin as a result of "The Blaggard" Matthews underhanded ways has finally come back to bite you were it hurts...After you all backing Matthews up for ridding the club of loyal servants those of whom had great success with The Town..The coward is jumping ship..He tried to add his own blend gettin rid of the loyal players and bringing in the wanderers of the Eircom League...I feel sad for the Town as they are a brilliant club..but I am delighted that Alan Matthews has been exposed at last..New gaffer I suggest should be The Digger..who knows what the club is all about and would be able to keep the spirit in the camp..
    Long live da Town..down with Judas..!!
    You seem pleased alright. Now I'm not trying to be argumentative by any means..Im sick of that!...but did you play for LTFC or is it just that your friend(s) did? Just purely curious..

The words of wisdom I dealt you all at the tail end of last season when Digger , Dillon , Ferguson & co.. headed for Dublin as a result of "The Blaggard" Matthews underhanded ways has finally come back to bite you were it hurts.....After you all backing Matthews up for ridding the club of loyal servants those of whom had great success with The Town!!
    It was well documented that Digger and Matthews didn't get on, but given his "success" at Bohs, maybe no bad thing. Dillon and Ferguson left for full time football, Ferguson practically hounded out by very much the same people who have been anti Matthews even during our record seasons.

Smile

To be fair Macy..you can only be as good as the players in front of you...and in Bohs case that was not very good so have to give credit where it's due..seen plenty of games and they's have lost well more if Digs wasn't in between the sticks..What I find curious was that Matthew's managed to turn the supporters against Digger in the end after him doing so much for the club..on just one muppet's word digger's time at the club came to an abrupt end..In my opinion Matthew's was afraid for his job..I remember Digger actually invited one of the forum lad's to meet him after that Pat's game to get his point across and your man bottled it..Let's say I know the ins and outs from both ends of the stick and the Longfordian remains oblivious to it all even though he know's deep sown how much of a backstabber Matthew's is..!!
    Short memories you country lad's ..!!
    Big struggle next year to be fair..all down to that Muppet and his poilicies..!!
    By the way I play LSL Senior football and know quite a few of Matthew's victims extremely well..

To be fair Macy..you can only be as good as the players in front of you
    Who, Barry?

Macy not aiming anything at Barry..it's bohs as a team and the supporter's are animals so you can imagine how hard it was for both lads to adjust in such a hostile atmosphere considering the family like atmosphere which existed in Flancare..You can only measure the success of a player by a team's overall performance hence mocking your original post stating that you were right to rid the town of digger..!!

Digger walked - only surprise was that it was to another team, not retirement as was thought. I do like Digger - nothing but a gent when I've had dealings with him, and a great town player - that however, doesn't disguise the fact that Bohs fans considered him a weak link in a weak team.

1,104 Posts
    the Longfordian remains oblivious to it all even though he know's deep sown how much of a backstabber Matthew's is..!!
    Short memories you country lad's ..!!

I wouldn't say I was oblivious to it at all, I know full well Alan Mathews isn't all sweetness and light, but there's two sides to every argument also. Digger I don't know very well but I have met him a few times. Seems like a decent fella and I don't remember ever badmouthing him in any way.Certainly I'll never forget what he did for LTFC. Arguing on here is a waste of energy. That some of his ex players don't like him isn't terribly surprising to bew honest. He was "apprenticed" to Keely ffs!! Plenty of players have come to the club because of him as I'm sure some have left due to him as you say. He certainly has his good and bad points but his record holds up pretty well.

Hi Lads, I am just wondering do ye know how Ian Wexler and Eoin Lynch are getting on, they came over from America (Providence), They got very little time with Longford this year

47 Posts
    Wexler played in the last game of the season against St Pats and put in a good performance that day.

112 Posts
    Line-up is going to look so much different next year. Who would be the likely 11 as it stands? Is Michael Dempsey out of contract too?
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by RonnieB View Post
    Wexler played in the last game of the season against St Pats and put in a good performance that day.
    Yea I played with them in America, Two good forwards Eoin Lynch was the better of the two,Wexler works hard,hope they get more of a chance next year
    Last edited by magpies; 20/12/2006 at 5:09 PM.

33 Posts
    any word on us signing anyone ????

christ give me even a rumour !!!! the predictions thread seems to have down for 11th or 12th ? things gone that bad ?

Quote Originally Posted by ltfc_2004 View Post

christ give me even a rumour !!!! the predictions thread seems to have down for 11th or 12th ? things gone that bad ?
    Fair to say that they are that bad. No money, no one interested in signing...Time will tell as they say
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

112 Posts
    And Clive Delaney signing for Bray. Surely that's the sort of signing we should be after too! This is grim.
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

Quote Originally Posted by ltfc_2004 View Post

christ give me even a rumour !!!!
    Conor O'Grady...watch this space!

u wot sligoman? it better not turn out the same situation as mctiernan!

it's bohs as a team and the supporter's are animals
    cheers mate!

82 Posts
    Rumours round Dundalk is that David Freeman is signing for us. How did he play for yous last season?

112 Posts
    and eleven-a-side.com finally update that Paul Keegan pic. with Kevin Doherty. Fair play lads. any danger of him moving on though?

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast