Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast

Thread: No Licence, No Club, No Future.

Quote Originally Posted by football boy View Post
    was there a supporters club this year?did anyone on this site offer help?I went to matches paid 12 euro that's all_ I didn't offer help .I wished I had now.I realy don't think anyone here can stand up and say the last year has been worse then the last 10 But if you look at it this way lf we did have a supporters club a proper one would the club be this bad.I don't think so.if were lucky enough to have a club next year I for one want to do my bit to help .
    Listen theres been no communication between club and supporters whatsoever. If the club wanted the supporters to do something the supporters would have done it, not all maybe, but they wouldn't have been left waiting. On a personal level I've tried to help out where I can, even in the smallest sense like providing free graphic design. I've offered to do more than this, I've heard nothing back.
    You talk about the last ten years, well where are we now? You might say its not worse but its still bad, more bad on ten years of bad. We've been promised a lot but not a lot is different is it.
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    Tell us something we dont know Barry. The present trustee glug glug also wont sign it over to the FAI so this ends all interest in Hogan park. Theres also a lot of immature and ill informed stuff being printed in local and national papers thats so far off the wall and is hyped by junior meddlers etc Also limerick dont have a board, we have 3 do gooders and hard workers and one financier who has put in a ton of money in the last two years.
    all i say is wait for a few days and more light will be shed on all things Limerick FC
    Who are the junior meddlers??? Senior football is in the crapper because of senior football.. be man enough not to be blaming other people from junior football.By the way Jackman park is owned by the clubs and it will be the clubs that decide if LFC can play there.. Maybe you dont want to play there but constantly ****ing off junior clubs(and LFC have been doing it for years) is not the brightest thing to be doing when you are homeless at the moment going around with your begging bowl...

Quote Originally Posted by leather View Post
    Who are the junior meddlers??? Senior football is in the crapper because of senior football.. be man enough not to be blaming other people from junior football.By the way Jackman park is owned by the clubs and it will be the clubs that decide if LFC can play there.. Maybe you dont want to play there but constantly ****ing off junior clubs(and LFC have been doing it for years) is not the brightest thing to be doing when you are homeless at the moment going around with your begging bowl...
    I'd say the meddlers are the chairman he has close ties with the fai with all the tickets he gets for matches. anyway the clubs do own the ground but the gorund is is the rats and could do with a few bob to clean it up

Pinballwizard: As I said earlier, please revert from making this personal. Everyone acknowledges that there is trouble in the club. It is clearly evident that the problems lie in its infrastructure. What is needed now is a statement from either the club or the FAI outlining exactly what happens now. If the current management is staying in situ, then fine, but please please please provide some clarity. Leaving everyone in the dark is helping no-one and is leading to the type of wild speculation that no doubt will be bandied about, and has been bandied about here already.

Quote Originally Posted by greenandwhite View Post
    I'd say the meddlers are the chairman he has close ties with the fai with all the tickets he gets for matches. anyway the clubs do own the ground but the gorund is is the rats and could do with a few bob to clean it up
    I am not here to defend the chairman, but as far as i am aware the council recieve an allocation of tickets from the fai dependent on what the local clubs have requested. agree jackman is very poor(pitch better than hogan Park,new light excel) but if there was investmentfrom lim(400000 lotto monies) and the fai maybe you might get a better facility... look at galways ground, it is the home of ALL football in galway and is a fine facility.As it stands any thing is better than nothing???

Quote Originally Posted by leather View Post
    I think the slagging off by senior football supporters as opposed to Limerick Fc is a given, as is the slagging off of Limerick Fc of junior supporters as can be witnessed on an ongoing basis on this forum. For a start im a fan of junior football and i played minor and junior in the city with a not so footballing club Im also big enough to have an argument/discussion with anyone face to face if needs be and anyone who has met or come across me would know this. (Meeting this week is out btw as im dying sick at home with the flu) In the past there was a lot of neg vibes going between the junior clubs and senior but im glad to say its comming to an end in the last few years. However there are still people posting old reteric on this board and this is where my main focus of attention would be (even though i shouldnt bother) I ahve always favoured a ground for all but i never favoured it being jackman park, because as i see it its limited dev potential.
    but can i stop one thing here and now, this limerick comming to the LDMC "cap in hand" "begging bowl" etc Limerick bring a lot to the table too you know, by way of management expertise, trojon workers, qualified coaches, some of our "workers" are already involved in some junior clubs and the LDMC So i think limerick have a lot to offer and more to come hopefully in Jan The LDMC have goodwill and a pitch that they own. I know nothing about tickets/or chairmen so i wont comment.Thats me
    Last edited by gael353; 13/12/2006 at 12:21 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard View Post
    Well, I believe the priest has just cause to not co-operate with Drew. As part if the 'buttering up the priest to secure the lease' process, Drew made a promise to the priest, totally un-football related. He promised to fund a trip to Lourdes for sick children and some elderly folk of the priests parish and for no reason, pulled the plug on the whole thing late in the day, leaving a lot of disappointed people and a very disgruntled priest. In my book thats enough cause for the priest not to co-operate with Mr Drew.
    Are you serious?! This is even worse that I thought then. So you are saying that Joe is using the ground as a bargaining chip to get DD to pay out of his own pocket for a trip to Lourdes? That's blackmail. Why should DD pay for that? He is chairman of LFC not Joe's private slush fund for Lourdes trips. DD was right to pull out. What was next? A few free flights to Medjugorje or Fatima? Joe Young has no right to use the future of the club as leverage to make himself look good in his own parish. And DD should not be expected to pay what would be a sizeable amount of money from his own pocket for non-club related matters to get the lease signed. Would you consider it okay if he had made the same offer to the FAI? Doubt it.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    Are you serious?! This is even worse that I thought then. So you are saying that Joe is using the ground as a bargaining chip to get DD to pay out of his own pocket for a trip to Lourdes? That's blackmail. Why should DD pay for that? He is chairman of LFC not Joe's private slush fund for Lourdes trips. DD was right to pull out. What was next? A few free flights to Medjugorje or Fatima? Joe Young has no right to use the future of the club as leverage to make himself look good in his own parish. And DD should not be expected to pay what would be a sizeable amount of money from his own pocket for non-club related matters to get the lease signed. Would you consider it okay if he had made the same offer to the FAI? Doubt it.
    Here we go again...more sanctimony from you know who....

I never said that Joe is using the ground as a bargaining chip. What I said is that DD reneaged on a promise he made to he priest. This was not something sought by the priest, it was offered up by Drew as a sweetner. When he pulled out, he let an awful lot of the priests sick parishoners down, and left the priest with a lot of explaining to do. Is it any wonder that the priest had issues with him. Why would he want to do anything to benefit an organisation owned by Drew who could personally profit greatly from having a lease signed?

Stop being so dramatic with your 'blackmail' references. As I said, this was a sweetner devised by Drew and nobody else. Th reason he should have paid for it was because he promised to...pure and simple.

He didn't go to the club and say "Right, give me a trip to Lourdes and I'll sign your lease" like you're trying to make out. The FAI wouldn't have made an 'offer' like Drew did, so your point is...???

I have heard about the Lourdes story and have to agree with the wizard on this. Letting down sick elderly people after promising to cover the costs of thie trip was downright wrong. If he had no intention of paying for it, he shouldn't have promised it in the first place. Using this as a lever to gain a lease on the ground was wrong and serously backfired on the club.

Fr Joe had promised the area of southill and everyone in it a slice of Hogan Park many moons ago. When DD arrived on the scene he as part of his deal had to pay compo for all these groups which Fr Joe had org promised. Basically Fr Joe couldnt deliver to his area so he tried to stick DDs money in to save his fall from grace. The oldies (i like the way that was singled out btw would someone think of the children etc etc) southill marching band, hill celtic all were to recieve compo from DD in return for a lease. No lease no compo. IMO he offered too much

But surely all of this could have been avoided if the whole thing was set up professionally from te start, e.g. Contracts exchanged in writing from day 1 outlining what the terms and conditions were. This is a disgraceful way to run a business. Two greedy characters, both out for the best deal possible, falling out over unfulfilled promises. Unbelieveable. Homer J Simpson and Barney Gumble have just gone two places up the ladder of the worlds smartest man.

Who suffers? The people who genuinely care about football in Limerick...not the priest, not Danny Drew!! Us!! Every day you think things can't get much worse for the club, and then something new pops up.....amazing!!

Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard View Post
    As I said, this was a sweetner devised by Drew and nobody else.
    That isn't what you said. You made no indication where the offer originated. Though I have to say that it really doesn't change anything as far as I'm concerned. I agree with JoeSoap that we are the real losers. If Joe was really interested in helping senior soccer he would have signed over to the FAI - DD would not benefit financially from that. But he didn't, because DD backed out of paying for the sick children and old folks to go to Lourdes. Jesus this is some piece of work alright. I'm sorry Wiz, no matter what way I look at it I can't see any honourable reason or justification for the priest to screw us.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Jesus this thread is enough to make me want to go back to talking to Galway fans about their 'Premier' club, honestly Galway fans lads!

In any event it's clear to day that we don't really care about the club. Look at what Dundalk fans will do for their club.

As a gesture I would be willing to set LimtilIdie on fire if that helped.

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    In any event it's clear to day that we don't really care about the club. Look at what Dundalk fans will do for their club.

As a gesture I would be willing to set LimtilIdie on fire if that helped.
    excellent...

Is there a date set for when the FAI will announce the result of DD's reapplication for a first division license?

30 Posts
    Well lads, the ball is in your court. Rather than sit around and argue amongst yourselves, how about demanding a meeting with Drew himself, lobbying local politicians and Limerick based TD's, set up a public meeting on foot of this and if at all, get a fans based consortium and take over the LFC.

Whether LFC lives or dies its up to you all. Even if Limerick are togging out in the MSL.........keep the club going. Dont let the club and tradition die.

Licence appeal denied....Mr Drew has single handedly destroyed Limerick FC. LET THIS BE A LESSON TO ALL WHO WERE TAKEN IN BY HIM.

Unpaid fines-the priests fault? No.

No physio appointed-the priests fault? No.

Improper youth infrastructure-the priests fault? No.

Failure to secure a lease on Hogan Park-the priests fault? 50/50.

3.5 of the 4 criteria failed were the cause of bad management, and bad advice to the management. Father Joe cannot be blamed for this. Why were trivial things like unpaid fines and non-appointment of a physio not sorted before a licence appeal? Total joke!!

Say what ye want about Noel O'Connor now lads, but when he was involved he brought professionalism if nothing else. The lack of professionalism, at the end of the day, went a long way towards the failure of the club to get its licence.
    Last edited by joeSoap; 14/12/2006 at 11:18 AM.

Well said Joe

Failure to meet any of the criteria regarding fines etc has nothing to do with the priest. Simply put LFC has been run into the ground by clowns who know nothing about Football management.

John
    "How Can you lie there and think of England when you don't even know who's in the team"-- B.Bragg

father joe doesnt have a parish so i dont think he let anyone down just missed out on afew pound for himself,

Page 6 of 8 FirstFirst ... 45678 LastLast