Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

Thread: No Licence, No Club, No Future.

If this is true, then, yes, it is truly sickening. I don't understand the logic behind it though. Why lie about something you are so easily going to get caught out on?

Quote Originally Posted by football boy View Post
    can you please answer me something .what have the people running the club done so wrong ? from what I read the club has been falling to pioces for years .please answer this.
    Listen, I don't get any pleasure at all sprouting doom and gloom, I like singing the birdie song when we win, I like hearing about 5 year plans, us up in the Premier etc etc. What annoys me is so far we have had talk, plenty of talk and very little else. What the current ownership has managed to do is turn good ideas into bad.
    Its a good idea to hire coaches for the squad, its essential for a squad aiming for promotion. Its a bad idea to get rid of them without replacing them half way though a season.
    Its a good idea to release a manager out of his depth. Its a bad idea to not replace him, to instead speak about getting in Jason McAteer or Brian Kerr while in the end choosing to allow the chairman to do the job he's no idea how to do.
    Its a good idea to sort out the commercial side of things, get in advertising etc. Its a bad idea to spend a season without kit sponsorship while nailing random sponsor boards onto a wall. It tends not to attract more such investment.
    Its a good idea to set up a website. To have a line of communication with your supporters. Its a bad idea to update it once, back in August and never again touch it.
    We cant seem to manage the simpliest of tasks, what can you see being done at the club that gives you any sort of hope for the future. Back to the jacks?? Are we going to draw down our grants there do you think?? Where are we going to get investment from? How are we going to attract good players, coaches and managers now??
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick View Post
    Its a great shame in the season just gone, that the issue of a ground could not have been sorted before it began. Responsibilty for that lies equally with Joe Young and the club. With Galway now being a part of the Premier set-up and us talking of a return to Jackman Park it just shows where we are in the scheme of things. Take nothing away from Galway, they deserve to be a part of it. However on the way this club is run, we don't, and a return to Jackman Park for me signals the future will be more of the same.
    I've been harping on about this for ages now but we could really do with a public meeting from the club explaining whats going on, and where we're going. Seriously lads, this is a f**king joke. 12euro a match next season???

Agree with most of this. Except this bit. "Responsibilty for that lies equally with Joe Young and the club" - I put a massive proportion of the blame on Joe Young. He will not sign - apparently because he doesn't like DD - and he will not sign over to the FAI. IMO Joe Young has, out of sheer spite, almost (and may yet completely) destroyed senior soccer in the city. Almost any thing else we could get over but not having a ground that can be developed is the single greatest stumbling block for Limerick senior soccer. Joe has it in his gift to finally end our wandering around the city with all the negativity that brings. He refuses to do the honourable thing. Lets get clear on this - the club i.e. DD can be accused of not being nicer to him. Fair enough. That is not the same as denying the club a home out of spite.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    If this is true, then, yes, it is truly sickening. I don't understand the logic behind it though. Why lie about something you are so easily going to get caught out on?
    What like Brian Kerr, Curtis Fleming or Jason McAteer being the next manager?

the appeal has gone in and we should know by next week if its been succesful or not. Looks like its back to the jacks for the time being also.

Quote Originally Posted by LFC in Exile View Post
    Agree with most of this. Except this bit. "Responsibilty for that lies equally with Joe Young and the club" - I put a massive proportion of the blame on Joe Young. He will not sign - apparently because he doesn't like DD - and he will not sign over to the FAI. IMO Joe Young has, out of sheer spite, almost (and may yet completely) destroyed senior soccer in the city. Almost any thing else we could get over but not having a ground that can be developed is the single greatest stumbling block for Limerick senior soccer. Joe has it in his gift to finally end our wandering around the city with all the negativity that brings. He refuses to do the honourable thing. Lets get clear on this - the club i.e. DD can be accused of not being nicer to him. Fair enough. That is not the same as denying the club a home out of spite.
    I completely see where you are coming from and I will take nothing away from Joe Young in the role he is in, he is denying the club a home out of spite and should be treated accordingly for it.
    My view on this is that the club should have had this issue grounded a long time ago. Even as far back as taking over the club. Not having a firm ground for the club in the first place and knowingly having to deal with someone like Joe Young on this should have rang alarm bells, this was always going to be a problem, maybe not as much as it has turned out to be, but there was always going to be sticking points considering Joe Youngs previous role at the club.

Well, I believe the priest has just cause to not co-operate with Drew. As part if the 'buttering up the priest to secure the lease' process, Drew made a promise to the priest, totally un-football related. He promised to fund a trip to Lourdes for sick children and some elderly folk of the priests parish and for no reason, pulled the plug on the whole thing late in the day, leaving a lot of disappointed people and a very disgruntled priest. In my book thats enough cause for the priest not to co-operate with Mr Drew.

Joe may well have it within his gift to stop our wandering, but Drew had it within his gift to make false promises to sick people and then left them in the lurch.

I know who I blame more.

57 Posts
    The motive may well not be spite. The ground is held in trust for Limerick FC. If there is no Limerick FC then in theory it could be sold (rezoned even) for a few million. The trustees get to keep the cash.

Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard View Post
    I have been warned by Pete the moderator that I will be "taking a break for a while" if my personal attacks continue, so I've been biting my tongue. I hope this doesn't constitute a personal attack and I will word it carefully as I can:

Basically, we have been told more bare-faced lies:

RTE said:

Danny Drew said:

I have personally spoken to three committee members of the LDMC. All three have confirmed that there was no official meeting last Friday night. Nobody from the LDMC was expecting to meet Danny Drew. And all three knew of no pending meeting to broach the subject.

This is yet another lie. This may sound like a personal attack but it isn't. It is born out of frustration at being constantly lied at again and again and again by the sole controlling force within the club.

It is sickening. And he is sickenng. I'm off now before I get banned.
    Nothing surprises me anymore when it comes to this club.
    With that in mind, don't be too surprised to hear less and less about Polish takeovers
    Last edited by thelimerick; 12/12/2006 at 12:43 PM.

25 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gspain View Post
    The motive may well not be spite. The ground is held in trust for Limerick FC. If there is no Limerick FC then in theory it could be sold (rezoned even) for a few million. The trustees get to keep the cash.
    I thought it was held in trust for the people of Limerick, not Limerick FC as such.

Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    I thought it was held in trust for the people of Limerick, not Limerick FC as such.
    I thought so too, can anyone clear this up as to who it is actually held in trust for?

It was left in trust to the youth of Southill, to be overseen by Joe Young as he saw best.

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap View Post
    It was left in trust to the youth of Southill, to be overseen by Joe Young as he saw best.
    Regardless of where the club calls home, the potential to play a positive role in the community has always been there. If the club put structures in place to involve local youth (or youth from so called "disadvantaged" areas who have inadequate local amenities) in an academy style system, the club would also inherit the benefits, both through players and gates. Such projects would not go unnoticed by the like of Joe Young, the FAI and City Hall.

57 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Roadend View Post
    I don't know the details of the trust so you may well be correct. I've seen different things reported.

However as was the case with Flower Lodge if it is sold then the trustees trouser the cash.

I would not pretend to be an expert but as Trustee are you not expected to do whats in the best interest of your benifactors.
    If I was entrusted with anything I certainly would not sign it over to DD and co.
    Take it from me the FAI will NOT give Limerick a licsence with the current Board.

Quote Originally Posted by barryk View Post
    I would not pretend to be an expert but as Trustee are you not expected to do whats in the best interest of your benifactors.
    If I was entrusted with anything I certainly would not sign it over to DD and co.
    Take it from me the FAI will NOT give Limerick a licsence with the current Board.
    Tell us something we dont know Barry. The present trustee glug glug also wont sign it over to the FAI so this ends all interest in Hogan park. Theres also a lot of immature and ill informed stuff being printed in local and national papers thats so far off the wall and is hyped by junior meddlers etc Also limerick dont have a board, we have 3 do gooders and hard workers and one financier who has put in a ton of money in the last two years.
    all i say is wait for a few days and more light will be shed on all things Limerick FC

Foot.ie!

Regardless of where the club calls home, the potential to play a positive role in the community has always been there. If the club put structures in place to involve local youth (or youth from so called "disadvantaged" areas who have inadequate local amenities) in an academy style system, the club would also inherit the benefits, both through players and gates. Such projects would not go unnoticed by the like of Joe Young, the FAI and City Hall.
    please don't pick this up wrong but that's crap .dave ryan /wayne colbort /john boyle 3 out of 16 players for how many matches .I don't think they grew up with a silver spoon .o ya and shane geirn 25% of a panel .

Listen, I don't get any pleasure at all sprouting doom and gloom, I like singing the birdie song when we win, I like hearing about 5 year plans, us up in the Premier etc etc. What annoys me is so far we have had talk, plenty of talk and very little else. What the current ownership has managed to do is turn good ideas into bad.
    Its a good idea to hire coaches for the squad, its essential for a squad aiming for promotion. Its a bad idea to get rid of them without replacing them half way though a season.
    Its a good idea to release a manager out of his depth. Its a bad idea to not replace him, to instead speak about getting in Jason McAteer or Brian Kerr while in the end choosing to allow the chairman to do the job he's no idea how to do.
    Its a good idea to sort out the commercial side of things, get in advertising etc. Its a bad idea to spend a season without kit sponsorship while nailing random sponsor boards onto a wall. It tends not to attract more such investment.
    Its a good idea to set up a website. To have a line of communication with your supporters. Its a bad idea to update it once, back in August and never again touch it.
    We cant seem to manage the simpliest of tasks, what can you see being done at the club that gives you any sort of hope for the future. Back to the jacks?? Are we going to draw down our grants there do you think?? Where are we going to get investment from? How are we going to attract good players, coaches and managers now??
    was there a supporters club this year?did anyone on this site offer help?I went to matches paid 12 euro that's all_ I didn't offer help .I wished I had now.I realy don't think anyone here can stand up and say the last year has been worse then the last 10 But if you look at it this way lf we did have a supporters club a proper one would the club be this bad.I don't think so.if were lucky enough to have a club next year I for one want to do my bit to help .

Quote Originally Posted by PinBallWizard View Post
    Well, I believe the priest has just cause to not co-operate with Drew. As part if the 'buttering up the priest to secure the lease' process, Drew made a promise to the priest, totally un-football related. He promised to fund a trip to Lourdes for sick children and some elderly folk of the priests parish and for no reason, pulled the plug on the whole thing late in the day, leaving a lot of disappointed people and a very disgruntled priest. In my book thats enough cause for the priest not to co-operate with Mr Drew.

Joe may well have it within his gift to stop our wandering, but Drew had it within his gift to make false promises to sick people and then left them in the lurch.

I know who I blame more.
    I don't know dd but I find that very hard to believe .like limerick are still in hogan pk .I'd think if he did do that limerick would have been kicked out.looking at all you're posts you have only been on about dd all the time .I think there is more between the two ofyou that you're not saying .

Quote Originally Posted by football boy View Post
    please don't pick this up wrong but that's crap .dave ryan /wayne colbort /john boyle 3 out of 16 players for how many matches .I don't think they grew up with a silver spoon .o ya and shane geirn 25% of a panel .
    I'm talking about a social community program, maybe even a partnership with City Hall, its not about the class structure of the first or youth team. A seperate program altogether actively involving the community in a productive way. Look this is not an in depth criticism of the club just merely an idea that I think could benefit club and city.

Page 5 of 8 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast