Well, I know what I know and you know what you know

Quote Originally Posted by thelimerick View Post
    Is this definate??
    If so who owns the club??
    At the moment Danny does, but if that doesn't change before the start of next season (possibly by the end of this week) then there won't be a club next year, so really Danny is gone so can we stop blaming him for evrything that has gone wrong in the history of Limerick Senior Football because it's redundant now. Unless those dreaded Poles come in and bail us out of this one I think the club will cease to exist

Well, I know what I know and you know what you know
    Ah man, thats just mean!
    Limerick 3:7
    "Marvel not that I said unto thee, ye must be born again"

Ah man, thats just mean!
    What jebus said

well whats the story with the under21s not getting released a couple have asked

Quote Originally Posted by the hoops View Post

Jaysus, the junior vultures are circling already.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by the hoops View Post

Thats total cack! Most of the 21s are amateur so can move between clubs if they like. One or two have contracts which the club expect to be honoured, but theres a lot of ****e being spoken at the moment about players wanting to leave (in some cases senior for junior) and basically the players are having a laugh.

115 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mypost View Post
    Kerley may have a Waterford badge, as it certainly isn't a UEFA one judging by his results over the last two seasons. Only Pat Dolan kept them up last year after Kerley went 5 months without a win, and his only win this year was at home to the mighty Douglas Hall in the cup!
    Not quite, mypost, Kerley only became Blues boss after Dolan left, just before this season just gone in fact. The 5 months without a win was this year. Last year we also had a long winless run under Brendan Rea, but nowhere near as long.
    Point about Kerley is well made though. He may be a qualified coach, but he's no manager.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by stann View Post
    Point about Kerley is well made though. He may be a qualified coach, but he's no manager.
    The Waterford fans have more or less acknowledged themselves that you didn't try last year

Sure the odd win might have been nice but you can't lay all the blame at Mike Kerleys feet

For the record I don't rate him quite as highly as a lot of the Limerick bods on here. Basically in his two years with us he did good with a good squad and did crap with a crap squad

lads,dont ye have a supporters Trust

anymore?i thought ye had one.how about getting together and sorting out a plan to save yer club,sham rvs did it,g.u supporters trust helped alot when we were near Sh*t creek a few years ago.NOW is the time to get off your behinds and save yer club,surely ye yourselves have business contacts or can get the media behind ye for appeals etc etc,get a meeting together and try a few of these steps.IT IS achievable,shamrock rovers were in a more precarious position then ye and managed to stay alive.ask yerselves do ye love yer football club or just love going on forums and moaning to/about eachother,which is it????
    and youd be amazed what politicans will do with an election fast approaching,trust me.so get willie o'dea togther and get this thing moving.
    btw,the headline of this thread grabbed my attention,thats why im on here,it will be sad to see ye go,seriously.so i bet instead of people replying properly to my post ill probably just get a few of ye moaning at me for coming on here.my intentions are genuine,are yers?????

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    anymore?i thought ye had one.how about getting together and sorting out a plan to save yer club,sham rvs did it,g.u supporters trust helped alot when we were near Sh*t creek a few years ago.NOW is the time to get off your behinds and save yer club,surely ye yourselves have business contacts or can get the media behind ye for appeals etc etc,get a meeting together and try a few of these steps.IT IS achievable,shamrock rovers were in a more precarious position then ye and managed to stay alive.ask yerselves do ye love yer football club or just love going on forums and moaning to/about eachother,which is it????
    and youd be amazed what politicans will do with an election fast approaching,trust me.so get willie o'dea togther and get this thing moving.
    btw,the headline of this thread grabbed my attention,thats why im on here,it will be sad to see ye go,seriously.so i bet instead of people replying properly to my post ill probably just get a few of ye moaning at me for coming on here.my intentions are genuine,are yers?????
    Business contacts? Not that I know of..................

Shamrock Rovers had a 400 club

At an almighty push we could manage a 40 club

Quote Originally Posted by eamo1 View Post
    I think you have a fair point there eamo.
    At this moment in time though I think people are just waiting to see what happens, there's a lot of confusion at the moment and until there is a clear idea of what is actually going on at the club, there will be little done.
    Frankly we've never really known whats being happening at our club so its not going to be very different now.

Just to follow up on that, I completely agree that its time the supporters took action. The SC have been brilliant in the past, I think now we need to gather, all of us, together and get some ideas going

46 Posts
    well guys whats going on are you confident limerick fc will not be folding??
    the club cant surely move back to the pike or jackman it would be better off to fold than move to jackman the place is a kip hogan park is better than that hole... crazy iv never seen anything like this regarding senior soccer in this town its embrassing at this stage.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    the club cant surely move back to the pike or jackman it would be better off to fold than move to jackman the place is a kip hogan park is better than that hole... crazy iv never seen anything like this regarding senior soccer in this town its embrassing at this stage.
    Sorry to embarrass you thomas72....really...

but "the limerick" thats

what a supporters club is for.it can be a kind of lobby group for ye to demand answers and then ye might know whats going on,yer paying customers so ye are more then entilted to answers yer looking for.g.u did that with our supporters club,they set up a public meeting and a forum and put everyone in the picture.and even though the picture at the time was bad we still knew how it was and what needed to be done to correct it.how about a letter into a local paper to demand answers or ring one of those radio moan in,i mean phone in,shows and say it there.its not much but its a start.and if answers are not forthcoming then ye know he doesnt have a clue himself and it may be time for a coup .
    actually i remember we had a m.b for our own club and that mb was just about single handedly responsible for bringing down the old board of directors.but that was also during the season when chants of sack the board could be heard on the terraces,it was all co-ordinated on a forum like this one though,but obviously its more difficult for ye right now but not impossible.

115 Posts
    The Waterford fans have more or less acknowledged themselves that you didn't try last year

Sure the odd win might have been nice but you can't lay all the blame at Mike Kerleys feet
    What the bejaysus are you talking about? Just because a few, ahem, misguided souls on here have said that how does that follow that that's what the team were at?

Waterford, initially through no fault of Kerley, were unable to compete on a meaningful level, from the start of this season. FFS they signed 2 players, Lloyd Colfer and Paul Ometoso, who play in our Floodlit Astroturf league, a league I played in, in the Premier feckin' Division, up to the year before! Bottom of the barrel is what I'm trying to say.
    There was never a question of 'didn't try', they tried their knackers off, but they were hampered by a manager who was at first too conservative to let them have a go at teams they might have had a chance against, preferring moral 1-0 defeats to tankings I suppose, and later did not possess the motivational skills to lift the team from the malaise that a prolonged run of defeat causes. Not all his fault, by any means, but a large portion of it.

It alarms me, though, how easy a few loose remarks by fans who know nothing definite but just want to deflect criticism by saying 'ah we weren't trying' is accepted as gospel straight from the Blues dressingroom!

Anyway, not trying to hijack the thread. Just saying that if you find yourselves in the position we were at the start of the season with no cash and a scratch squad, sign someone like Foxy Tommy as your manager and not Static Mike.
    Last edited by stann; 07/12/2006 at 4:43 PM.
    more bass

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    Dont agree there at all Thomas, if the club folds it will never come back and if it was to fold the best it could come back as is an "a" division team.
    And if you've never seen anything like this in senior soccer in the town then you havn't been supporting Limerick long have you? The limerick leader and its "journos" would be long gone if Limerick senior soccer didnt have a negitive or doomsday story going with it season on season for the last 20 seasons.

Just to follow up on that, I completely agree that its time the supporters took action. The SC have been brilliant in the past, I think now we need to gather, all of us, together and get some ideas going
    In fairness what can we do? As In Exile said, we'd be lucky to get a Limerick 40 supporters trust going, let alone the (possibly) required 400 that would be needed, so thats the idea of a Supporters Trust dead in the water. As for asking questions, who are we going to ask them to? Danny has said he is done with the club, besides that he never had much time for the SC in the past anyway. So until new owners come in and sort us out (looking doubtful if we are to be honest) Limerick FC shall be dead and buried by tomorrow and there is nothing we as supporters can do about it at this late stage

on RTE.ie

Limerick discuss Jackman return
    Friday, 08 December 2006 1:39

Limerick FC may be on the verge of moving back to Jackman Park four years after leaving the venue.

Limerick Chairman Danny Drew said yesterday that they would meet with Limerick Junior soccer chiefs, the Limerick District Management Committee (LDMC) this evening. (Fri Dec 8)

The meetings have been called to discuss the possibility of the eircom League side returning to Jackman which is the headquarters of Limerick Junior soccer.

Drew also confirmed that they had made an official approach to the Limerick Desmond League with a view to opening talks about playing at their ground in Askeaton next season.

Limerick last played at Jackman Park in 2002 before moving to the Pike Rovers Sportsgrounds and then Hogan Park where they have been playing for the last two seasons.

However, the Shannonsiders were told last week that their application to be granted a UEFA licence to play football at Hogan Park next season had been rejected.

It is understood that one of the reasons given for turning down the clubs application was infrastructural.

Drew said: 'We will meet with the Limerick District Management Committee tonight to discuss the possibility of us playing at Jackman Park in the future.

'We have also requested a meeting with the Limerick Desmond League with a view to playing at their ground in Askeaton but we are waiting for them to get back to us.'

Drew also confirmed that the Polish business consortium associated with a takeover bid for the club are still very interested.

He added: 'We are having ongoing talks with the Polish people concerned and the picture should become clearer after tonight's meeting.'

Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast