Page 21 of 35 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast

Thread: Mayo Football- 2006

Thanks

might try and get a number for mayo league sec.who is it.
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 12/10/2006 at 2:42 PM. Reason: Leave out the name calling

Quote Originally Posted by Ballina Town View Post
    might try and get a number for mayo league sec.who is it.
    Joe Butler is the chairman of the Mayo league and press officer!So im sure he would have a number for the league sec!Here is Joe,s number 087 8287147
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 12/10/2006 at 2:42 PM.

Thanks for that

Will try Joe

Quote Originally Posted by red metal View Post
    Joe Butler is the chairman of the Mayo league and press officer!So im sure he would have a number for the league sec!Here is Joe,s number 087 8287147
    I do not think Joe will be too pleased to realise that he is back on the Mayo League as chairman or press officer.

All sorted

was onto joe .b and john d. ..thanks red metal

No problem!

Well Fahy and Swinford,season end almost here,What ye reckon?fahy going to get caught final day of the season or is it eitheir killala or Ballinrobe thats playing division one next season???Swinford going to manage to win their last three games and hope Achill and Glynns impessive claremorris somehow slip up taking Swinford back to the Super League???any premier players impressed ye this season??

51 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Ron Bergundy View Post
    Well Fahy and Swinford,season end almost here,What ye reckon?fahy going to get caught final day of the season or is it eitheir killala or Ballinrobe thats playing division one next season???Swinford going to manage to win their last three games and hope Achill and Glynns impessive claremorris somehow slip up taking Swinford back to the Super League???any premier players impressed ye this season??
    To be honest, we just concentrate on our next game against Conn Rangers on Sunday next, hoping just to beat them and see then.
    Best player this season by far is Glynn from Claremorris fine talent

46 Posts
    Just wanted to say well done to Ballina Town yesterday in the FAI Junior Cup after their vist to Ballyvary yesterday. I have to say they looked very very good and I expect to see therm really put it up to Castlebar Celtic and Westport Utd next season. We were no match for them and they are quick, sharp and very very organised.Small wonder really, it was so obvious they were well drilled and in tune with one anothers movement.

All the best.Great having you over yesterday.

Thanks Harpsbear

Nice to know our hard work is recognised.. all down to the gaffer, he has upped the standard. well done to the bombers, never gave up.

I believe that the MAFL cracked the whip on the disciplinary issues concerning the recent AIB Mayo FA Cup final. Heard that Eoghan McHale and Gavin Dykes got four games each for their sending off, don't know about Kieran Hopkins for his red and I heard that some of the "supporters" at the game apparently got one to two year bans.
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

46 Posts
    Nice to know our hard work is recognised.. all down to the gaffer, he has upped the standard. well done to the bombers, never gave up.
    Realise I should have posted this in the Statoil FAI Junior Cup thread so apologies and I'm glad you found the message. Hadn't seen much of Ballina Town but I expect them to be up there challenging the 'big two' next season. Everything that was good about the game was on show, apart from us taking a mauling, youse are a credit to your club and I didn't expect I might ever be saying that so well done to everyone involved.I mean that as much based on discipline and fair play as I do on the standard of football you play.

Hope you get a good run in the competition.You'll put it up to a few decent sides.

Brendan

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Thunderblaster View Post
    I believe that the MAFL cracked the whip on the disciplinary issues concerning the recent AIB Mayo FA Cup final. Heard that Eoghan McHale and Gavin Dykes got four games each for their sending off, don't know about Kieran Hopkins for his red and I heard that some of the "supporters" at the game apparently got one to two year bans.
    If this is the case then fairplay to the MAFL. This kind of behaviour needed action once and for all and the restoration of a little bit of faith in the league.The MAFL needed to make a stand. Whether its supporters or players everyone has a responsibility and this is the kind of activity that is killing the game.Nobody wants to go and watch that kind of behaviour and it has got to put people off the game.

Dangerous Ground

Quote Originally Posted by Harpsbear View Post
    If this is the case then fairplay to the MAFL. This kind of behaviour needed action once and for all and the restoration of a little bit of faith in the league.The MAFL needed to make a stand. Whether its supporters or players everyone has a responsibility and this is the kind of activity that is killing the game.Nobody wants to go and watch that kind of behaviour and it has got to put people off the game.

While I agree whole heartedly with your sentiments I think that the implementation of such measures is fraught with danger. A few queries may help.....
    Can a league suspend a supporter ?
    Can a League suspend a player from another jurisdiction ?
    I ask these questions because the law in this country rests with the judiciary and as such these measures might be regarded as their domain, and I would suggest that any 'unqualified' organisation can not take away the civil liberties of any individual.
    I firmly believe that a league cannot discipline a supporter - even a known individual. Their remit exists within the field of play ie players, management and officers. The only course open to the league would be to discipline a club for the behaviour of their so called supporters.
    I presume some of these 'sentences' will now be appealed to CFA/FAI and going from previous cases the MAFL have overextended themselves no matter how right/wrong people may feel.
    Let me also say that the MAFl could do diddle squat right in this case as they were damned if they did and damned if they didn't......
    Lastly may I suggest Point deductions is the way to go. ie get their own players to discipline them......

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by mossy View Post
    While I agree whole heartedly with your sentiments I think that the implementation of such measures is fraught with danger. A few queries may help.....
    Can a league suspend a supporter ?
    Mossy I hadn't thought of this and the answer is no of course. In fact its ridiculous and I cant believe I overlooked it.Its not their responsibility.Its the clubs.I say this because I seen this at Finn Harps where a few supporters were banned from the club by the club for their behaviour. I know a league can discipline a club i.e impose a fine for the behaviour of its supporters as happens constantly even with regard pitch incursions in the eL. It would therefore have been the clubs responsibility to ban supporters.

So where does the Mayo League stand then in relation to their course of action. Just so surprised I overlooked their actions which have now seemingly gone from been blind eye to bang out of order if what they have done is in fact correct.

I was just wondering if ye thought the team of the year awards were a good thing? Who would be the teams that ye would pick from the divisions?

MFL final take action

Great to see the mayo league ating action, these celtic so called followers are well know for there crap on and off the pitch, so no harm for them not to be let near celtic games...

The following suspensions and sanctions were taken by the League Management Committee at a Disciplinary Meeting on 10th October 2006, following incidents during the AIB Cup Final on 1st October 2006

Kevin Ryan; Twelve (12) month suspension from all Castlebar Celtic games within the Mayo Association Football League, Connacht Cup, FAI Junior Cup, and Milebush Park for constant abuse to officials and opponents, effective from 1st October 2006
    Stevie Ryan; Twelve (12) month suspension from all Castlebar Celtic games within the Mayo Association Football League, Connacht Cup, FAI Junior Cup and Milebush Park for constant abuse to officials and opponents, effective from 1st Ocrober 2006
    Greg Whyte; Two (2) month suspension from all Castlebar Celtic games within the Mayo Association Football League, Connacht Cup, FAI Junior Cup and Milebush Park for abuse to officials, effective from 1st October 2006
    Castlebar Celtic; For abuse to officials and opponents - are directed to play their first two (2) home games in season 2007 away, and are responsible for paying match officials fees, and are also fined E500.
    Gavin Dykes (Castlebar Celtic); Four (4) match suspension for striking an opponent plus €30 fine
    Owen McHale (Westport Utd); Four (4) match suspension for striking an opponent plus €30 fine
    Kieran Hopkins (Castlebar Celtic); One (1) match suspension for second caution plus €30 fine

Bloody hell !!!!!!

How are the suspensions going to be enforced on these non-playing individuals?
    Never play leapfrog with a unicorn!!

Angry The Castlebar three

Firstly I offer The Mayo League to come on this site to defend there decision in the manner they have handed out the disciplinary action by them on Castlebar Celtic. And explain there reasons or at leased defend there position, however this is highly not lightly to happen. But at leased I have offered them the opportunity.
    Some of the points that need to be cleared up

1. When did the Mayo League become the judiciary of Mayo?
    My understanding is that only a barring order must be obtained through the courts in order from preventing any person or persons from admission grounds or otherwise.

2. How does another club prevent these, Will now call them (The Castlebar Three)
    From entering your grounds if there club is playing” Castlebar Celtic”?
    I can tell you the club have no jurisdiction in this matter as only a Guard can ask them to leave providing you have a complaint to make against The Castlebar Three.

3.The irony of all this is that The Castlebar Three can go to any other match as long as Castlebar Celtic is not involved,

4. There is only one club that could ban them and that is there own. But to do that they Castlebar Celtic must afford those namely The Castlebar Three to attend an in house disciplinary hearing as to account for the charges that would before them.
    Because Castlebar Celtic ground is holly owned by them, if they found them guilty as charged, then they would have the right to expel them from there club for what time they feel fit.
    5. The Mayo League grounds are vested in the league they are not owned by those who handed out the punishment. However they could and should look to place a barring order on those they wish to remain out side the gates.

6. When did the Mayo league have jurisdiction to hand out suspensions in competitions such The Connaught Cup or F.A.I.? As the suspension where a Mayo League Competition being The Mayo Cup.
    The Mayo League has only Jurisdiction over its own competition.

I have believe The Mayo League have over reacted and have lost the run of its self. It needs to rethink carefully before it meets Celtic next week to discuss these issues concerning Castlebar Celtic, in the manner the League has handed out bans to The Castlebar Celtic Three.
    First and foremost The Mayo league can only deal with the club regarding its supporters not the supporter as they have no jurisdiction over an Eircom League Player, regards to the other two because they are members of the club they the Mayo League have the right to suspend the two from all activity with in the club for what period it feels fit. I believe this the road The Mayo league must go, or they may end up with red faces.

Page 21 of 35 FirstFirst ... 11192021222331 ... LastLast