Football is popular
https://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/2025...-magic-moment/
Day 2 of watching that RTE Sport 4 minute tweet on loop at work is well underway. I watch it 5 times then switch to TO'D's interview with Parrott, then start again.
Isn't Troy Parrott just immenseley likeable? All these lads are really.
As many others have said, this was huge. Yeah, it's only a playoff secured but it's about moments and man this was one of the finest. A whole nation was energised by it and the BIG are front and centre of the public's affections again.
I don't post on Reddit very often, but when I do...
https://www.reddit.com/r/AccidentalR...e/s/GqyaQW3UyC
What was Collins thinking for their second goal by the way? Legitimate question. Like, there must be something in his brain, some footballing reason i'm unaware of, that said stepping off Varga was the right thing to do but I am not sure what that was. Molumby was tracking/jogging in that general direction, did he think that Molumby would get there and he could slip back and defend a pass or something? I couldn't believe what i was seeing in real time.
His attempt to win a free in the second half when they broke and Sallai stung the palms of Kelleher - he dithered going for the ball, got beat, got himself clipped and decided to take a dive and leave just Scales there to try and block Sallai...criminal.
Don't want to sh*t on anyone unnecessarily after that result but there are some major question marks around his decision making. Its not captain stuff. Not close.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
That's another spectacular image. Can you copy it in here? Doesn't seem to work with the reddit url and the (img) tags
Was he leaving it for O'Shea to close down? It looks like they both might have left Varge to each other.
Only thing I can think of anyway. Aside from "Ah sure he's never going to take it down on his chest, turn and volley into the very top corner from there; be grand lads"
Could well be a contender for one of the best goals ever scored against us.
It’s totally fair comment and an ongoing concern. Collins is one of our most frustrating players. Physically has all the attributes to be one of our best all time centre backs — but mentally seems to make the wrong decision way too often — and often in key moments.
I feel on the flip side his pace and strength often neutralize opposing attacks so casually a lot of the good he does goes unnoticed (like a ‘keeper who rarely makes impressive saves because they’re always in the right position).
I appreciate every player is different but at 24 I do wonder if giving him the captaincy was the right move. I appreciate he’s a captain at club level for Brentford I just share some of your concerns SKSTU.
So the official non-analysing grace period is over? Ok then, here goes:
This game was bonkers. I don't buy the Didi Hamann synopsis that Hungary deserved to win - this was an old-fashioned to-and-fro match, they had periods on top, we had periods on top. All the goals very frustrating from a defensive perspective, two goals (one for each) gorgeous from an aesthetic perspective.
From the outset, with a neutral hat on.... how bloody good was Szobozolai? It was Roy Keane-esque and whatever about the intention of his nose-raspberry, he has every right to be disappointed. the part I can't comprehend is that he didn't unleash one with the last kick of the game instead of floating in a cross! It was within his range. I thought Sallai (#20 with the shaven part in the hair?) was impressive too, as was Negro.
We were incredibly open at times - too open, but given the circumstances that was understandable, and thankfully the channels that were exploited were the outside-centre/inside-flank channels, rather than between the 6-yd box lane channels - meaning the shots were angled to an extent that Kelleher would be expected to save, even allowing for them being very good saves.
I thought Molumby got on a lovely amount of ball - but I'd have to check it again on the player - demanding the ball more regularly and as a consequence freeing Cullen up for a lot more space - particularly as the first half wore on.
The substitutions all worked, and were all perfectly timed. That's not to say all the substitutes were good - they weren't (looking at you Festy, for the 2nd time in 2 matches) - but they had the effect of introducing some chaos to the game which ultimately worked in our favour.
We ended up - If I recall correctly - something akin to the below:
-- O'Shea, Collins, Scales --
Festy ---- Taylor --- Azaz -- Manning
----- Parrott -- Idah --- Kenny
1. Manning - excellent when he came on and has clearly grown into his role in the squad. His set-pieces are so accurate it's incredible.
2. Azaz - Not a substitute, but a repositioning following a substitute. Thought he was poor enough at times on Thurs and thought he was underwhelming at times on Sunday too...until he moved back into cm. And not just because of the pass for the equaliser, his general play and his vision was something to witness, dunno if that's because we generally don't have that thrust from the central deeper lying positions, but it's something that has to be considered for March. Also it is clear the management love him - they've mentioned quietly this window how they see him being central to us. And that faith was rewarded in spades.
3. The attacking substitutions. Ok, so Cheo was enforced (sadly and that was going to be a goalscoring chance) but the trio of attacking changes weren't just ballsy, they were measured, thought out and it maximised the qualities not only of those coming in, but those remaining on the field. Really in terms of game management, hats off to the management team/Heimar, because it never once became kitchen-sink time, it was skillful and we could have scored more than we did. The greatest compliment one could pay, is that for a squad which we have wondered what options there were, all of the changes worked, played their part and didn't look out of their comfort zone.
What's more of a consideration going forward - and this isn't casting any aspersions on any player or coach - is would these two games have unfolded had Evan been fit for selection? Would Parrott have played? Would we have played in the way we did? I'm not so sure. and they are going to have to think about how they are going to approach the playoff match from a selection perspective if all are fit, because Parrott has to start.
If I question Liam Scales ability to play intl football, refer me to this signature & his peformance at home at lb vs Port on Nov 13 2025.
Signed
Kingdom.
If I question Liam Scales ability to play intl football, refer me to this signature & his peformance at home at lb vs Port on Nov 13 2025.
Signed
Kingdom.
Its a great problem to have to be honest. I think BTW back five would do well too - Coleman the voice and O'Shea has enough in him to architect the back 3, he didnt stop communicating through both games. They all, including any version that has Collins, perform as expected for the most part. I just think that Collins has the potential to be the shining light and leader back there but he needs to... grow up? cop on? focus?... or something. His concentration has always been his achilles heel going back to the Kenny days. It is not in the "drop him" territory for me but he needs to level up because I think he can.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.